We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Thank you to Teresa and Louise for all your help with the Piccadilly Radio 40th birthday reunion. Many thanks to the restaurant manager and all the staff who were fantastic. Everything was perfect. Couldn't have chosen a better place. A million thanks to all of you for helping to make the night so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    233
    58
    19
    16
See reviews for
62
239
26
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

It's a Holiday Inn, so you know what you're going to get: the rooms are large and comfortable with all the facilities you need (but don't even glance at the minibar fridge or the computer will charge you for it) and a good ensuite bathroom with bath and shower. What set this Holiday Inn apart for me, was the friendly efficient staff - from a big smiley welcome from reception as I walked through the door, to the excellent bar and waiting staff (shout out to Brenda, Charlotte and Zoe in particular). It's right alongside the BBC, ITV and independent studios of MediaCity (15 minute Metro ride from Manchester Piccadilly mainline station) and within an easy stroll of The Lowry, Imperial War Museum and loads of restaurants. For those who care, a soccer stadium called Old Trafford is also within walking distance (home, I believe, to one of Manchester's football teams). I've already booked my next visit.

Room Tip: Higher the better to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise J, Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback from your recent stay with us

I will certainly pass on your comments to Brenda, Charlotte, Zoe and the rest of the team to keep up the good work!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

With thanks

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very nice, clean, comfortable hotel. Traveled there with family. Enjoyed our stay. Lovely views of Media City from upper floors. Great breakfast. Would definitely stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

stayed at the holiday inn media city for weekend fantastic hotel rooms food staff was lovely. beautyfull hotel big thank you to teresa louise and all the staff for making our weekend so enjoyable.will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a find on the outskirts of Manchester. Good location for the city centre via a 15 minute tram ride (£3.00 return) easy 20 minute walk to the Man United ground and the Trafford centre is a easy 10 minute bus ride costing £2.20 one way The hotel was great, good size rooms and excellent en-suites. Loved the big shower head. Plenty for breakfast which was fresh and staff happy to make additional items such as porridge. Staff prepared to move on smokers outside the main hotel door. Car park close to hotel and the area is fantastic. Plenty of eating and drinking venues within media city and the Lowery outlet which is a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Gym on site but no swimming pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
125Anne_p,

Thank You for your wonderful feedback and hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a trip to Manchester as a present and booked into this hotel.
The confirmation showed that the rooms booked were a double and a twin. I phoned their agent Lastminute.com and was told that a person called Tanya at the hotel had changed the booking to two double rooms.
When we arrived at the hotel I was told that the booking had not been corrected and we would have to take the rooms booked.
So thank you Tanya and Lastminute.com for your caring and considerate service, I wish.

Room Tip: Turn the air conditioning down to minimum as soon as you arrive or you could have a very hot night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Newbury Roy,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that you encountered at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.

Thank you for your constructive feedback for which I am investigating the details you mention.

I hope this will not dissuade you from staying with us and the brand in the future.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here and went to see Manchester United play. The hotel is in an amazing location right by the BBC studios and Mediacityuk tram about a minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms were great and modern with everything we needed: safe, desk, hair dryer, tea/coffee, free wifi. The bathrooms were nice and clean - the shower was powerful and bath the perfect length with no stupid taps in the way at the ends so you could totally lay back and relax. The staff were friendly and were happy to move us when we realised our first room was a twin and not a double.
In terms of getting to the football, the location couldn't have been better. We got the tram there but realised on the way back that the walk was just as quick if you go over the bridge near the Lowry outlet.
All in all a great hotel in a great spot with lots of restaurants and a few shops, with easy links to the city and main surrounding attractions. We will definitely be returning and recommending to others!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Thank You for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.

Great to hear that you found the location was very accessible to all locations in the area including Manchester United, which for all you followers of football offers great views from the bedroom corridors.

Keep supporting Manchester United! And with this hope to see you return to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.