We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VENUE FOR A WEDDING RECEPTION .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alton House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alton House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Alton
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT VENUE FOR A WEDDING RECEPTION .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding on the last weekend in August. What a great venue it was, with a large reception room, opening to a lovely garden. Very friendly staff who went out of their way to cater for us all weekend, given that the hotel was full. The food for the reception was excellent & very well catered for. Rooms a little dated but clean, comfortable & quiet. Good breakfast of hot & continental choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    35
    30
    14
See reviews for
31
50
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
faiza333
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

this was our second stay as we were attending jalsa salana over the weekend.

we were given a large room,but it stank of vomit. windows were open,but it didnt help. we couldnt close the windows due to heat, so had to endure nineties classics from the wedding party downstairs

beds were extremely uncomfortable
the whole look was as if i had stepped into the 1980s. very tired,carpets worn and needs updating pronto.

we paid £260 for 2 nights, as needed 2 z beds extra for the kids.extortionate considering what u get.

staff are hit and miss. the breakfast guy was definitey not happy to be serving!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for my friends wedding! it was a fantasic venue and the day ran so smoothly and everything was just perfect. We stayed in a lovely spacious double bedroom (room 6) was very clean and comfy. The staff at the hotel are all really lovely and i could fault a thing. Breakfast well let me tell you mmmmmmm fantasic great choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stopped by this hotel by chance. In mid July, my wife, my two boys and I were following some cities related to Jane Austen's life and work, without no reservation at all. The first good looking hotel we found, we stopped to ask for vacant rooms. Luckly they had a family room which was very comfortable for all of us. The boys even slept in a separate room. Our bed was very comfy too. But, that's not all. It was evening and we wanted to have dinner. We were so very well treated by the guy in the restaurant and bar, which unfortunatelly I don't know the name. He was very nice with our boys and with us, even though I was the only one who spoke English. We are brazilian. All the food we had was delicious in the restaurant. But the staff being so nice with us made it even better. Next morning, the breaktast too was more than expected. Apart from the buffet, we were also offered toasts or other hot dishes that they would prepare immediately. The lady was very attentive too. Although the stay costed a bit more than I had planned, it was worth every cent. Very welcoming hotel in Alton with free parking in front. I miss those days in England, and the White Hart was one of the best moments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a tired hotel in need of TLC, we had an overnight stay while travelling, glad it was only one night.

Staff were very indifferent, rooms a little shabby and carpets tired, however beds were very comfortable, breakfast buffet could be much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

When we first walked in the room we thought that it looked fairly nice and clean. Then no flushing toliet, and when we complained to reception we got told it would be sorted in the morning. It's morning and still not flushing. We also found ourselves waking up thinking we'd been put in an oven. Oh yes the thermostat is broken on the radiator and to make that worse we are above the kitchen, so hot anyway on this hot day. It's also nice being woken up to load bass thumping music and staff shouting at each other. These things aren't new fangled gadgets the flushing toliet has been around for centuries and at the price of the room you expect that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed overnight at this pleasant hotel -room and bathroom fine , bed comfortable and along our corridor it was very quiet and we did not hear any other guests moving around.
The breakfast food was good but a warning -everyone seemed to ascend on the breakfast area around 9-15ish every table was full -only 2 waiting staff on to serve all the tables - young lady was doing the best she could clearing tables, getting clients tea/coffee toast etc but as we had to wait for a table for 3 of us ( some couples had taken tables for 4 )I felt that perhaps there should be more staff on at breakfast time, especially as the hotel was busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton House Hotel

Address: Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alton House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Alton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.