We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service! Rude staff! Dirty bathroom!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Manchester to your Saves list
Campanile Manchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Ordsall Lane, Salford M5 4RS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor service! Rude staff! Dirty bathroom!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Booked 7 rooms with friends and family. When we arrived none of the rooms were ready. We came back 3 hours later (3:30pm) and still only 3 of 7 rooms ready. Reception staff unhelpful and offered no apologies and even went as far as too lie to us about saying the rooms would be ready at 1pm. Twin room was booked and we received a double. Another couples room was already occupied, then second room was being cleaned and the third time they eventually got an empty room! Complaints to reception fall on deaf ears. Hotel is basic. Bathrooms grubby and scum marks in bath and tiles. Only one plug point in the whole room!!! Paying nearly £100 a night each we were very disappointed. We stay at the ibis regularly and will be returning there rather than this poor excuse of a budget hotel in the future. Poor, poor service which could be improved if staff gave a monkeys about the paying customers. Definitely skip this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    105
    93
    40
    50
See reviews for
26
87
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

When I arrived I was given the wrong room three times walking in on other people who had booked the room. The staff were rude didn't answer my questions correctly and the room was not in a good state.

I booked a triple which consisted of a twin and a single. When checking into my room at the earliest time 4pm I found the single bed was a mattress placed on the floor which I found unacceptable seeing as I paid one hundred and twenty pounds. I found a damaged socket which was smashed exposing live cables. I informed reception to be told they couldn't do anything for me other than place some duct tape round the socket face.

The hotel is located next to a main ring road which can upset your nights sleep. The bath room is very dated and the shower was caked in limescale. I stop in a lot of hotels as I work away from home a lot and I can honestly say in my 16 years of stopping in hotels this place is terrible. I made a point to staff I would be leaving bad feedback on this site.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Paid £45 for this place for a Friday night and its just what we needed. 5 minute walk from Deansgate Locks, clean rooms friendly helpful staff. Decent bar area ( £3.20 for a bottle of corona ). Pay alot more for that elsewhere. Food looked good too. Will stay again. Great value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

For what we paid I would say this place is pretty good. It's certainly clean, comfortable and modern. What more do you want for £45 per room? It has a good sized restaurant (we didn't eat there) and a bar (we did drink there!). As this is still only a mile from the City Centre it is really close. You could walk it or it would be certainly cheaper to stay here and get a cab to and from town than to stay in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton,st helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After reading reviews of this place i was worried about booking a night here..

worries over.
Reception ... staff were very friendly and helped in any way they could even booked us a taxi.
Room .....clean, tidy. with tv, tea and coffee, towels ,wifi worked ok.

bonuses ..free car parking and the free wifi.

others reported noises eg .. cleaners and road noise... i didnt here a thing and i was on the ground floor near the main road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room was dirty, the shower flooded, the window wasn't secure, half the lamps didn't work or we're broken. There was a hole in the wall, the walls and windows are paper thin and they started hoovering at 4:10am. The bed had makeup on them there was mould in the room, with one plug socket out in the hall. I couldn't understand the staff not that they were that helpful because the car park they recommended cost£9 for a couple of hour. THE LIST GO'S ON. The only good thing was the breakfast because even thought I paid for the full English that was horrible the other options were quite nice. But no I would defiantly not recommend this hotel to anyone in any case.

Room Tip: I was in room 12 so avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When you pay 80 pounds for 1 night, you expect a good wifi service. It is essential in todays world. I would say this hotel has the worst internet service i have ever seen. The internet gets disconnected every now and then and every time you have to register yourself to login. And if you are not lucky, you get an error saying the maximum number of sessions allowed has been exceeded. So eventually you are left with no internet access. Why should I face this discomfort without wny fault of mine?
8.95 pounds for english breakfast!!! Welcome to campanile manchester. You will be taken care of .

Room Tip: Well, no tip really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Manchester

Address: 55 Ordsall Lane, Salford M5 4RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Manchester 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come for business or to watch a football game or visit the Granada Studios, 2-star CAMPANILE HOTEL-RESTAURANT MANCHESTER– Salford has everything • Reception open 24 hours (night porter) • Free outdoor parking • Handicapped facilities • Restaurant capacity: 80 people • 2 conference rooms (Capacity: 50 people) • Conference room equipped with WIFI connection, easel board, video projector (paid rental), TV, DVD player, etc... • Bar • Terrace • Infant cots available, upon request on reservation • Free WIFI access (ask Reception for information) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester
Campanile Manchester Hotel Salford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.