We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best stay in Alton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alton House Hotel to your Saves list
Alton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Probably the best stay in Alton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

There are a number of pubs in Alton, but Alton House is more orientated towards accommodation. The hotel consists of a number of rooms over two levels with a layout of the rooms that is somewhat of a maze but to some this might be a charm. There are conference and wedding facilities for those occasions. The bar / dinning room is modern and functional. There is a guest lounge at reception and plenty of parking.
The room we were allocated was large and clean, bathroom was also large with typical UK complicated plumbing.
The buffet breakfast was typical with plenty of choice and dinner was resonable with lots of choice from lighter meals to more formal mains. I think the hotel would best be recommended to the commercial traveller or for a group occasion in Alton
Overall while there has been some renovations there are signs of wear that lets down the presentation.

Room Tip: There are rooms at the rear away from the main road that will provide quieter conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    60
    50
    33
    19
See reviews for
37
71
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I got married at Alton House Hotel at the end of May 2013.

From the word go the staff were very accomodating and very helpful even when the wedding planner wasn't around.

We stayed the night before the wedding in th cardinal suite, which was a very spcaious room facing the front of thr hotel. It was clean, light and comfortable.

The Restaurant food was incredible, it was all so tasty, a group of 6 of us had dinner the night before and two of them children even ate all their dinner. Knowing that the food was excellant, i could tell my guests would be in for a right treat the next day for our wedding BBQ (which didn't disappoint either.

I would like to say a special thanks to Ann, who even the night before was super fridnly and so lovely, on the day of the wedding she tended to the top table and was so polite and even produced me and my husband our first cork from a bottle of bubbly, was such a lovely touch, Thank You.

Breakfast the next morning, was usual help yourself to cooked items/cereals and fruits, They would bring toast/tea and coffee to your table.

I would agree with some reviews that it is sometimes hard to find someone for the bar to serve you but it didn't really phase me. Im british so i am born to Queue and wait.

The day went as smoothly as possible and Mel even helped sort out my DJ situation, which the day before the wedding i really didnt't need, the staff really do go that extra mile.

Our wedding day was perfect, so thank you Alton House Hotel for making it so memorable, and helping with lots of the finer details.

The new Mr & Mrs Ellis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here with colleagues in May 2013. It was very close to Alton station. My first thought when approaching the building was that the photo on the website must have been taken quite a long time ago.

Upon arrival I was handed a key and given directions by a friendly receptionist. The layout was a bit confusing (had to go up and down stairs to get to the room) but it was well signposted.

The room itself was a single with a desk, chair, small table, bedside table, TV and phone. It was pretty clean. The en-suite bathroom was clean and fairly modern, although there were signs of cut corners when cleaning, and quite a lot of residue around the tiles. The shower sounded like a motorbike, which made me feel a bit guilty as I had to be up before 6am!

The bed itself was comfortable enough - clean sheets. TV was easy to use. There appeared to be a swimming pool out the back but it was only filled with a puddle from the rain.

We ate in the restaurant that evening. I think I missed something here as my colleagues were raving about it and even returned to the hotel the day we checked out, to have dinner with friends. To me, it looked like an old pub and served pretty poor, bog standard food. The service was a bit "Fawlty-Towers-esque" - a very busy woman rushed around us appearing very flustered despite the restaurant being pretty quiet. It took well over an hour for us to get any food.


All in all, it was an okay stay. I had a good night's sleep and the room was clean, but nothing beyond that. I think the hotel must have been quite grand a few decades ago but it's not been updated since.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Myself and my wife were a little dubious after reading some of the Tripadvisor reviews but had an extremely enjoyable stay in Alton.

Cannot fault the hotel. Very clean, excellent home-cooked and nourishing food served, excellent location just a minute's walk from town centre.

But what sets this hotel apart from others we have stayed in is the staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

We plan to return in the summer to visit friends and will definetley hope to be able to book Alton House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in the hotel with a party of 17. As from arrival several things went wrong. First we were given a single bed room, although we booked a double. This was kind of repaired by giving us a 'standard' double room with a very, very small bed. To make this first aknowlegdement with the hotel even worse, the room and sanitary equipment was not cleanend. Rubbish was around, like dirty glasses and a half emptied milk container, forcing us to complain again, this time in sort of a 'Gordon Ramsey mode'.

A day later our luggage apeared to have gone missing as the hotel moved the stuff to another, more spacious room, of which we didn't know. Even this bigger room contained a very small bed (140 cm wide), not to 2013 standards as well.

What stitched the most however was the fact that this hotel does not meet the standards to be expected for the stay of our disabled friend, who was part of our group. An enormous hassle took place to solve the problems of accessability somehow to his convenience, giving our group the feeling the hotel was more or less deliberately trying to spoil his holiday (and therefore also ours). As one of our companions remarked, a kind of Falwty Towers like experience. Honesty it must be said efforts were made to correct the errors, but in a way this was a little too late..

Staff in restaurant and bar we very friendly by way. Breakfast service was ok, except for the eggs, apparently not coming from chicken...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

it was great value for a group of more than 40 people. A little bit Faulty Towers with staff that call you 'mate' but, as I say, at £40/night for B&B it was great value for the area. 3 course evening meal for 40 at £20/head and everyone said the food and vegetables were excellent. All in all the hotel is a bit tired, the staff a bit comical but it does what it says on the tin.

Room Tip: ask for a room 'across the bridge'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here with a group of 17 adults. Clearly this hotel has no clue about the 2013 standards

Communication before our stay was great. These people know how to get you in. But upon arrival it felt like being in an episode of Fawlty Towers.

The room was spacious enough but no view except for the gutter and three other rooms. The bed was far to small for today's standards. 140x200cm

The bathroom was disgusting. These people should send their housekeeping out on basic cleaning training. I don't want to go too much into detail but filthy brown marks under the shower cabin door and pubic hair on the walls don't give me a happy customer

The wifi is only free in the bar and is very crappy. Service in bar is okay if someone is available.

And since they are aware that with 17 people you can't go elsewhere for a 5 day stay they didn't really bother...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton House Hotel

Address: Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Alton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.