We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, but a few things missing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West End Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West End Farm
Save
You added West End Farm to your Saves list
Froyle, Alton GU34 4JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Alton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, but a few things missing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a beautiful B and B in a lovely setting. The rooms are well furnished and the breakfast is good. Lots of lovely home made jams.
However the detail in the room was missing - instead of tea tray with home made cakes and biscuits ( as advertised on the web site) there was one little packet with factory 2 biscuits in for 2 of us.
One tissue in the box of tissues.

For the price I think it needs to up its game.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently attended a wedding at Wyke with the Reception in Bentley. Fortunately we stayed in Froyle at West End Farm owned by Chris & Elizabeth Butler. Our accommodation was Stable Cottage 1 which is located a short distance from the main house. The room is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. It has a reasonably sized en suite bathroom with a lovely hot and powerful shower. Breakfast is served in the main house and was very good. The cooked breakfast was plentiful and tasty and there was an excellent choice of alternatives for guests waningt something more continental. Another plus was the other guests who were very good company and made the breakfast a thoroughly convivial occasion. The house, outbuildings and gardens are very attractive and we would certainly stay at West End Farm again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our second stay at this beautiful home. A warm welcome from Liz & Chris as well as the dogs started our weekend well. We stayed in the Green room, the bed is divine, as was the bath which I could soak in whilst watching TV.
The room has a 'quiet' fridge which was very helpful, a well stocked Tea Tray and fresh milk was provided. Breakfast was more than adequate, it was deciding what to start with first was the problem, lots of fresh fruit, including strawberries. Lots of choice too for the main cooked course which we pre-ordered on our arrival. Along with other guests, it felt more as a family 'get-together than just somewhere to stay. We had a really lovely time and will go back again without doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay in the Green Room - very understated, classy room, with a beautiful bathroom and amazing views. Bed was very comfy, and the whole house felt immaculately clean yet very cosy.

Liz and Chris were very good hosts.

The breakfast - fruits, granola, full English - was all superb.

Had a lovely dinner out at the Anchor Inn nearby.

Room Tip: Recommend the Green Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a shame we could only stay one night, the room we had was just luxury huge bed bathroom, breakfast was a full variety from fresh fruit cearals yogurt & cooked English
toast & home made preserves . We hope to return one day soon for a longer stay
we can throughly recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here over august bank holiday weekend. The owners were away and we were greeted by a lady who was looking after the B&B for them. We stayed in the family room which was very spacious but could def do with a good clean...cobwebs everywhere and the bathroom was a little outdated. The breakfasts were good and the homemade granola def worth eating. The outside of the property is spectacular..lovely walks through the gardens and Brian their dog who attached himself to us and followed us everywhere...he was lovely!!!
Would recommend this B&B but it could do with a little updating to justify the price they charge.

Room Tip: my mum and dad stayed in their self catering room which apart from a leaking kettle was an excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

stayed at the west end farm on june 4th, welcomed by a pleasant host and beautiful location, booked the family room which was very spacious but a little dissapointing , lots of cobwebs on bedside lamps and dusty surfaces, bathroom needs bringing into the 21st century, without being horrible and in need of a through clean. breakfast good and plenty of it .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Farm

Address: Froyle, Alton GU34 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.