We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent & convenient hotel, but sloppy staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Manchester to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Decent & convenient hotel, but sloppy staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Reasonable price, convenient location, plenty of free parking, comfortable room (free upgrade with waterfront view), brekky cooked to order, but dozy receptionist insisted on swiping my credit card on arrival (I agreed under protest) then she charged the room to my credit card, even though my employer had prepaid. Also, chambermaid woke me at about 7:30am and receptionist unable to facilitate what was advertised as free wifi in lobby/bar area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable guest feedback following your recent stay with us.

Whilst there are some very positive comments, for which we thank you, it is also clear there are some re-training issues that need to be rectified within our Front Office and Housekeeping Departments, and we can assure you that these matters will be actioned accordingly.

We do sincerely hope that you will have an opportunity to stay with us again soon and indeed we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Once again thank you on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    263
    305
    184
    95
See reviews for
88
357
51
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jundiai, SP
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

well lets start with the room that is spacious but with a very short and small bed, it looks old with stains everywhere, there are some loose tiles in the bathroom and the shower is ok if you are fast enough to go out before get boiled when the water temperature changes suddenly. The location was perfect to us to attend to a congress helded in the Lowry convention center, the Manchester United Stadium is also quit near. If you have business in Manchester city center it could be a little far for you. The service is polite but not very effective, we had a problem with the room key that takes 30 minutes and three tours to the front desk to be solved. They dont have free internet in the room, one have to pay 20 pounds per day to get it. In the end I think you can find better opitions near by.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Dear Guest

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your review on the hotel following your recent stay with us.

It is evident from your stay that your visit has left with you a less than favourable impression of our hotel and for this we would ask you to please accept our sincere apologies. From your comments it is clear there are some Housekeeping and Maintenance issues that need to be addressed immediately and we can assure you that these will be actioned accordingly.

In regard to the service that you received there is an evident requirement for some immediate re-training and this will be put into place within the relevant areas of the hotel by our Departmental Managers.

In regard to the problems you encountered with your key, we will be liaising with our contractors to have this problem resolved accordingly.

We will also take on board your comments regarding the internet and this is certainly something that can be considered for change in the foreseeable future.

It is disappointing that your visit has been spoilt and we truly hope that you will reconsider staying with us at some time in the not too distant future in order that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel together with the service and hospitality that we do pride ourselves in.

Once again thank on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We arrived at the hotel and showed the male receptionist our hotel voucher from our travel agent. He looked at us blankly and asked who we booked the hotel with. We told him the name of our travel agent and he didn't know them....obviouslt seeing as we were Irish.
He could not find the booking as our name had been put in wrong on the system. When I asked what was wrong he just shook his head and said nothing. We were left confused because he never said what was wrong. While he was looking on the screen for the booking my husband could see it from outside the desk and when he pointed it out to the receptionist the receptionist just shrugged and handed out the form to sign. It seemed to be an awful lot of hassle just to check in.

When we asked what the arrangements were for dinner that night in the restaurant we were told it was carvery at a reasonable price. We said did we need top book and the girl told us we didn't. When we went for dinner we were told we had to book it. We didnt have to wait that long so we didn't mind.
Dinner was adequate but then we were charged £60 for it which was far from reasonable. The price we were told was set due to non- residents coming in for the match that night. This bill really put a dampner on our night.

There was very little room in the bar that seated approx 25. Bar staff were pleasant enough for the most part.
We enquired about Old Trafford and a lovely girl said if we went to see her in the morning she would sort us out. We didnt see her the next morning. There seemed to be more hassle for other people checking in so we had to wait for ages. When I did get to the desk a very rude woman said she didn't know anything about Old Trafford and that we could just walk over and sort it out ourselves. Now this really took the biscuit altogether as we were probably one of a few hotels closest to the grounds.
We got poor directions from her and walked over.

As for other help they were slow to help out. There was no local information in the room as to how we should get to the city centre or the well advertised shopping centres in Manchester. It was a case of fending for ourselves more or less.

Cleanliness was debatable. The bathroom was clean in the hotel as far as we could see and the shower was good quality. The valance sheet on the bed was stained and the furniture was of a poor quality. Menus were limited as you could get similar in the bar and at a lower price.

THe curtains in the breakfast area were covered in dust.

Overall the bed was comfortable and the shower worked but these were the two highlights of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester we wanted to thank you for taking the time to write your review on the hotel following your recent visit with us, and in the first instance we would ask you to accept our sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you quite obviously had.

From the commencement of your check-in it is evident that there is a re-training issue required in this area and we can assure you that this will be addressed accordingly. There can be no excuses made for the manner in which your further enquiries were dealt with and we can assure you none will be accepted, except to say that this is certainly not indicative of the high standards of service and hospitality that we do pride ourselves in.

Additionally, there are indeed some Housekeeping issues that further need to be addressed, and again these matters will be actioned accordingly within the hotel.

We are truly disappointed that your stay with us has left you with a less than favourable memory of your visit and we do sincerely hope that you will reconsider visiting us again in the not too distant future, at which time we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and the services we provide.

Once again our sincere apologies and thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

At 2.30am we were woken up by shouting and foul language outside our room which was very upsetting and frightening. The police were called. I complained at reception the next morning and only received an apology when I requested one.
I shan't be stating there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Hotel Management at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay at the hotel.

It is most unfortunate that your experience has left you with a less than favourable impression of the hotel, however we can assure you that the incident was certainly a one off occurrence and it was dealt with accordingly by our Management Team.

We would very much like the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel and the services we provide, and as such, your time permitting, we would be most grateful if you could make contact with the hotel Operations Manager - Paul Wadsworth, to discuss the matter further.

Once again thank you and our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Near to Metro (Exchange Quay), special rate worked out less than £50 per night for room, parking free. It's a "conference hotel" so you know what you are going to get - well equipped rooms and generally bland chain hotel facilities and is very conveniently situated for exit motorways. A handy Frankie and Benny's almost next door.....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Hotel Management at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the hotel following your recent stay with us.

Your positive feedback is very pleasing to note and please be assured this will be shared with the management team and staff of the hotel.

We do hope it will not be too long before you have an opportunity to stay with us again and indeed we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank You on Behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Me and my boyfriend went away for a weekend break in manchester, paid £67.00 for a room without a view.

The staff were fine, helpful but not overly friendly, the hotel was very clean. A lot of people have mentioned the fact the decor is old but our room was very clean so not really any complaints apart from our shower didnt work and had a small puddle around the plug where there was obviously a problem with the drainage, im not one to complain so just got on with it but if your paying full price (£200.00 plus for a sat night) its probably not what you'd expect.

Other than that the bed was amazingly comfy! everything else in the room was fine if a little dated. maybe need some modernisation there. I did notice there were extra costs such as internet and breakfast and the bar menu was very overpriced for what it was (over £22.00 for an average steak!!!)

The location is really good, very close to the tram stop and near to the city centre but not right in the middle of the "busyness".

id recommend staying at this hotel if you can get it cheap because it can be a very good deal, overpriced in most areas for if you paid full rate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Hotel Management at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review following your recent stay with us.

We would like to thank to you for your very kind and invaluable comments and also your constructive feedback and we hope it will not be too long before you have an opportunity to visit us again.

Once again thank you on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Overall the hotel was okay, nothing special but nothing wrong with it as well. It's in a very nice location over looking Salford Quays and was easy to find without having to brave the city center madness. It's a 3-5 mins walk to the metro link tram so easy to get into the city center. Also easy walk to the Lowry center, Imperial War Museum etc. Hotel restuarant was a bit pricey (but no worse than any other similar hotel) but several other places to eat within easy walking distance. Breakfast was good but the service was very hit and miss. Rooms were okay, again nothing special, looking a little warn in places,

BUT, do not go anywhere near the place during a Man Utd match! The hotel sells off all it's parking places to the football fans so you wont be able to park anywhere near the hotel! Don't believe them if they tell you it won't be a problem, it will be!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne_Manchester, Hotel Management at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, February 10, 2010
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester we would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review following your recent stay with us.

We thank you for your very positive comments together with your most constructive feedback, and we can assure you that they will most certainly be taken on board.

We do hope that you will visit us again soon, and indeed we look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again thank you on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.