We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & lovely service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monty's Bistro

Monty's Bistro
7 Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DD , England
01420 88950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Alton
Cuisines: European, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food & lovely service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I visit Montys regularly but this time we went with a party of friends, as always the meal was lovely, we were served with a smile and the food is reasonably priced. All the food is aparently locally sourced which is lovely. I can't wait for valentines day to sample their set menu!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    40
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Four Marks, Hants, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Monty's remains the only decent place to eat in Alton and is definitely in the top 3 in NE Hants. The menu is creative, reasonably priced and beautifully prepared. The Chef's interpretation of some Asian specialities is particularly good. We shall be back soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Alton's best restaurant deserves better support”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Creative, well prepared and presented food is provided at Monty's. A realistic length menu offers a variety of dishes to suit all tastes produced from excellent raw materials - locally sourced- and expertly prepared by a talented chef and his brigade. Service is professional but informal.

The special Sunday lunch of roast beef and all the usual trimmings for either two or three courses can be especially recommended and offers fine value for money.

The wine list could be improved by the addition of a reasonably priced red and white "house wine" That said, good quality wine by the glass is offered.

The combination of good food, pleasant and attentive service and the overall ambience of the restaurant makes Monty's a great place to eat. It does, however, need more support if the restaurant is to flourish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our meal, mainly because the front of house staff were very young and not all that experienced, but very nice and welcoming! The food was good, reasonably priced, and adventurous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Its Alton's Good Fortune.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

To have such a good place in its midst.
We were welcomed warmly and then enjoyed starters of crayfish and prawn cocktail ( me ) and blue cheese and walnut salad with pear ( Madam ). Then my wife had venison steak with mashed potato and I had shoulder of lamb with little new potatoes and carrots. Both were delicious.
Service was efficient and friendly.
A delicious lunch on a day of bright winter sunshine and cold winds.
We do not live locally, but will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Monty's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monty's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.