We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute budget booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Quays | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“last minute budget booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who quickly checked us in. . The room itself was large and spacious and extremely clean upon arrival. The building is lovely, with the old brickwork and windows still in tact. We had a very peaceful nights sleep and were not bothered at all by any outside noise which I noticed was mentioned in other reviews.The location is superb. We will definitely be back to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following on from your recent stay at the Holiday inn Express - manchester Salford Quays.

I was glad to read that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and that the team were pleasant and friendly, also that the hotel facilities met your requirements.

I hope that if you visit Manchester again that you will choose to stay with us.

Regards,
Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    295
    127
    31
    22
See reviews for
156
183
48
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel was clean, we had a family room for 3 adults, however they had only provided 2 towels, mugs etc, but they quickly sorted this out. Very friendly staff.
They perhaps could have had extra staff on at night as lots of people coming in after the Robbie concert having drinks etc and not enough staff to clear tables,or serve on bar.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing special, luckily we did not need to queue at 9am, but as we checked out at 10am there was a massive queue into the reception area.
Good links for trams to all areas and plenty place to eat and drink nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Salford Quays Manchester.

I am glad that the hotel team were helpful and friendly and that they also were able to resolve very quickly the number of items required for your room.

Thank you again for your comments

Regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year (Oct)

I got a parking invoice from Parking eye who run the car park for Holiday inn. For every parking ticket that parking eye issue , Holiday Inn get paid a kick back of £25.00

I have now received court papers which i am now defending

I complained to Jane who said the was nothing they could do as the it was in the court system and it would be up to a judge to decide who was right. However this is plainly not true and Holiday inn as the principal could get this stopped

So Jane has done nothing to help a genuine customer and seems complicit with letting a parking company put of customers

Therefore do not stop at this hotel if you have a car. The hotel itself was ok etc but this experience will mean i will never use them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Paolomarshall,

Following on from your recent review. if you could be so kind as to contact me directly at the hotel at your conveniance as I do not have any records by email or letter of your query registured under your Trip Advisor name.

We do indeed have a controlled car park which is reserved for the use of our guests. This is clearly shown throughout the car parking area and is designed to ensure that our guests are always able to find a space at busy times, as we are situated close to many tourist attractions and businesses within Salford Quays.

As the fine was issued to you in October 2012 by Parking Eye and you did not respond to notification letters or contact myself at the time the situation has indeed escalated. In the event of any concerns or issues with our parking arrangements we do encourage our guests / visitors to contact us directly at the earliest opportunity to enable us to work with you to resolve the situation to everyone’s satisfaction.

If you do choose to respond to this I will look to help and assist you in this matter.

Regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for just one night. This was our first visit to Manchester & to be honest this was much better than I expected. The area has obviously undergone huge investment & improvement over the past few years & is quite impressive.
The hotel is set right next to the water opposite a watersports centre. We stayed on the 6th floor which afforded a good view out over the water. The room was pretty much as you would expect, it was clean, tidy & functional although the bed was a bit small.
The location is quiet yet convenient for most things. It only took about 15-20mins to get here from the M6. The nearest tram stop is about a 5 minute walk & the Lowry outlet mall is also just a short walk away. If you're in Manchester to watch United play this would be a very convenient place to stay as you can see the stadium from the hotel.
We only had breakfast in the hotel which was fine if you get there early. The food selection is pretty good bearing in mind that they only offer a complimentry continental breakfast. The service area is small & can get very congested especially when people are waiting for toast as this leads to queues forming pretty quickly.
All in all this is a clean, tidy & functional hotel in a very convenient location.

Room Tip: Get down for breakfast early before the queues start forming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Manchester Salford Quays.

It was good to read that the hotel exceeded your expectations, the room you stayed in met your needs and that you were able to reach all of your locations with no hassle. We are close to the motorway and also tran links in ot teh city centre.

Breakfast consists of the continental offering plus a selection of hot options to choose from. We have incorporated branded items in to the selection such as Muller and Kelloggs and by doing this offering a selection of items to suit all.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here one night for Robbie Williams concert firstly too far away from Ethiad stadium trying to get a tram there on busy times no hope and took us 2 hours to return back to hotel ...although the staff at tram stations are very good at sorting out the crowds and run
it quite smoothly.The hotel was ok and rooms ok however 3 of us shared a room there was only 2 mugs and 3 teabags so we only could have one drink ! BREAKFAST well if hotel is busy be prepared to queue ! and when you do finally get there not much selection in a small cramped space ! Also they must have been aware how busy they were going to be but only one member of staff trying to top up breakfast , clear tables and deal with people complaining ! Look at your staffing levels at peak periods ! Its a shame really because the hotel is in a nice setting and it was lovely sitting outside having a drink from the bar !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following on from your recent stay at the hotel.

Following on from attending the Concert in Manchester, it was nice to read that the staff at the tram stops was able to help and assist as at busy events such as this one there can be delays getting to various locations due to the thousands of people descending from the stadium at any one time.

The hotel always prepares itself for peak times such as this and as well as advertising around the hotel and personally informing guest of busy times for breakfast, unfortunately we can't dictate when guests can come down for breakfast so there will be times when the breakfast areas does get busy. The staff are all trained to deal with these busy times and work hard to ensure each guest receives the same high consistency of service.

The hotel is located on the Quays waterfront so when the weather is nice it is a relaxing way to sit and have a drink on the terrace.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Not easy to find but nice location.

The room was ok but bedding didn't smell fresh...in fact it's smelt of food/grease.

£3 to park which wasn't advertised before stay.

Staff very friendly but the fun started at breakfast. Queue trailed into reception area, delays with hot food meant a wait of around 40 minutes . Good job I'm not diabetic.

Poor value, wouldn't return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following on from your recent stay.

Car parking charges are advertised on the booking website, if you could let me have the details of your booking method I will look in to as all channels should have this advertised.

I was sorry to read of your comments referring to your bedroom, if you had of informed one of the team this could have been addressed and rectified for you, again if you can send me details of your room and booking I look in to.

There are times when breakfast does get busy and this why, situated around the hotel - reception desk and outside each lift on each floor we advise of busy and quiet times. The hotel team also communicate this information to guests at busy times. Unfortunately we are not able to stop guests from choosing their time to come down for breakfast. The team work exceptionally hard during these times to ensure all guests are looked after.

Thank you for your feedback, your comments are appreciated.

Regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Situated in Salford Quays this is a very pleasant area to stay in. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The rooms were clean & comfortable. The added extras such as ice machine, tea and coffee making facilities and free breakfast are a very pleasant surprise. The low car parking cost of £3 per 24hrs is also an added bonus when staying close to Manchester city centre. Would certainly recommend and use again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneOmahony, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Manchester Salford Quays.

It was great to read that you had a great stay with us and that the hotel met your requirements and that the team were helpful and friendly.

It is always encouraging to read positive feedback and the team pride themselves on providing great service.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Jane O'Mahony
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Address: Waterfront Quays | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £3.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.