We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

The George
Butts Road, Alton GU34 1LH, England
+44 01420 82331
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 45 restaurants in Alton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

A friendly, clean and welcoming pub. I would recommend the lamb burger - a lamb chop in a bun cooked to perfection for a mere £10!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    80
    16
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch with kids, family and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had lunch at the George yesterday with four kids all aged 4 and under. We booked the day before. We actually had a call from them mid morning to check if the table they had allocated for us was OK - how impressed we were! We had a lovely table in the 'snug' area and we extremely well looked after.

The food was exactly what we needed - a selection of lighter meals (wraps and sandwiches) as well as burgers, steaks and other larger meals. The prices are very reasonable and everything was served swiftly and was hot and well presented.

All in all, very impressed and recommended for anyone with kids who needs a decent pub lunch! There is car parking right outside so very easy.

Will visit again, thank you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Party Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We held my sons 21st birthday party at the George. It was perfect. The staff are so so helpful and they decorated the pub beautifully. The buffet was made up of my sons favourite foods- perfect. A lovely evening full of lots of memories. thank you All at The George. X

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Friendly Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

So... on Friday afternoon my whole office descended on The George for drinks post Christmas lunch. Suzie (the very helpful landlady) had reserved a couple of tables for us and the Christmas spirit flowed all night :-) It's a very friendly pub with responsible drinkers (apart from us). Some of our office staff bought their children into the pub too and Jason (Suzie's partner) said it was ok up to 9pm and no one felt uncomfortable with that. A great selection of draft beers and my favourite Gin, polite bar staff, great atmosphere. What more could you ask for :-)

Suzie & Jason - thank you

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just had a Christmas Party at The George, excellent food, great value for money, fabulous atmosphere and the best service!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

 
Alton, Hampshire
Alton, Hampshire
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.