We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center to your Saves list
Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   10660 Burr Oak Lodge Road, Glouster, OH 45732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glouster
Delaware, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Glad to be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family has traveled to Burr Oak several times over the years and were very happy that the lodge had re-opened. We stayed in a king suite while was extremely spacious and well appointed. Our teen girls loved having a room and bath of their own as well as a flat screen tv that they could monopolize. The sitting room furniture was especially nice and comfortable too which isn't always the case. Fridge and microwave as standard features was appreciated. My 2 gripes about the room are that there should be more towel bars in the main bath and the sitting area could use additional lighting.
The fitness room had nice equipment and was very clean as was the pool area. The tennis courts were resurfaced and well lit. A new putt-putt course was there but not yet open. The wait staff in the restaurant were very nice and helpful and the food was good and plentiful. Hopefully visitors will flood in and keep this lovely lodge open.

Room Tip: Try to find a king suite with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groveport, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to Burr Oak State Park to do some hiking and decided to have lunch beforehand in the lodge dining room. The staff was ridiculously slow. We seated ourselves and it took about 20 minutes just to have someone come over to take our drink order and give us menus. There was a larger group table and 3 two seater tables with people so it wasn't empty but should have been easily manageable for three servers. The place began to fill up and we were lost in the shuffle. Others were getting their orders before we did and another family sat down for a good 20 minutes without having anyone greet them. They got up and left. The remoteness of this lodge doesn't allow one to go down the street to a different restaurant so I'm not sure where those folks would have gone. We finally got our food, which was mediocre at best, ate and asked for our bill. While my boyfriend paid I pulled out my phone and saw we had been there for 2 hours! For lunch! Our hiking time was drastically cut. Needless to say I would not go back and eat there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh area
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this newly renovated lodge in Ohio’s Burr Oak State Park. We had a two room King patio suite and were very satisfied with the accommodations. The bed was extremely comfortable, there was nice furniture in the sitting area and there was two new flat screen TVs. The work at the resort is still in progress and we were disappointed that the mini-golf was not completed yet. We did not use the indoor pool but it looked very nice. The dining room in the lodge has a decent but limited menu selection. They were out of several items on the second night making the choices even smaller (this is an important point because of its remote location; there are no alternate dining spots just “down the road”). We found the resort and dining room staff very friendly and accommodating. They even let us tour one of the cabins for future reference. The location is very peaceful and scenic. If you are looking for a place for a nice get-a-way this would be a good choice.

Room Tip: "Get a room with a lake view or patio or both"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The lodge was very nicely decorated and the rooms were very nice. We stayed in the family suites which were very roomy and had two bathrooms and two flat screen tv's as well as a fridge and microwave which made it nice for families. The staff was very nice and accomodating. The swimming pool was large and very nice. We went to the marina and rented a pontoon boat which was fun to do with the kids.

I felt like they should have had some organized activites for children so there was not a lot to do. Also it would have been nice to have a DVD player in the rooms which there were none. At other state parks we have been at there was usually some sort of campfire going in a fire pit outside and they did not have one of those either.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the lake but also ask for sliding doors to walk outside we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmesville, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Room was nice , must have been one of the smaller kings because only one room but was clean & comfortable. Had all meals @ the dining room were all good & all slow ,think its all new staff since the remodel. Park is beautiful , great hiking right out the door of the Lodge , no one on trails although the lodge was nearly full

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Euclid, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Burr Oak Lodge is approximately 176 miles from our Cleveland area home--40 of those miles on Rt 78 which is VERY WINDY with some VERY SHARP turns!! The lodge is beautiful, all fresh and newly decorated and remodeled. Our king room was very nice and spacious perfectly clean and the bed was outstanding! The room has a microwave, refrigerator and also a one cup coffeemaker and large wide screen tv. We found the dining room to be nice with a small but good menu. The service was good with reasonable enough prices. All lodge staff was very nice and friendly. As far as things to do within the lodge itself, there is only an indoor swimming pool and some board games in the upper sitting area. There is no food to be purchased anywhere besides the restaurant so if you like to snack, bring your own! There are some bottled beverages at the front desk--that's it! We spent some time at the Marina which is a short drive from the lodge. Our stay was pleasant and relaxing which is exactly what we wanted for our weekend. Also the lodge has a great, all new fitness center which is spacious with excellent equipment.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot which was fine with us. It was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the newly renovated Burr Oak Lodge the weekend of July 22. It was for a family reunion. Apparently they had recently just had a Grand Opening of the lodge. The rooms were all King's with a separate room with a sofa bed. They were lovely. There was a major problem with the room keys not working all along our hallway which was rather annoying at times. The lodge was beautiful with a stunning view of the lake. We had all 3 meals in the restaurant (with the same view). The meals were tasty and ample portions. We had a large party for lunch on the Saturday and had informed them of this. At the same time, there was a major T-storm which brought many inside to eat. Our lunch took 2 1/2 hours before the last person finally got their meal. The food was delicious with large portions but I felt that they should have made some compensation for our very long ordeal. All the staff were extremely friendly right down to the maid staff. There were still some places that were in great need of restoration such as the path down to the water. It was in fact quite dangerous in places. But I suspect that there is a plan for that. I am not sure I will make it back that way, but I would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 10660 Burr Oak Lodge Road, Glouster, OH 45732
Location: United States > Ohio > Glouster
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glouster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burr Oak Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/Glouster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.