We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great value - terrible shower though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Salford
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really great value - terrible shower though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday night ahead of a client appearing on BBC Breakfast the next morning. A friendly and efficient check in from Jess was really good and the room itself was spacious, extremely well laid out and had a giant glass window offering a great view of Media City and Manchester.

The restaurant was shut, it being Sunday, but the bar offered a great value menu and friendly staff including a very cute barman from Limerick who was very chatty and welcoming. Can't fault the bar service at all and the food was very nice and arrived quick.

My ONLY gripe is the shower - there was almost no pressure, which meant I had to basically press myself against the wall to enjoy a shower. Considering how new the hotel is, I was surprised the shower was so poor. The bathroom as a whole was a little pokey to be honest but clean.

Overall, a great stay but was really let down by the lack of a decent shower, which surely isn't difficult to ensure?

Room Tip: The view is good so ask for a high room so you can enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
JonWeir76,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Jess and Shane say hello and thank you for their feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    215
    54
    16
    15
See reviews for
57
216
25
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

great base for a short business stay in manchester. excellent reception staff, very efficient and friendly and a good bar. breakfast is ok/good and fast. decent value and an easy choice for regular manchester trips.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views over old trafford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Doug S,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from a three night fantastic stay at the holiday inn media city the staff are really friendly and helpful especially Gito who couldn't do enough for us we stayed around media city most of the time and feel really chilled the weather was fantastic so most afternoons we ended up at the dock bar which on Friday was buzzing the room was lovely and really big it was also spotless breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice even for the most fussy people all in all a brilliant stay will most certainly be back

Room Tip: We had an executive room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Jennybee,

Thank You for your lovely comments based on your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. We will pass on your good wishes to Ciro whom you have mentioned.

With Kind Regards

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall, this hotel was lovely. Firstly, we had trouble finding this. Hotel and drove around media city a few times before finally seeing the sign at the top of the building. Parking is not attached to the hotel. you park in the multi story car park but the hotel does validate your ticket so you get it cheaper. We had a bit of trouble initially trying to use the lift as they do not move unless you use your key card. We did use the key card but still didn't move, eventually we got up to our room. Our room was beautiful, spacious and very clean. Very comfortable bed! Staff very helpful and friendly. First time in ages we have no children with us, no reason to wake up early so looking forward to staying in bed. 6:40am the fire alarm went off. We shot out of bed and got dressed as the message on the alarm said to wait in room and more information would follow. We sat there waiting for more information but non came....after being woken up early we decided we would check out as now we was awake, we couldn't get back to sleep (plus we were fully dressed). Upon checking out we was expecting the staff to apologies for a false alarm or explanation of what.happened. Fair enough if there had been a fire, we would be very grateful for the wake up but we don't even know the reason for this alarm and why it just stopped with no further information. Please also note that they take £50 swipe on a debit card in case you use the in room mini bar so bare in mind you need an additional £50 for this hotel. Would stop here again if we head back that way as the area is lovely and convenient walking distance to the Lowry outlet, theatre and cinema.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I'm very impressed with this hotel, as it does everything it needs to do at a good price and with good customer service. We booked two rooms - one executive and one standard - and found both excellent. The executive rooms have free mineral water, free extra toiletries and an even better shower - but that's it.

Rooms are well equipped, well air-conditioned and quiet. Do avail yourselves of the pillow service to get pillows that are just right - a nice idea. The hotel is pet-friendly but does charge extra if you bring a pet along.

The buffet breakfast is plentiful and of reasonable quality.

I'd be happy to stay here again, on either business or pleasure. Front of house staff are excellent, as are the staff in the restaurant.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
hdoddsSevenoaksUK ,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Thank You for your lovely comments based on your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here while filming at BBC so location was ideal Direct tram link from Manchester Picadilly so very convenient. Rooms were first class. Breakfast was adequate, though I would have preferred cups not mugs and tea and coffee service. Food in the bar was excellent. Only drawback, I asked for a large glass of Rose and was served the remnants of 3 different bottles! I would not have known about this but as there was no table service and despite me being only customer, I had to go to Bar to order it. Perhaps more training required as staff were friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aprosser,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Thank You for your feedback which I appreciate and will ensure staff training takes place with immediate effect, as this is not how we look after our guests here at the hotel. We pride ourselves on first class service and what you received is not. If you are ever wishing to return please do email me.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I did work for IHG previously before moving to another company In a senior position. I have stayed in many hundreds of hotels over the years, including scores of Holiday Inns. I have to say that, without exception, this was the best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. It is helped by a great location, but, credit where it is due, Teresa, the GM, keeps a beautiful hotel. The cleanliness, tidiness and customer service were right out of the top drawer, and the breakfast was excellently presented. Top marks all round, I am certainly looking forward to my next visit, which can't come soon enough.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell,I don't think there were any rooms to avoid, as the hotel is so new and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Bill,

Many Thanks for your kind comments. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to us here at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.

With Kind Regards

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.