We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Takeaway Curries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balti House

The Balti House
9-11 Market Street, Alton GU34 1HA, England
01420 549086
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Alton
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Takeaway Curries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've eaten loads of really good curries from here. I've eaten many good curries from all over, but the Alton Balti make really tasty dishes. Just lovely! Really friendly service too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Only if you have plenty of time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ordered a take away on the phone and told 40mins for collection. When I arrived to collect it was apparent from the que that It was going to be a longer wait. 50 minutes later the food was ready, obvious that they didnt even start preparing our order till well after I arrived. So a total wait of 1.5 hours. By then too late to go elsewhere.
Despite everyone in the restaunt having similar waits to me they were still saying 45 minutes to people phoning in. Why lie? Why not be accurate? There is absolutely no excuse for giving false times just to get the orders.
If you are thinking of eating in beware As there are just a few tables, you will have take away customers standing around your table as you eat.
Overall a bad experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants.uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, full of taste excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Really nice tasty food well presented at decent prices with very generous portions. Very welcoming staff

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh food, Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We weren't disappointed with this BYO drinks tiny restaurant. The food was delicious, cooked to order and they obviously do a roaring take out trade. I'm sure one has to book for weekends but on a Monday night it was a friendly little oasis. Having previously been a bit spoilt for quality food options in South London we are delighted to have found this gem in Alton. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great curry at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This really is a gem of a place and I've not found one person that doesn't rate it highly. Only had take aways but the service and welcome you always get is first class and the food is scrumptious.

This is a must try if you've not been.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Balti House also viewed

 
Alton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balti House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.