We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry - Never again (again)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beaucliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beaucliffe Hotel to your Saves list
Beaucliffe Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   254 Eccles Old Road, Salford M6 8ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Salford
South Shields
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sorry - Never again (again)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Having read a few reviews, things did not bode well for our visit (2 days : city break). However, we didn't pay the premium rate, and thought we might get a bargain on a discounted laterooms booking....wrong!
As all have mentioned the hotel is very dated. When we arrived the outside was nothing like the professional photo, with an unkept garden and frontage. Still, we're not snobs and just wanted cheap and clean digs to rest our heads at night. We were in room 18, and were surprised that payment was requested at the start of our stay, before we'd even been given keys to our room (we know why now). The room was very small, old fashioned and worn. The sheets were clean, but really, this was a single room with a double bed plonked in. Cobwebs all over the window, and extensive mold in the bathroom. There was only one bedside cabinet, and no room on the other side to get into bed, meaning one person would need to climb over the other to get out of bed. The bathroom was a bit of a joke, other than the mould, the door was a sliding affair, with large gaps either side. It also swung upwards (quite amusing) if you pushed it the wrong way as there were no sliders retaining the base of the door. Paper thin walls with old fashioned wallpaper, no bedside clock, cramped space (never enough for two persons to move around) and a broken cupboard (which I fixed) and taps that moved out of position when turned on completed the room.
To sum up, its was cheap, but far from cheerful, and in desperate need of a revamp/redecorate and repair. Decent location in Salford, with regular buses to the centre, and enough parking spaces (off road) were the only good points I can think of. Breakfast was passable. If you've booked already, got it cheap, and just use the room for crashing out as we did, then at least you'll get by - but its still pretty damn poor all round and we wouldn't dare come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    18
    14
    15
See reviews for
5
7
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We booked this hotel so that we were on the doorstep for the Trafford Centre and Lego Land the next day. We requested a room to sleep 4, and thats what we got. 4 beds in a room with very little space for anything else.One of the beds didn't even touch the wall. The bedding had been washed however it had stains all over it. The bathroom was tiny and had mould in. It was only because I really needed a shower that i had to use it. We did manage to park the car outside the hotel. This hotel needs a major referbishment. I am not a snob by any standard however even the basic travel lodges would look posh compared to this hotel. The breakfast was ok

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Booked what we thought was a four star hotel - really a poor B&B - tatty accommodation, cramped , tiny shower, filthy carpet - breakfast was ok -

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Last minute business trip to Salford, very few hotels with vacancies, Beaucliffe did at a very reasonable price. Very convenient location just off motorway. Checked in without problem. Room on top flor with 1 single and 1 double bed in, very little room, could only just open shower room door wide enough to get in, walking sideways! Room very cold even though radiator was on (it was extremely cold night outside). Needed PhD in advanced technology to operate TV controls, which I havent got! Breakfast was passable. Overall its what you would expect for the price. Will try to find alternative hotel next time

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My friend booked us a quad room that slept 4 last weekend. It was £22.50 pp including breakfast. The room was horrible with tiled cieling, holes in the beedroom furniture, stained carpet, mould in the bathroom and a dirty toliet. My bed did not even touch the wall, there was a large gap behind.
This hotel needs closing with a health warning. The only plus was the bedding did look clean unlike the bathroom.
Breakfast was either a cooked breakfast or beans and toast. The breakfast was ok - i ate toast and had a cup of tea. Next time ill sleep in the car!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield. England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We booked this hotel as all hotels in the area were full due to the rugby final at Old Trafford. The hotel does have its own car park which is possibly the only positive point. It is very dated and does need a major refurb. However the bedroom was clean and the staff were helpful.
The bed was so thin and creaky, the room lighting was quite dark and in general the rooms are very basic, it was ok for just one night.
I also found it strange that breakfast finished at 9am on a Sunday morning. Most hotels serve until 11ish on a Sunday, hence why we did not make breakfast.
If you need to stay in Salford, I would recommend you shop around and book somewhere at Salford Quays.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

It is a very basic hotel but rates are low. My room had just enough space for a cot. There was no chair / table. Breakfast was okay. The best part is that it is right near the main road but very quiet. Building is a little old and floors do creak.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaucliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaucliffe Hotel

Address: 254 Eccles Old Road, Salford M6 8ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaucliffe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beaucliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaucliffe Hotel Salford, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaucliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.