We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvester Lowry

Harvester Lowry
Lowry Outlet Mall, Salford Quays | M50 3AG, Salford, England
0161 877 3952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 172 Restaurants in Salford
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Harvester LowryAt Harvester Lowry in Manchester food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Manchester, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Salford, Trafford and Stretford, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The restaurant was busy but we were seated straight away. The service was good and the meals were a great improvement on the last time we ate here. The salad was alot fresher than on our previous visit and the mains , 1/2 chicken, and the Classic Featsival as a main were both really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Lowry, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester Lowry. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    68
    44
    38
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“You'll be waiting a long time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived here on Sunday, plenty of empty tables but had to wait about 10 minutes for one. A lady came up the front to get menus and before we could even say hi she told us to wait. When we finally got seated it took about 20 minutes to be served and then a further 20 minutes for drinks. the only reason we got the drinks was because we had to keep asking the waitress for glasses and said we would just re-fill ourselves. The people on the table next to us had their drinks left on the bar for ages until the customer just got up himself and asked if it was OK to get them from the bar. When the main eventually came my veg was cold and soggy and our dessert had melted when it came after another 20 minutes of waiting for it after our plates had been moved. What was really annoying was families were served first even though they arrived after us but couples seemed to be left waiting. A couple sat close by waited 30 minutes before they were even served but families were served, fed and gone in this time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Lowry, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Harvester Lowry. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all customer feedback and are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can and we have written to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited this place with my wife and 2 year old son and left feeling like our custom was not wanted, We turned up and the girl met us at the door and totally ignored our son and lead us to a table for two we gave it a few mins in case she brought a highchair back but no 20 mins later still no waitress to even take our drinks order but the final straw was when she started serving people she seated after us at this point we got up and left and visited the Printworks Harvester where the service was excellent as always.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Lowry, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied in your visit to the Harvester Lowry, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited here on a Sunday afternoon the restaurant was busy as expected however the service was extremely slow, it took ten minutes to order and get a drink then a further 40 minutes before the food arrived. I had a chicken breast with a sauce and the chicken was processed and not very tasty. The restaurant seemed understaffed and the manager didn't seem to know what he was doing there were dirty tables everywhere you looked. I've visited harvester before and never really had an enjoyable experience. I will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Lowry, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that the meal you had at Harvester Lowry was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Purely Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I can honestly say I loved every minute of this visit, and one of the best meals I've had! First time to a Harvester and it was well worth it! It was the perfect break after the day shopping around there.

Even though it was quite busy the staff were great and service was pretty quick! The menu has a lot of choices with a whole range of items, and even before the starters came we had to hold back from the salad bar which was great and so fresh even the bread was piping hot.

Each course was fantastic; everything we tried was great. The only thing that bugged me was the sauces - there's a lot to choose from and it's a shame going for one without having tried it before, but with more than one at a table it helps to share around. It's great if you want to experiment! Great to have refillable soft drinks too.

Will certainly go again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Lowry, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester Lowry. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester Lowry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Warrington, Cheshire
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Harvester Lowry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvester Lowry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.