We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alton House Hotel to your Saves list
Alton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Tired, chipped, stained room. Wifi advertised but payable in room - free in bar area though. Breakfast passable but not fantastic. Staff disinterested with a couple of exceptions.

The real issue for me was the front door, locked at midnight and only opened by the laughably surly night porter if you call him on the phone (but that's fine because we all have mobiles now, right?)

I won't be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    47
    32
    17
See reviews for
35
59
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Really enjoyed our short break here . Everyone of the staff were very helpful and very friendly, food good, rooms cosy, clean and comfortable This must be our fourth visit here, we used to live in Alton and it is an ideal place to visit our friends We will be back next Spring

Room Tip: Try room 42 or 44 Both have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed for two weeks and I THOROUGHLY enjoyed it. Single room, comfy bed and bath with shower. Staff couldn't be more helpful when I had to cancel and re-book. Front desk attended to my every need. DELICIOUS "Full English" breakfasts with eggs to order. WONDERFUL "Sunday Lunch". Only downside - having to go to Lobby to connect to free internet. I normally stay in "McHOTELs" worldwide, with a lot more "Decor" and "modern fittings and appointments" but this was a real treat! Alton town, Sainsbury's, Laundromat, train station and what must be seven pubs all within walking distance. For Drivers, easy access to main "A" roads, that connect to Motorways. Great home base for touring south east,and train direct to Waterloo. Bottom line - Price was VERY reasonable. Recommend - UNRESERVEDLY!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently with my colleague on works business, after reading many reviews, I was a little bit worried, however when I arrived the receptionist was warm and welcoming.

Dinner in the restaurant was out of this world, good home cooked food, and great service.

The bar staff were also warm and welcoming and me and my colleague were treated as part of the family.

Breakfast was very very good, staff excellent, made to feel welcome and nothing was to much trouble.

We enjoyed the hotel and its ambience so much we have booked again and were able to get the same rooms we had last time.

Well done to the staff at Alton house hotel, thank you for making us feel welcome look forward to seeing you all next week.

Keep up the good work and professionalism.

Room Tip: Room very clean and tidy, comfortable bed plenty of space to move around the room, bathroom very cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Clean room, very quiet, great bath and shower with very hot water. Nice staff. Will be eating here next time I visit on 22nd April and hope it becomes my regular staying place when working down here rather than Travelodge Four Marks. Also a very competitive price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed two weeks ago on the way to Southampton to start a holiday. The hotel would benefit from some modernisation but the room was clean and tidy, and the hotel was nice and quiet. Most of the staff were helpful, although the waitress at breakfast literally pointed us in the direction of the restaurant and we had to go and find her to ask for tea. The buffet breakfast was quite limited but hot and tasty.
We were advised that WIFI didn't extend to the first floor, and that we would need to relocate to the ground floor public areas if we wanted to use WIFI.
We had booked DBB for our stay but were advised by the waitress in the restaurant that this meant we had a credit of £10.95 each in the restaurant, which didn't seem much; however, she clarified that this was correct.
On completion we were presented with the bill which we queried again and were then subsequently told that we had been correct and could have in fact ordered anything from the menu with no limit of £10.95 applying. Not very helpful once you had finished.
However, when checking out the following morning we had been charged for both dinners the previous evening and had to explain all over again about our booking and the discussion the previous evening. This was amended quickly without a great deal of trouble.

Room Tip: If you want WIFI use the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for the Miss Hampshire competition. The staff where lovely, made you feel really welcome. Let me have my room early as i arrived early. Lovely place to stay. Ideal for wondering around Alton. My daughter didnt win but had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton House Hotel

Address: Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.