We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this still in business?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Potters International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Potters International Hotel to your Saves list
Potters International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Fleet Road, Aldershot GU11 2ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aldershot
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“How is this still in business?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from staying for two nights on a army reunion and I don't know how this stays in business. The hotel does look like a flash back to the 80s and I think the hotel thinks it is doing us a favour for being there. The negatives are the bar shuts at 11 even for residents on a Friday night, breakfast finishes at 9.30 on a sat & 10 on a sun which needless to say when you have been drinking a few beers meant that we didn't get to see breakfast. All the rooms that we booked had mould growing in the bathrooms. The positives were Chris the barman and the reception staff. Would I use this again? No, do yourself a favour and either use the HI express or Travel Lodge which can both be picked up a lot cheaper.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    34
    28
    28
See reviews for
6
23
7
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week when working. The staff were ok but not particularly friendly. I found the rooms pokey, noisy and dated. No shower gel was provided in the bathroom which amazed me. The rooms were not as clean as I would expect. The wifi was hopeless, rarely working, which was very frustrating. Breakfast was nothing more than adequate, often cold, and some of the staff less than competent.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I feel some reviewers may have given this hotel a bit of a hard time. Sure there is an eclectic mix of fabrics in the bedroom. and the carpet is a little 80's.......... However the bed was amazing. I had the best night sleep in a hotel ever. The pillows were wonderful and the room was spotlesslessy clean. Normal the eclectic furnishings would annoy me but on this occasion it worked! The staff were superb. friendly and attentive. This is a large hotel bit the staff made it feel like a family run B+B. The pool, sauna and gym facilities were also superb, fabulous value for money less than a Premier Inn.... Thanks Jan (lovely lady at reception) for a great short but sweet stay. PS heating amazingly effective.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 238. Big Room with king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A relatively pleasant stay and the staff were great and breakfast OK. There was a gym and pool which was OK. One thing that jumps to mind in this hotel and lakeside is that it is very tired and the decor is stuck in the 80's. Needs to be brought back to life. Take a look out the back and see if you can find the tennis courts, they say it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with business colleagues for several days while attending an exhibition. The food in the bar and restaurant was acceptable. However, the service was the poorest ever encountered and judging by the number of guests complaining this hotel has some very serious staffing issues. The rooms are incredibly dated and run down. Security is a complete joke as the cleaners had a habit of leaving room doors open (probably because the room key had to be turned in the lock). Wi-Fi not working and a barman so poor he is almost comical. This hotel is in obvious need of a major overhaul but that's no excuse for such poor standards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was in Aldershot on business. When I arrived, I was made to feel very welcome.

Finding the room was tricky as the numbering was strange, so much so there was a sheet in the lift explaining where they were. Room 220 is on the first floor? The room was comfortable but in need of some TLC. Comfortable king size bed, but pillows were a bit thin and unsupportive. Free wifi was good, but signal was a bit weak.

The service and food in the bar was excellent. Special mention to Chris who kept me entertained throughout my stay. The food selection wasn't huge, but it was supplemented my nightly specials which were excellent. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and piping hot.

I will definitely stay again if I'm back in the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

if arriving by train, you need to get a taxi to there, once arived reception were very helpful and friendly, our rooms were very spacious, extremely clean and the beds were blloming gorgeous, so comfortable. there was everything you could want at this hotel,bar restauraant, gym swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacussi, would definately stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Potters International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters International Hotel

Address: 1 Fleet Road, Aldershot GU11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Aldershot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aldershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Potters International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Potters International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters International Aldershot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potters International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.