We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel in a superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Quays | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Kinsale, Co. Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A superb hotel in a superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our initial contact with the Reception staff was exactly as we hoped for. They were welcoming, very helpful and efficient.On the few later occassions when we had contact with them we found them to be consistently so very good. They were clearly very well trained and enjoyed their work. We rate the Reception Team alone 11 out of 10. They were that good!
Our Room was also what we hoped for: very comfortable, clean and clearly serviced to a high standard.
The location of the hotel was excellent for so many of the local attractions,e.g. the Lowry Centre, the Media City and the Imperial War Museum. All were within a few minutes walking distance.
Car parking in front of the hotel was good and there were plenty of spaces.
Breakfast was good and there was plenty to choose from.
Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear SailorSam2010,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

I am so glad that your welcome was what you expected from our brand of Holiday Inn Express, and more so that on every occasion that you needed to speak to someone at the reception desk the team had knowledge and could answer all your questions – your rating of the team is very much appreciated and I will ensure that each member of the team is made aware of your comments.

On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay as without your comments we cannot ensure that we always give the very best customer service. We also look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel the next time you visit Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    330
    138
    32
    23
See reviews for
173
210
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for two Nights and found the hotel to be a very well run hotel. Rooms are modern and kept very well. Breakfast is very nice and plentifull which is good if you are staying for a match. Views can be very good as well. especially if u are on the side of the hotel facing Old Trafford. Staff are friendly and very helpfull. Old Trafford is only 15 minutes walk. Only downside is that it can be a bit pricey especially when man utd are playing at home

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Tully86,
Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.
Our location to Old Trafford Football Stadium home of Manchester United Football Club makes us the idea hotel when visiting the stadium or attending one of the many home matches. Some of our rooms actually have a fantastic view of the stadium itself.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester or when you next come to see Manchester United play at home.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights for meetings in Manchester. Its like most Holiday inns, generally clean and tidy and the rooms are comfortable. The location is right on the quays, which is a pleasant place to be, although its not overly busy midweek and a little souless. That said its a good location for trams and getting into the city.
The breakfast in the hotel was dissapointing, all seemed reheated and a bit grubby, so much so that we missed breakfast on the second day and ate elsewhere. The staff were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Moscar77,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

I am sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy our Express Breakfast and would like to speak to you directly concerning this aspect of your review. We are constantly reviewing our services and products and would value your personal view on this area. I would ask that you contact me directly at the hotel or via email on gec@expressmanchester.co.uk to discuss more.

May I thank you for taking the time to make a review about our hotel and I look forward to speaking to you.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was my first stay in a Holiday Inn and I must say I was very impressed. The decor was better than I had expected and the room was very good - all that could have improved it was a magnifying mirror in the bathroom for shaving/make-up.

I would say the restaurant was ok - perfectly acceptable but nothing to rave over and the service was a bit erratic

I must also say a very big thank you to Tanya on reception who gave 5 star service, calling local hairdressers to help me find GHD hair-straighteners and ascertaining opening times. She then also emailed me a copy of my bill because I had managed to lose it on the way home!!

Overall, based on this stay I would not hesitate to stay in another Holiday Inn

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear AJR493,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Ideally situated for The Lowry Centre which hosts fabulous theatre space, exhibitions and refreshment areas. Hotel is clean, reasonably priced and offers ample choice of breakfast products. If you've been in one Holiday Inn you've probably been in them all - standard twin bed layout with en suite shower room, tv, hairdryer and kettle. Double glazing kept all the noise of the car park out - but the hotel is situated in a very quiet out of town centre location. Tram into Manchester is a 5 minute walk up a very safe footpath. Sadly they now charge to park your car - oh well that's progress for you!

Room Tip: first floor even numbers overlook the car park and you can smell smoke if you open the windows when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Bridgyboo,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

i stayed here on a bed an breakfast deal as i was watching a gig at the salford quays venue.

it was a good basic hotel with a reasonable breakfast and helpful staff. for the price it was not too bad. but as a solo traveler rooms are always more expensive.

Room Tip: the rooms are much the same, higher up better as quieter is always my motto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Fergus Cameron M,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Superb quiet location, helpful staff and a clean, comfortable, well appointed room made this a great place to stay when in the area on business. And for once I got a good night's sleep! (I so rarely sleep well in hotels as so many give you duvets that are far too thick for the hot rooms. This room had windows that could open, air conditioning you could turn off and duvets that were just right). The only reason I gave it a very good, not excellent rating was because the breakfast was disappointing. The range of food on offer was reasonably extensive but, as is so often the case in hotels, the ingredients used were cheap and the whole area, including the tables in the dining area was quite dirty with tables not being cleared / wiped down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Heather1807,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

In respect of your breakfast experience, this is an area in which we are focusing on at the moment, please be assured that your comments provided will be passed onto the team currently working on this project.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,
Mark Thompson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Address: Waterfront Quays | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £3.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.