We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Manchester to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Copthorne as I was on business in Manchester. The receptionist was friendly on arrival but even though she swiped my credit card, when I came to buy drinks in the bar I was told that I wasn't authorised to add drinks to my room?

My room was on the 2nd floor and I had a great view of Clippers Quay. The rooms are really in need of a refurb (especially the bathroom) although they are very clean and comfortable. My television kept switching itself off which was quite strange....

The bar staff were very friendly and helpful, even under the pressure of having lots of BBC staff to attend to.

The hotel is in a great location should you need to use the metro which is just over the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    234
    282
    171
    86
See reviews for
83
325
48
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here one night at a very good price via Hotels.com including breakfast for two, normally £14.95 each. The room was clean, well furnished and comfortable, although the TV is rather old-fashioned. A bonus is free Sky sports!

The bathroom is in need of updating/redecorating - there was a leak from underneath the sink which left a pool of water whenever we used it. There was also some dirt ingrained in the grout around the bath tiles, and flaking paint around the bath and door.

Breakfast was fine, if a little unimaginative, but my wife asked for and was given freshly-grilled kippers. The restaurant staff seemed to be under pressure because of the sheer number of customers. For this price, however, we'd stay again!

Room Tip: If you stay on a weekend, make sure the local football team (Manchester United) are not at home. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We got this hotel at an excellent price with breakfast, therefore we weren't surprised to find the hotel was quite tired. The rooms are comfortable and clean however are in need of updating.
Breaksfasts were okay.
The hotel was very busy and we were told that because we'd booked through bookings.com and there were no double rooms left, we had to have a twin room.
The receptionist was helpful and knowledgable.
We got the tram in to Manchester which was good, they come every ten minutes, we paid for a return so it was a bit cheaper, I think it was £2.80 each. I've heard its about £5 in a taxi, one way.
Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the quay, it was very peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the quays
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Resonably priced for Match day and really close to the football ground which was a bonus. Staff in the restaurant and bar very friendly. Reception staff could do with some customer service training! The to members of staff I talked to were rather rude.

Room was ok. Both the room and the bathroom need some serious updating. Decor was obviously rather old. Interesting tile pattern in the bathroom! Room was clean. In the morning we were woken up by what sounded like furtniture being moved about upstairs but we were on the top floor. We had bed and breakfast. The manager in the restaurant was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fresh and very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend as we were visiting friends who live just outside Manchester. Rather than get ties up in the central Manchester traffic and pay large amounts for parking we thought the Copthorne would make a good base for us.

We found it very easy to get the Met into central Manchester, certainnly much better than trying to drive or take a taxi, they ran regularly and quite late into the night. Its location also meant when we needed to visit friends the other way we could just jump in the car and drive. There was no match on at Old Trafford otherwise I could imagine it being much busier and maybe not as easy to drive places at game time!

The hotel itself is showing its age a bit although for the price we thought it was till good value! The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the rooms ok and the bed comfortable but not as good as some hotel chains these days.

The bathroom was looking a little warn, although clean and the shower pressure was great, something many hotels seem to lack.

Breakfast was a good selection and as it was included in the rate we thought again it showed good value. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening, although we did have drinks in the bar when we got back late both nights. The drinks were good and seems prices about right the only issue I would say is when it was busy they could have done with another member of staff serving behind the bar!

Overall as long as your not paying to much I think it represents good value for money and location wise is very good with easy access to Manchester via the met while avoiding parking charges!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I arrange events for the company I work for across the country and had arranged an event for 80 of our customers at The Copthorne Hotel.
The night before our event, my colleagues and I stayed in supposedly 'upgraded' rooms which were clean but shabby- each room had mysterious patches in the carpet that looked like someone had tried to remove a stain with a hedge trimmer..

On the day of the event, all seemed to be running smoothly, our first refreshments were served on time (as you would expect) and the hotel's event associate although not the speediest of workers seemed helpful enough. A few minutes before our customers came into the foyer for their second lot of refreshments, I went to make sure that everything was set up and ready to see someone from the hotel just starting to put the cups & saucers out. So whilst helping the hotel staff get the refreshmenst set up, our customers came out for refreshments to find that they weren't ready yet!

An empty trolley was left in the middle of the foyer so our guests were stood around the trolley waiting for their refreshments..

Not a great start but I would of thought that after telling the hotel staff that this wasn't acceptible and that the refreshments & lunch should be ready 10 minutes before the lunch & refreshment times on our agenda that they wouldn't make this same mistake.. every.. single.. time!!!

Not only were they late but set up on a different table each time. At lunch time which was a buffet of carbs, carbs and more carbs the chef had the cheek to go round handing out feedback forms for the hotel to our guests!!

Towards the end of the day, I spoke to the Hotels general manager about the problems I had during the day who instead of taking responsibility for his running of the hotel and asking if there was anything he could do to improve the situation just got angry and guess what.. we haven't heard anything from him since.

Not only has this experience stopped me from arranging another event at any Copthorne Hotels but has potentially put off 80 of our customers who live locally from staying at a Copthorne Hotel.

Who would have thought a simple task like getting refreshments & lunch out on time could be so difficult..

I also found a hair in my pudding in the hotels restaurant but thats another story..

Rant over :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed overnight for a play and sightseeing of Manchester.. the MetroCity tram runs often and straight into Manchester, what a great base for a pair of overnight tourists! We just left our car in the parking lot and bought a DaySaver tram card.

The hotel is a little run down, which was most noticeable in the bathroom fittings and the tv (which was ancient - no browsing menu!). Our room was very clean, and had a gorgeous view over the Quays, full with waterbirds and moody lighting. We didn't dine at the Copthorne, but had the full English breakfast - the food was very freshly made.

We'd definitely stay there again as long as we didn't need to kill a lot of time at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Quayside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.