We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a warm welcome and lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Manchester to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a warm welcome and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

My usual hotel while working in Manchester. Staff are lovely and great customer service. Tonight Shane brought room service and often Lynn, both lovely ! Nothing is too much trouble! Makes staying away from home and arrival at a hotel after a long hard day much more enjoyable. Well done all !

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    238
    282
    171
    86
See reviews for
84
326
49
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millom, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

had a lovely couple of nights at the copthorne hotel Manchester. The room was airey and bright with a lovely view of the quay. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was a real treat. All in all for a 4star hotel and the price we paid we were very pleasantly pleased and will defo be paying another vist in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just as reviews on this page regarding the hotel looking "tired"--however the staff were good/friendly and helpful, however this is the the fourth time we have stayed here and we enjoy the area.Would be nice next time to see some improvements without a large price hike!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Although a little dated in it's decor, the room was very spacious, free parking directly outside, so could see car from window.
Nice and clean, big comfy bed and nice bathroom.
Other than a bit old fashioned looking. I would return and use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Bedroom could do with a makeover, carpet was threadbare and bathroom tired looking. Staff were pleasant and location was good, excellent transport links. We were woken through the night on second night by an alarm going off but reception knew nothing about it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a double overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Carpets are incredibly shabby, worse than most budget hotels I have stayed in. Depressing hallways. Booked "twin/double" with no indication that this actually means "you will be put in a twin if guests who book at the front desk decide to choose a double". When we complained about this we were palmed off with a well rehearsed reply that it was the fault of the booking company we used; however, other hotels very obviously do not use this sort of contract with the company and it was their choice to use this deceptive marketing. You would think that if enough customers are disappointed with the service that the desk staff have memorised pat answers shifting the blame onto booking company, that they would stop using this company and allow people to order double rooms. Breakfast is insanely overpriced for a city with so many interesting and nice places to eat. I would avoid this, it is not worth the premium over Premier Inn or similar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is warm, welcoming and the staff were delightful. However, after starting there for one night recently, I am inclined to agree with many other reviewers. There are aspects of the hotel that need upgrading: hairdryers, bathroom tiling and showers prime amongst them. Nothing that couldn't be excused. What I found more concerning was my inability to find a clean plate at breakfast and the lukewarm, dry 'hot food' served. There was plenty of breakfast options to choose from, but they were all average. In the evening before, I ordered a simple bowl of chips at Clippers Bar which either the bar or kitchen staff forgot about, as half an hour later I asked what had happened and the order was shouted through to the kitchen again, so it took 3/4 of an hour for a bar snack. We opted not to eat a meal in the Hotel restaurant, however, as the menu looked very expensive for what was offered, and we knew we could find better food at lower prices in the easy to get to city centre. I got the club double on a special offer at £41, and while we got a lot for our money at that price, I wouldn't pay the full asking price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.