We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - " I was a rat "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowry

The Lowry
Pier 8 | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3AZ , England
0843 208 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Salford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Situated on the waterside at the heart of The Quays, The Lowry is a stunning, award winning building housing two vibrant theatres, a studio space, relaxing art galleries, cafés, bars, a restaurant, souvenir gift shop and Salford’s Tourist Information Centre. With a huge variety of performances, The Lowry's Lyric and Quays Theatres offer a wealth of fabulous entertainment, including West End musicals, the very best in drama, live bands, famous comedians, plus world class dance and opera.Gallery entry is free and you can enjoy the work of one of the nation's favourite artists, LS Lowry, in changing exhibitions of his work which we hope will offer some surprises. At the same time, experience work by artists of local, national and international renown to compliment our Lowry exhibitions. There's always something new and refreshing to see in our galleries.With family fun throughout the building, guided tours, the Meet Mr Lowry film, plus participatory activity for all ages, The Lowry is a great day out.
St Helens, Merseyside
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic - " I was a rat "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Watched 'I was a rat' with 8 year old daughter. Was absolutely brilliant! Actors were amazing, funny, just brilliant! I will defo be going back to watch something else. Also little girl didn't lose interest she thoroughly enjoyed it. The theatre itself was nice and warm , we had a box directly in front so I would say we had the best seats ! Will get something to eat there next time - the food smelt great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    493
    121
    31
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Graduation at the Lowry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was lucky enough to have my graduation ceremony here and spent most of the day idly wandering around with my parents awaiting my ceremony time. There is alot to look at visually and with Media City opposite its a nice afternoon. Theres a mall, cinema restaurants, gym and drinking spots here which are all worth a look and its a lot quitter as its 15 minutes way from the city centre of Manchester by Tram (you can get the media city tram or Eccles to Harbour city and its only two minutes walk) If you're here it may be worth popping across the bridge to the Imperial war museum also!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Theatre lacks any atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

First visit for a performance of Woman in Black.. Excellent production (It must be 20yrs since I last so it in the Fortune Theatre) though this review is more about the theatre complex.

I don't think I have ever sat in a more soulless environment to watch either a play or musical; compared to other modern environments such as the Royal Exchange or Cardiffs more intimate Richard Burton theatre this has no atmosphere and a horrible dead sound (which may suit music better than unmiked plays).

Part of the problem seems to be the size which is suited well to music concerts and high demand one night events but just seems ludicrous for smaller plays etc. Fortunately we were in the front few rows but it also has one of the most abysmal rakes in the stalls I have ever seen. How on earth could a modern built theatre with a stage of this height have possibly got past the design stage with this rake.

I would also avoid visiting on off peak nights as tkts seem to go to schools and students and coach trips who seem to lack the ability to sit for an act without having to crash through the place to go to the loo. Why isnt the normal no admittance rule enforced - actors must hate the place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“modern theatre once found!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not very well sign posted nor was the car park. When eventually parked the theatre is very modern though the slightly sloping floor is not very good for people with walking difficulties. Seats very comfortable. Would be good to visit again to see the gallery

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really nice theatre complex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been many times to the Lowry Theatre and we love going there. Always clean, comfortable and well managed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lowry also viewed

Trafford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Lowry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.