We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fan of Jane Austen?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jane Austen's House

Jane Austen's House
Chawton, Alton GU34 1SD, England
44 1420 83262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Alton
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is housed in a charming red-brick 17th-century building that was home to Jane Austen and her family from 1809 to 1817, and the site where she wrote some of her popular novels.
Nacka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fan of Jane Austen?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you are passing by and like Jane Austen - do visit. If you have to make a major detour - consider. You get access to the house and there are some original furniture and some copies. There are information sign telling you about the life of the author and her relatives, but I would have liked more about her authorship.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    103
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It seems Jane Austen has just popped out visiting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Jane Austen's House in Chawton is a lovely place to visit especially at this time of the year. The rooms are set out to give the impression that she still lives there! The information boards are interesting and give you some insight into her life and times. The guides in the different rooms were friendly and knowledgeable.

When visiting various houses I tend to avoid the 'infamous' gift shop, but don't do this at this property, if you are interested in Jane Austen spend some time browsing there is some very interesting material to buy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A lovely museum and gardens that pay homage to all things Jane. We arrived when the museum opened and made lavender sachets in the kitchen area. The helpful docents in the home answered questions but the exhibits were well laid out and informative.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Its a small house that she spent some of her later life in. It contains a lot of things that she "might have used", or "were from the era", but other than her tiny writing desk, not a lot of things of hers.

There is quite a bit on the walls to describe her family and to give some background to her environment, but it was rather expensive for a relatively small museum.

I think if you are in the area already, then it doesn't hurt to visit, but unless you are a big fan, I'm not sure I would make a special trip for it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Visited on a Saturday,A bit busy but not too much, thought it was overpriced before we paid but it wasnt breaking the bank and in the end was glad and happy with what we paid, I have to say there was alot of things in this house that really gave you an insight into the whole house and its inhabitants, I did note how most people just flew thru the house barely looking at anything as if they didnt really see what was on offer, I found drawers that could be opened with lots of treats inside and as i was just finishing with the down stairs the people who arrived at the same time as me were done and leaving!!!!
So my advice is to really look at everything in this house as well as take in the surroundings both inside and out.
The gift shop was good, i brought a really pretty Pride and Pejudice Hardback book for £10 which to me was a good price and i can now say i brought a book from a house that was written 200 years before in the same house!!!
The staff were all really helpful and we spent about 2 hours all in all and had a really nice time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jane Austen's House also viewed

 

Been to Jane Austen's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jane Austen's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.