We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monty's Bistro

Monty's Bistro
7 Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DD , England
01420 88950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Alton
Cuisines: European, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5 stars again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I enjoyed a lovely Birthday lunch at Monty's with my family. The sunday roast (beef) was amazing! I did not find the restaurant noisy (or any noisier than any other restaurant) which has been complained about on here! Another excellent experience at Monty's :) Thanks Tom and team

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    40
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely... The few complaints aren't justified!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We decided on a spur of the moment to pop in to Monty's for lunch midweek. The menu looked appetising and despite it being empty it was only 12pm so didn't deter us from going in. Hadn't looked on here so had no idea what to expect.

We were greeted by (presumably) the owner. As it was dead on 12pm, he said we could sit anywhere we liked, which was a nice touch. The decor was lovely - a real quirky design of old wooden tables and chairs which didn't match, but this is clearly the point if you look at the detail. So I can't see how this is any way "shabby". The bare brick walls are also far from perfect - this is called tradition in my eyes!

We ordered a couple of salads and some soft drinks. Of course a coke is going to cost more than it does in the supermarket, but it wasn't a rip off. The salads were huge and cooked to perfection, certainly no complaints about that.

As this is obviously a family run restaurant, we also witnessed the (presumably) owner's children in the restaurant. To me, this was actually quite nice and reminiscent of what family restaurants should be about. If you don't want a family run restaurant you should've gone to Prezzo!!

Overall a hidden gem. It would probably be busier if it was further up the high street but it was a pleasant find.

Food did take some time to be prepared, but there is a speedy menu option if you're in a rush. We were not, however.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good but could be better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Decor is nice but tables and chairs a bit too shabby chic, scratched and chairs bit ropey! Food wise nice but pricey espeically for Alton and soft drinks even pricey £2,25 for a half of lemonade! We did enjoy our meal and considering there were 35 of us they done a good job of getting all our food out with only a couple of hiccups. Enjoyed the food but veg needs to be cooked a little more too hard!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We went there for a birthday meal for two. I was somewhat reticent as all my friends who have been said the same thing...it is noisy in Monty's. On arrival we were quickly greeted, coats taken and we were offered a choice of any table as they were not fully booked, a nice touch. We went for the farthest corner as there were two large groups towards the front. The service was generally good and attentive, although having to wait over 10 minutes for our bottle of wine(which I had to ask for AFTER our starter arrived) was a slip. The food choice was also good, although I think the steak choice of rump or sirloin ways disappointing. I had at the least expected ribeye or fillet in a restaurant like this. There was also a decent selection of specials. Did we enjoy it? Yes. Would we rush back? No. And the reason is simple, the atmosphere is spoiled by the noise. There is not enough soft furnishings, and even in a half empty restaurant we found our conversation being drowned out by the two big parties in the room. Our friends said it, other reviewers have said it. Monty's need to take note and do something about the noise issue. Good luck, Alton deserves a restaurant like this, but listen to your customers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went to Monty's on a Saturday night with friends, having read Tripadvisor reviews we were expecting a noisy restaurant and great food. We weren't disappointed! There is a good selection of dishes on the menu+ specials and everything our party had was cooked to perfection. Will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Monty's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monty's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.