We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Quays | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

A modern hotel is in a good location, overlooking the water, The staff are pleasant and helpful staff , the rooms are clean and have the usual HI Express layout . Snacks and sweets are can be purchased and a microwave is also available which is handy if you want to warm up food etc . The restaurant can get very busy in the morning but not so you struggle to find a table. The hotel is a five minute walk from the tram stop which runs regularly into Manchester city centre , also in walking distance are a selection of restaurants, shops and Old Trafford football ground. Overall a nice place to stay and pleasant area to wander around in the evening

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Sir/madam,

we would like to thank you for your above posted review, and are pleased to hear that you enoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    330
    138
    32
    23
See reviews for
173
210
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My sister & I stayed here for one night after seeing family we really loved the hotel & staff was brill you are next to Lowery centre near trams to take you to Manchester will stay ther again keep up the good work excellent

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we would like to thank you for your above posted review,

we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, and that along with our hotel the staff too made your stay enjoyable, we do have a good team who do try to make everyones stay as enjoyable as yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I booked this hotel back in March 2011 (family room) after reading very favourable reviews on TA. We were going to see a show at the Lowry theatre, therefore decided to stay in the Salford Quays for a change from the city centre. We did arrive early (about 12ish) and was told that the 'family room' wasn't yet ready, which was fair enough as check in wasn't until 2pm. We arrived back after 3pm and checked into our room - 207, 'overlooking the quay' as the receptionist pointed out. Only for the fact that we had to be out again for 4pm to be at the theatre, I would have gone back down to complain about our 'family room' which was basically a double with a sofa bed wedged right by the window, which you would have to climb over to get to the window to have a look at the view of the quay! Also, it left no room for the chair to be pulled out in front of the dressing table/mirror.
However, all of these slight inconveniences paled into insignificance when we finally returned into our room much later after theatre and meal out. As we tried to get to sleep, the racket from the airconditioning fans outside kept us awake for hours. Obviously, I do realise that I should have made a complaint at some point which with regret I didn't.
I booked this hotel weeks ago, and wouldn't have minded so much if it was a last minute booking, and that they just squeezed us in to the last available room they had left. Also, other people have commented on room 207 here regarding the air con fans, so it's not as if it comes as a total surprise to the hotel that customers leave negative comments because of this. We also paid £112.00 for the room, which compared to other HIEX I have stayed is quite expensive.
I would like to point out though that all the staff were very friendly, but I'm afraid that due to my experience I will not be recommending this hotel to other people.

Room Tip: Anywhere higher than the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

we would like to thank you for your above posted review.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here, as mentioned if you had come to reception our team would have made every effort to assist you by moving your rooms.
In regards to the air con fans, this is a problem that we are looking into and trying to find a solution to the problem.

Our rates do vary from day to day, and there are often special offer rates that are available which does make your booking cheaper than our standard rates(terms and conditions apply). Unfortunately due to the time of your booking there was a high demand for hotels in Manchester therefore our rate was higher than usual, although we were still one of the cheapest options available in Manchester.

We do hope that next time you come to Manchester you would consider reusing us, so we can prove to you that we constantly strive for improvement from guest feedback.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed for Take That concert at Manchester city ground. Good location for trams to get elsewhere.

Rooms were very clean. Didn't have toiletries etc in but if you call down you could get them.

Breakfast was alright. Wouldn't have minded except it stated hot breakfast which was actually just sausage and egg lol but croissants cereal toast and juice were all there. It's a self clean up breakfast too so you take your own plates away.

Staff were all lovely except one moody early 20s lad on reception, strangely grumpy and none proffesional. Nay mind.

Would stay here again and not too bad £145 for a room for 3 ppl.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your posted review.

We are pleased to hear that during your stay most things met to your satisfaction.

In regards to the breakfast a few changes will be taking place over the next month, regarding the options available and also how it is advertised within the hotel.

We thank you for your feedback as only with this can we strive to make things better.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Everything about this hotel was perfect, staff, service, location. Ideal for old trafford, and tram at your door step. Rooms spotless and 32in tv in all rooms. would recommend this hotel to anyone, Breakfast included was perfect self service and although they did not cook evening meals we could order take away and eat it in the dining area perfect. The only complaint would be that a noisey generator was over head our room at the top floor but we forgot about it after a while so a room on the lower floor might be quieter.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we would like to thank you for your above posted review, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay in our property, and that everything met with your expectations.

the 32 inch tvs are a recent addition to this hotel, in a constant improvement scheme within the property.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed on the Royal Wedding Day in late April. Fabulous location for Manchester and Imperial Museum North. Easy to eat out in the evenings, the LOwry outlet centre is 5 mins walk across the bridge and alond the quay. Hotel clean and lovely staff. Breakfast hectic due to the hotel having 2 coaches full of young footballers staying overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we would like to thank you for reviewing our property, as only with your feedback can we strive to make things better.

We are pleased to hear that everything was ok with your stay.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We checked in only for a night with our two kids. The location is really wonderful right next to the quayside, man u stadium and even a shopping mall!It was peaceful and a great sight to wake up to and just walk around.
The hotel staff was very efficient right from check-in to check-out. The breakfast spread was good with breads,yoghurts and fruits too; although there was not good black tea available and the scrambled eggs served were too dry!Also the ice machine didi not work!
Anyway,It was value for money costing a mere £55 for the four of us for the stay and breakfast.
Tip-Incase you check-in late there is a Subway close by(at the Shell gas station) which is reasonably priced and open 24hrs.

Room Tip: ask for the quay side facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your above posted review.

We are very proud of our location and are glad that you found the area as nice as we do.
Inre gards to the staff, we are proud of our team and the effort they put into making your stay an enjoyable one.
If during breakfast you did not find something to your satisfaction, please just mention it to any of our team, and they will do everything they can do to rectify it for you.

In regards to the ice machine, we are currently waiting for it to be repaired but in the meantime we could have provided you with ice from the bar.

We hope that this does not effect any future decisions you may make when looking for future stays in the Salford Quays area, and we look forward to wlecoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Address: Waterfront Quays | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £3.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.