We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilbert White's House & The Oates Museum

Gilbert White's House & The Oates Museum
Selborne, Alton GU34 3JH, England
01420 511275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Alton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of England's first ecologist.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Unusual and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent several hours here, learning about 3 remarkable men. The cafe was reasonably priced and very good food and service. Lots for adults to read and digest, but every room had something to amuse children. The gardens were lovely, the most bees and butterflies I've seen this year. The village is worth investigating, especially the church with its Gilbert White memorial windows.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    42
    9
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not for kids in my opinion...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I visited here and had a very pleasant few hours pootling through the museum and gardens. If you are interested in natural history then it will be a fascinating experience.

The Oates Museum was small but excellent and really made me appreciate the courage and calamities of the expedition.

The cafe is VERY pricey, but the food is quite good. If on a budget, take a picnic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Loved wandering in the enormous lawned gardens and found the museum with its added feature of the Oates family very interesting.
Extremely pleasant museum staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A very interesting place in a beautiful village. We'd not heard of Gilbert White before so it was fascinating to find out about him and to visit the lovely garden.The museum on the Oates family was really good- do take time to watch the film about the Scott trip, very enlightening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hampshire Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A wonderful house and garden in a perfect setting, sadly the village is on such a busy road with narrow pavements.
Cafe superb, staff very helpful.
Able to take the dogs in grounds.
We found the Museum fascinating, and would love to have Gilbert.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert White's House & The Oates Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gilbert White's House & The Oates Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilbert White's House & The Oates Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.