We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Salford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Recently stayed here for a couple of nights had a brilliant stay all the staff were really helpful, the food was to a good standard and the room was brilliant getting upgraded Vincent was extremely friendly on breakfast and made us feel welcome overall brilliant time

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Lee D,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Great to hear your feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. Hope to have you return and stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    215
    54
    16
    15
See reviews for
57
215
25
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed over for a conference event, need to eat at Hotel as limited restaurants near by, food was very good, room and view excellent, very quiet area of an evening. Parking reasonable as you get a discount.

Room Tip: Great location for Media City, Lowry and tram to Manchester on door step. Slowest lift in the world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
ValJ,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK,

Thank You for your recent feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and dining with us.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was given this room as we had a company conference in the area and i usually think chain hotels could do with doing more of an effort as they are turning into fast food chains whereby everywhere is identical, but i was pleasantly surprised by the quality and luxury of this one.

i was on the 12th floor so the view over salford quays and more importantly mediacityuk was amazing! you looked over the BBC building and over towards the lowry so the view in the evening was great!

the room was very clean and the bed was lovely! the bathroom was also well laid out with interesting green uplighting (in keeping with the company brand logo), an added and welcome bit of security is that you couldnt go in the lift unless you had your door pass so passers by couldnt walk into and go up the floors!

i didnt have food here but i have spoken to others who said the breakfast was very good as well. (i wasn't feeling too good so avoided food ;) )

the downside parking is in the nearby multi storey and it cost 7 pounds to get out after an overnight stay.

there is a tram stop within 2 mins walk of the front door so you can get a tram ride into the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
tomosbowen,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Thank You for your great feedback and glad to hear we are somewhat individual in our hotel approach to our guests.

Hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.

We appreciate you have a choice, therefore are delighted you have chosen us.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked this through the top secret hotels on last minute.com. I have to say I was extremely happy with the value, comfort, location and service. We only stayed for 1 night as we were going to the comedy store in the town centre. It was easy and quick for us to check in and we were able to catch the metro less than a 2 minute walk away. Really convenient and would stay again if going into town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
ClaireO,

Thank You for your recent review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us here, on your recent date night. The hotel is convenient for getting into Manchester City Centre via tram and taxi.
Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

First time visiting the holiday inn at media city, location perfect for the Lowry and lovely views at night. Booked an executive room which was quite disappointing for the money. Room quite basic. Bed and room temperature comfy though. Bath very small and shower flooded the room when we used it.
However the check out was a poor experience. I had booked the night away for me and my partner for his birthday which I paid for as a surprise. When checking out the woman at the desk said aloud the price of room bill rather than discreetly passing the bill over. At other hotels they would normally pass the bill to you, ask you to check amount and sign however this did not happen. I found this to be quite a poor service and embarrassing as it was meant to be a birthday present.
The location is the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
1 cheekymonkey 1,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that you encountered at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us, therefore I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. The details within your review have been investigated and I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Despite my room, breakfast and evening meal £154, being paid by my company I was refused a room because I wouldn't provide a swipe of my card for "extras". I have stayed at this hotel at least 20 times and never provided a swipe of my card. The attitude of the staff was rude and unco-operative. Despite being a priority club platinum member which one of the benefits of this level is not to have to provide card details, the staff refused to accept this and even stated " you are only a basic member". When I complained a few days later I was told that the staff acted professionally and a lack of evidence meant it would not be taken further. Needless to say I will not stay at this hotel again and my company will not use this chain again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank You for your feedback which has been detailed in great length in previous correspondences.

Yours Sincerely,

Teresa Hatton
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here one night when we were visiting for one night prior to the filming of a TV show.

If you're there for a TV show or visiting BBC/ITV etc then you can't get any closer - the hotel is actually on top of Dock10 which is where the studios are located. it is also a short walk (<5 mins) from The Lowry and the Imperial War Museum North. Plus there is a tramstop into the centre of the city. Very well located.

It is a new and modern 16 storey tower. The lobby and bar area on the ground is modern, clean and welcoming. The restaurant on the 1st floor is good but we only ate breakfast there, which was a good buffet.

The staff were perfectly efficient however they were a bit stiff and starchy.

The room was very good and spacious with quality furnishings (including desk), an excellent full-height window providing excellent views out across the city. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. The bed was comfortable.

+ve points:
1. location
2. excellent lighting
3. good blackout curtains (but see below)
4. excellent views
5. spacious and comfortable

-ve points
1. weird green LED under sink in the bathroom which (due to glass bathroom door window) bathed the whole room in a green glow - with no apparent switch to turn it off
2. awful wifi service - ALL IHG hotels I've stayed in have dreadful wifi (restricted to max 1mb even with the pay-for premium service) - as usual I was able to ignore the wifi and use 4g instead (50mb)

Room Tip: Great view from higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
MAR-AM-UK,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. Thank You for all the points you mention which are great for all future guests to view and assist them in their stay.

Hope that you can return to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.