We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class accommodation at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House

Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House to your Saves list
Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Upper Neatham Mill Lane | Holybourne, Alton GU34 4EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Alton B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First Class accommodation at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at The Upper Neatham B&b on a recent business trip & if your looking for 5 star accommodation at 3 star rates, this is the place to stay. I was greeted & made very welcome by Glen my host who's was at hand to help in anyway he could. The room was extremely spacious, clean & modern with a superb ensuite. The freshly cooked breakfast was delicious & a fresh pot of coffee was there to greet me each morning. All in all a very enjoyable stay & I will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
22
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

having a family wedding in farnham to attend ,i found upper neatham mill just over the boarder in hampshire. just outside alton by the river wye ,an extended converted barn with modern rooms set in park land . enough off the beaten track to be quiet, but close to A31 and alton village station . greeted by glenn who helped us to our ground floor rooms . he was also our cook in the morning , full english or veggie breakfasts with other options and is happy to mix and match . rooms are excellent kept very clean . tv/dvd player beds were great . en-suite shower room. plenty of good local food places in town , near-by and surrounding area . glen and anne made us very welcome and were happy to help with local ideas. we hope to be heading back there soon.
beware google earth though, the mill isnt right next to the local railway line and you wont hear a train . and the river walk right next door was a nice suprise

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieillevie, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Lovely B&B guesthouse in Holybourne on the edge of Alton. We were staying in the area for a family wedding and following a trawl through TripAdvisor elected to stay here in preference to the other hotels in the area...a good decision indeed. Very charming hosts, lovely location, comfortable well equipped room, nice shower room and a cracking breakfast (which went down very well despite the post-wedding 'blues'). A very ggod choice if you want to stay in this area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Truly gorgeous B&B in a beautiful setting with amazing service. This was the perfect stop after a hectic stay in London and a fantastic base for our Jane Austen sightseeing. Glenn could not have been a better host and we were so sad to leave! Our room was immaculate with a shower that we are still talking about and a view of the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aedvmaker
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

I recently booked myself in to a lovely B&B. I was in Alton, Hampshire, from America, for a business meeting with a manufacturing company there. Luckily, I happened to find the Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House to stay in for the evening by searching the area on the internet. I found the owner greeting me at the door as I arrived via taxi from the train station. You don't get that at just any accomodation......in fact, I don't think that I have ever received that kind of attention, in a hotel or place to stay for the evening, before. The breakfast was wonderful and the room was nice and tidy. I highly recommend this quiet, lovely setting as a place to stay for an evening or more.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We have just returned from a very pleasant weekend stay at Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House.
The B&B is a lovely barn conversion, situated in an idyllic position just off the main road, & is surrounded by beautiful countryside – very peaceful.
The rooms are tastefully furnished - ours had a large comfortable bed & a huge walk in shower with quality fittings, everywhere was spotlessly clean & cared for.
Breakfast was delicious – a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc (lovely fresh orange juice) followed by an (organic) cooked breakfast that filled us up for the rest of the day!
If you are visiting the area (we went to see the Jane Austen museum a couple of miles away) you would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay, & so much nicer than an impersonal hotel.
You can check it out here for more info http://www.upperneatham.co.uk/

  • Liked — Shower & Breakfast
  • Disliked — could hear the guest talking (early morning ) in the next room. but no problem.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

If you are searching for excellent quality accommodation in the Alton, Hampshire area and want to avoid the travel lodge or impersonal hotel syndrome then I thoroughly recommend Upper Neatham Mill Farm where we have spent a very enjoyable long weekend.
The tastefully furnished bed and breakfast rooms are part of a modern extension to a magnificent barn conversion alongside the River Wey in the village of Holybourne.
The breakfast menu expands from the simple cereal and fruit juice to a very full traditional with the benefit of a vegetarian option.
Good road access via A31, A3, M3 and M25, London Heathrow 50 minutes away and a direct rail link to London Waterloo.
Upper Neatham Mill Farm would make an ideal base for business user or visitor alike with Winchester and Guildford Cathedrals a short distance away along with the Watercress steam railway to Arlesford and National Trust properties.

  • Liked — quiet country location
  • Disliked — too large a breakfast!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House

Address: Upper Neatham Mill Lane | Holybourne, Alton GU34 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Silver award Converted 17th-century barn accommodation. Tranquil location on the river Wey in Holybourne, surrounded by 11 acres of private gardens and woodland however only 1 mile north of Alton centre. All rooms en-suite, furnished to exceptional standards having antique furniture, luxury bedding, modern facilities with wireless broadband available. Catering for executive business and tourism with friendly yet professional attention to detail. Walking and cycling friendly. Environmentally friendly with 100% carbon neutral Central heating & Hot water generated from renewable fuels grown on the farm. Spacious free floodlit off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.