We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jane Austen's House

Jane Austen's House
Chawton, Alton GU34 1SD, England
44 1420 83262
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Jane Austen's House like an insider
$1,409*
and up
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Alton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is housed in a charming red-brick 17th-century building that was home to Jane Austen and her family from 1809 to 1817, and the site where she wrote some of her popular novels.
Farnham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

A lovely place to visit, beautiful house, garden and friendly village. Very interesting.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    115
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“An Interesting Insight into Jane Austen and her work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I visited this museum with my writers group and we all agreed it was a delightful museum well supported by helpful and informative guides. We all learned a lot about Jane Austen and it was wonderful to see her effects and learn more about her life and close family. There are a number of books available that you are free to read if you wish to do some in depth study.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unmissable for Austen Fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

It's not often in life that something lives up to your wildest expectations but a visit to Jane Austen's home at Chawton definitely did.

My friend and I went on a very rainy Monday and were lucky to find the museum quiet allowing us plenty of time to see everything there and loiter to our hearts content.

I felt as though I'd had an almost religious experience in being able to wander those rooms at my leisure in relative quiet and appreciate what life may have been like in those days.

The museum staff are helpfull and enthusiastic, the shop is dangerous (come prepared to part with more cash than anticipated) and all in all I think this is the best small mueum I have ever been too. I was worried it would be 'disneyfied' but not a bit of it.

If you get the chance to visit I would highly recommend it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage where Austen wrote much of her work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived first thing - on purpose - as we've been before and as it's a small house it is easily crowded.

We had the place to ourselves for a few minutes and with only a very few others for most of our visit inside the house. The weather was kind and held off the promised rain, delivering instead lovely spring sunshine.

The cottage itself is nicely presented, and there's a lot of information about Austen, her family and time. The exhibits are sometimes a little scant (this is the bed that perhaps looks like the one Jane Austen slept in - but that's being picky!) but it was a pleasant way of spending time on a Saturday morning for me, and for my wife, a Life Member of the Jane Austen Society, it was a delight to behold things like the tiny desk at which so much of her work was written.

If I have a criticism about the house it is that it focuses on Jane rather than her work; it is conceivable that someone not familiar with Pride and Prejudice or Persuasion could come away no wiser about what she wrote about. It's rather taken for granted, that people will know - perhaps a mistake and lost opportunity?

There was a short film about Jane Austen which was frankly a bit mediocre and which rather horrified my wife who thought it was dreadful, which again rather reflects the budget available - for which I attach no blame - but also to an extent some paucity of vision about what the site is aiming to achieve.

It's also devoid of refreshments; whether this is because they get a cut from the cafe opposite, which was very nice and clearly does a roaring trade and is presumably utterly dependent on the house for their trade, or what I don't know. However the cafe only offers meals at peak time so if you just want a coffee or cup of tea you're out of luck. You'd have thought the organisers or managers would have thought of providing that simple level of refreshment. It's far from Rocket Science and would give them some funds they obviously need. I've seen sites with only a portakabin offer teas, coffees and cakes, etc - surely a simple way of raising funds? The room next to the shop would be an ideal space perhaps a better use of space - or maybe that would set local politics ablaze (I know how sensitive that kind of thing can be!) Anyway, just sayin'...

That apart, it was well worth a visit, whatever your literary leanings. If you're an Austen fan, it's a must!


Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“for enthusiasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

whilst visitng this area we called at the J.A. Museum and it was interesting if you are a fan. Lovely old house and small village with a little cafe opposite and on the edge of the car park, which does have lovely homemade cakes and hot drinks. The house/museum charges £6 for entrance and you could spend about 1hr+ looking round. Nice to see some of her writings and personal pieces and paintings of her. There is an introduction by way of a short film on her life which is a good insight at the beginning of the tour and well worth sitting through. You could do this tour in about an hour. There is toilets in the museum yard and a small gift shop selling lots of her books and collectable pieces is you are a fan of her works. Probably more for the ladies then men.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jane Austen's House also viewed

 

Been to Jane Austen's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jane Austen's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.