We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired and daggy, but...........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alton House Hotel to your Saves list
Alton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little tired and daggy, but...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

it was great value for a group of more than 40 people. A little bit Faulty Towers with staff that call you 'mate' but, as I say, at £40/night for B&B it was great value for the area. 3 course evening meal for 40 at £20/head and everyone said the food and vegetables were excellent. All in all the hotel is a bit tired, the staff a bit comical but it does what it says on the tin.

Room Tip: ask for a room 'across the bridge'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    46
    32
    17
See reviews for
35
58
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here with a group of 17 adults. Clearly this hotel has no clue about the 2013 standards

Communication before our stay was great. These people know how to get you in. But upon arrival it felt like being in an episode of Fawlty Towers.

The room was spacious enough but no view except for the gutter and three other rooms. The bed was far to small for today's standards. 140x200cm

The bathroom was disgusting. These people should send their housekeeping out on basic cleaning training. I don't want to go too much into detail but filthy brown marks under the shower cabin door and pubic hair on the walls don't give me a happy customer

The wifi is only free in the bar and is very crappy. Service in bar is okay if someone is available.

And since they are aware that with 17 people you can't go elsewhere for a 5 day stay they didn't really bother...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaassen, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is the worst hotel i have bin in a long time.

* the staff is friendly and is trying to help but the manager is a person who blames it all on the guests.

* the beds are very small

* the break first is very simple and they cant even cook an egg.

*rooms are not cleaned properly as that is the basic of staying in a hotel. by accident i left some mud on the floor, the next day i came back, the mud was not cleaned. towels are not being replaced.

* the bar is open in the evening, but if you need staff in the weekend when there is a party, you have to look very good to find somebody to fill up your glass!

the hotel is ABSOLUTELY not usable for disabled persons.

Room Tip: Not suitable for disabled persons don't stay here for more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for work and was one of the best hotels ive ever stayed in. the rooms was lovely and the food and staff are excelent... very friendly and jolly made it a pleasure to stop... I highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay there in the future..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for our wedding night so were given 'the best' room, the bed was absolutely awful; mattress completely caved in in the middle, and bending upwards on the outside -so you even couldn't lie straight. Cannot believe this was room was the best.

Staff were brilliant -went out of their way to ensure high quality customer service -allowing us to order food outside of the serving times (late night snack/late breakfast). The breakfast was excellent -very good value for money and brilliantly cooked.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have to say that we found the staff exceptionally helpful! I had asked for an accessible room because I am disabled but there was a long-stay disabled guest already in the hotel but the staff went 'the extra mile' to not only ensure that we had not only had a room on the nearest landing but also that other members of our family were accommodated in the adjoining room. The bedroom was very clean and well-equipped and the quality of the tea in the bedroom was the best that we have ever experienced in a hotel in the UK!! My wife described the muesli at breakfast as 'exceptional' but I would have preferred the cooked breakfast to have been warmer. I appreciate that it is not possible to accommodate all tastes and preferences but it would have been nice to have been able to have bought 'tea and cake' in the afternoon. However, we found an excellent Italian teashop at the top of the main street of Alton....

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor overlooking the front of the hotel - it was both quiet and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Tired decor, terrible food, uninterested staff. We were poked away on the top floor, in the eaves, where Rob managed to bang his head every five minutes. Not knowing how awful the meal would be, we opted to dine in the first night - BIG mistake! Soggy and bland vegetables swamped in a dreadful, tasteless yellow sauce containing garden peas. Enough said. Breakfast was £7 extra each so in view of the previous night's experience, we ran down the street to Costa's! If you have to stay in Alton, go B and B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton House Hotel

Address: Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.