We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location, parking and wifi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Manchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Manchester to your Saves list
Campanile Manchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Ordsall Lane, Salford M5 4RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Salford
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good value, good location, parking and wifi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Free wifi, free parking, close to city , great price, good rooms, friendly staff.......go for it. Best for price in Manchester. I was there for two weeks and had a comfortable and restful stay. Good for the business man/woman.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    114
    103
    50
    53
See reviews for
29
100
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

when we arrived at reception they didnt have our booking, we had booked two rooms for the saturday and one room for the sunday night and they only had the booking for the sunday but they said this wasnt a problem as they had rooms available so we payed for the rooms (£105 for all three rooms) but didnt collect our keys as we were going out,when we returned to reception the assistant manager was very rude to us and said we had to pay another £140 as we had been charged wrong. This wasnt our fault so why should we have to pay extra and i don't know how they can charge £105 for these awful rooms. When we got to our room we only had one towel between two people, the toilet wouldnt flush, the room was very dusty, the bathroom wasnt clean and the bed was covered in what looked like pubic hair, when we told reception the guy was again quite rude but did move us to another room, the second room wasnt much better that the first, this bathroom was also dirty, the walls were covered with big black marks that looked like burns, there were cob webs all over the walls, the light didnt work, the tv remote didnt work and the bed smelt like salt and vinegar crisps. We didnt try the food so i cant comment on that but i wound not recommend this hotel to anyone. Im sure you could find alot better hotels in manchester for alot less that £105 on a saturday night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Rooms need a lick of paint but are perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. The service on the other hand was beyond appalling. We waited for 10 minutes to be served, of which we weren't. I went to speak to the person on reception and he assisted after a few minutes. We had upgraded to a full English breakfast and would you believe it, they tried to give us a breakfast that had been cooked for other people. This was within 30 seconds of sitting down, so how could this have been cooked on order (as they said it was) for us?! Either way, they were not going to cook us another breakfast, so we were forced to eat dry, hard cooked food. I then went to get a croissant or something similar and there was nothing at all there to take. I questioned this and was told that if I wanted a croissant I'd have to wait for 25 minutes. What were they doing, bringing them in from France?? It was supposed to be an unlimited supply of continental breakfast but there was nothing other than sliced white bread. I asked to speak to the Manager and was told there wouldn't be a Manager on site for at least two hours. You would have thought that the morning is one of the busiest times in the hotel industry, so for there to be no Manager on duty was poor.
Overall our stay was adequate but the breakfast experience and poor service put us off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spent very little time in the room as we were out and about. Rooms are basic, but adequate. Bath was dirty though and I had to clean it myself. Nice staff. Breakfast was good. Free and secure parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucs
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

stayed here for 1 night on business in November. The hotel is good value for money and there is no point trying to compare it with a 5* hotel. The room I had was adequate, clean with a good shower. My only complaint would be the towels provided are poor and I use better ones to dry my dog. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. I would have no issue recommending this hotel if you want somewhere cheap and acceptable for a short stay. You get what you pay for and it is adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I dont normally look at reviews for hotels where i am just staying for a clubbing weekend but this one had to be done.
I stayed here 3 years ago and didnt really have anything bad to say about it, but i also stayed last weekend and how things have changed.
The prices are great very cheap but you expect a certain number of things for what you pay.
Cleanliness for example, the mugs in the room for tea clearly hadnt been washed, neither had the walls above the radiator which were black.
The bathroom could really do with re doing aswell.
I have just emailed the head company a complaint due to the fact the fire alarm went off at 5am on the saturday morning for nearly one hour ( it also went off 3 years ago when i stayed here but only for 10 mins) so at 5am we all evacuated to the front where there were no staff. They were all in reception had no clue what was going on. No one kept us informed and it turned out there was a "fault" on the system, only when another guest staying there offered to help as it was his trade! So nearly an hour out the front in the freezing cold with no one telling you whats what and just the alarm going off? I dread to think what would happen if there was an actual fire, there was no organisation or anything. Apart from anything this fault which has clearly been going on a while (whilst standing outside i looked on google re the fire alarm and there were plenty of mentions of this happening) It broke our sleep, what we had planned for the saturday we simply couldnt do due to being so tired.

The location is great, we didnt eat any of the food so i cant comment on that.
Sorry for the rant but as you can probably tell i am extreemly angry at the hotel!
If you do have to stay here i just hope the fire alarm doesnt play up for you too. Maybe the staff could do with some customer service training i dont know. Hopefully head office come back to me with an answer to some of my queries.

Room Tip: Think they are all the same to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The biggest disappointment was the bed-a very lumpy mattress that I had to pad out with towels and clothes in order to get some sleep. I got a very perfunctory apology when I complained.The room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke and there were cigarette buts on the floor in the corridor. Went to breakfast at 8.45 and it was chaotic. They had run out of butter and pastries and we had to ask for bowls, glasses and cutlery which took ages to appear. This may have been because the hotel was full, but we were told this the night before, so it is hard to see why the hotel wasn't prepared.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Manchester

Address: 55 Ordsall Lane, Salford M5 4RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Manchester 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come for business or to watch a football game or visit the Granada Studios, 2-star CAMPANILE HOTEL-RESTAURANT MANCHESTER– Salford has everything • Reception open 24 hours (night porter) • Free outdoor parking • Handicapped facilities • Restaurant capacity: 80 people • 2 conference rooms (Capacity: 50 people) • Conference room equipped with WIFI connection, easel board, video projector (paid rental), TV, DVD player, etc... • Bar • Terrace • Infant cots available, upon request on reservation • Free WIFI access (ask Reception for information) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Campanile Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester
Campanile Manchester Hotel Salford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.