We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prezzo - Alton

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Prezzo - Alton
1 - 2 Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
+44 (0)1420 85580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 55 Restaurants in Alton
Price range: $1 - $61
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A disappointing return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We returned here having had a good experience last time we were in Alton. This time was just the opposite. The wait for food was too long and it was certainly not VFM - the "King" prawns were anything but "King" and still had bits of shell on. Everything seemed to have a double helping of garlic and pepper which completely killed any taste rater than enhance it. The service was haphazard albeit friendly and one of our party had their starter tipped over them. On the plus side the house red Sangiovese was very palatable. The staff were vey accommodating and friendly

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A great experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've been to Alton's Prezzo several times and it's always been very good. The menu seems to have changed and we all found it to be very varied and well priced.
The service was impeccable. We used a Tastecard and got one meal free,
I would definitely recommend and will be going again as soon as possible.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We came for lunch on a Thursday, I had the Il Carltoni calzone and my partner had the Arrosto salad. The calzone was good, better than other chain italian restaurants - no huge bulks of pepperoni. Even amounts of fillings. The salad was 'absolutely delicious, fresh and tasty'. Our waiter (David) was great too - very attentive, friendly and polite but not intrusive. Would visit this restaurant again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Bad - Not Great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Typical Italian chained restaurant.

One waitress was very helpful, the others (older males) were a bit cold as I wasn't orderding three courses and drinking seven pints of their over-priced drinks. I had the Italian burger with fries, which was nice, but again, not really worth over £10.
Really nice vibe inside and well decorated.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“better than most Italian chain restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

good food reasonable prices. we went in late afternoon so it was quite empty but this suited us. Try using tesco deal vouchers it makes it very affordable

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prezzo - Alton also viewed

 

Been to Prezzo - Alton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prezzo - Alton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.