We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Quays | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed for a one night stop over, excellent service throughout. Good location in the Quay, for bars and nearby restaurants. 5 mins of the motorway junction, will stay again here, and highly recommend for any stay in Manchester or travelling through.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    330
    138
    32
    23
See reviews for
173
210
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great position in the Salford Quays development and is modern, clean and comfortable, and close to all the amenities. The wifi was fine, and the bathroom perfectly, functional. A great place for a business stay, and fine for a couple of days.

However, I always like to have a full breakfast when I'm away on business, and this was the worst breakfast I've had in the last 4 months. The choice of hot food is limited to sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and toast. The sausages were appalling quality, over seasoned and revolting. The scrambled egg was set too hard and full of liquid, and and the butter for the toast was always too hard. Not a pleasant experience unfortunately. Please extend your menu to include at least bacon and tomatoes! Thanks

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Michael T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

At Holiday Inn Express our breakfast consists of a wide range of continental items and 3 hot options (Scrambled egg, baked beans and sausages.) Unlike our competitors our breakfast is inclusive in the room rate! I am sorry that your breakfast experience left a bad impression on your stay where other aspects were great which you have mentioned.

I hope if you will choose to stay with us again on your next stop in Manchester.
Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Tom Clarke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in the hotel late on Wednesday night as there had been problems with the train and was met by a very friendly lady who checked me and my colleague in and made sure we was okay. The rooms were clean and the bed comfy (the pillows were amazing!) and I managed to get a great sleep. The next morning we took advantage of the free breakfast which was a great touch. It was my first time staying in a Holiday Inn Express and it certainly wont be my last. I was very impressed by how friendly and approachable the staff were and everyone had a smile on their face. The hotel was a in a great location and was perfect for our trade show at Old Trafford. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in Manchester,

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Fran S,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review! I’m pleased that you enjoyed your first experience with Holiday Inn Express. Are you an IHG Rewards Member? If not please enquire about joining for FREE when making your next reservation with our central reservations team and enjoy the benefits though-out the IHG brand!

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

as per normal with Holiday inns this place is well looked after and clean! the views over the quays are lovely in a morning, and the free brekkies are a great start to the day! found all the staff knowledgeable, friendly and helpful! I can recommend this hotel!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Nikki F,

Thank you taking the time to leave your review. I’m pleased that you had a good time with us.
Unlike our competitors our Express Start Breakfast is included in the price! I’m pleased that you enjoyed yours.

I look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned from here after staying for 3 nights as he was running in the Manchester Marathon on sun 19th April. The staff are all very friendly and the room was upto a good standard.

The hotel is situated in a fantastic location with lots to do in the area. Old Trafford is a short walk away where you can book a tour round the stadium or attend a game. There is a nice outlet place a few mins walk away called the Lowry Outlet centre which has lots of small shops to look round as well as plenty of nice places to eat such as Bella Italia, Nando's and the Harvester to name a few. Near Salford Quays team station which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel there is a Frankie & Benny's, Chiquito's and an Indian restaurant. So there's plenty of places to eat. The city centre is also only a short tram ride away.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and am already thinking of going back for another long weekend and staying here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear RhiBennett,

Thank you for your lovely review! I’m pleased that you found our staff friendly and the room met your expectations.

It’s always great to hear positive feedback of the hotel and the local area – I look forward to seeing you at the hotel again.

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here in April, 2015 for 4 nights. The purpose of our stay was a soccer game at Old Trafford, so because of the ideal location of this hotel and it's proximity to the stadium we chose to stay here. The hotel is nice, although a little outdated. It could use a little updating, and the elevator could use some as well. It felt like we were in a room with a jackhammer each time we used it. When we checked in, they had lost our pre-paid reservation. However, the lady at the check-in was very helpful, and made arrangements and we didn't have a thing to worry about. We had breakfast with our reservation, it was pretty good. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel, and in the room was a great thing to have. Overall our stay here was perfect for what we needed!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear KDouglas17,

Thank you for your comments. I’m pleased to hear that you found our hotel was PERFECT for what you needed!

The parts needed for the lifts are getting manufactured as we speak and should be getting fixed shortly – I apologise if this caused any inconvenience to your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to visit Manchester for the first time for a long weekend. Finding the hotel by car and parking was simple - plenty of space. First impressions great - a really good spot. From the hotel we walked to the tram (to visit Manchester city center), walked to the Lowry art gallery, walked to the childrens play area across the bridge, and drove to the Trafford center. A very warm welcome and quick check in. Clean and functional room. Nice comfy bed and good air con. Toiletries were provided. The breakfast is quite basic but perfectly adequate. We were offered newspapers and were given advice on allergies. Good service from the staff here. My eldest son (only 2 years old) loved it here. You can feed the ducks and have nice walks to the many eateries nearby. Plenty in Manchester to do. We will return next year to see some more. Not 5 stars simply because we had to pay to park our car at the hotel. I really dislike this - despite it being common these days - but it needn't be!

Room Tip: A room facing the water looks nice lit up at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are situated in a great location on the waterfront in the heart of Salford Quays with plenty to do and see – which sounds like you took full advantage of!

Our car parking is chargeable at £3 per car per night, which is very competitive to the other hotels in the area.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Address: Waterfront Quays | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £3.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.