We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stay in busy Manchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for a stay in busy Manchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This isn't the best location for an evening in the city centre, but it is a pretty good one. Plagued with wanting to stay the same weekend as Robbie Williams, hotel prices soared, and I'm pleased to say this one did not.

While the location means you need a taxi to the city centre (which will set you back £15-£20), it means when you're hungover the next day - you're nice and close to the Trafford Centre for a bit of light shopping! Which was very good for us!!

The service was very good though, my only niggle is that room service were a bit keen, and knocked a few times (four) prior to checkout time.

Room Tip: You don't have to use your room card to power the hotel electricity - just use any plastic (rewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Paul P,

Many thanks for the feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. To get the best deals view the Holiday Inn website and best to come when there are no concerts taking place in Manchester.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    234
    58
    19
    16
See reviews for
62
241
26
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
thurrock
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

What can I say. Love Manchester and I have visited and stayed in a few establishments, but oh god this one. Just don't go there or if you do proceed with caution.

You cannot park outside in the fear of getting a hefty parking ticket. People who live in this area tell me they are fed up and I don't blame them.

The staff seem to be stuck at the desk. I had to get my own luggage out without anybody asking to help. This is remember a 4 Star Establisment.

The room I had was a disabled room which overall was good, but the bed was too low. I asked the Staff to put it up. They refused because they say on health and safety grounds it would not be safe or they have never heard of Bed Raisers. The joke is the casters have no caster locks. So the bed for that room was wrong. Premier Inn and most other Hotels have these except for this lot. It gets better. I wanted to dine with my Wife and find that the Restaurant was closed. Why? No explanation. Breakfast buffet. What a joke and there was not enough variety. Remember again so called 4 Star.

It was so bad trying to deal with lifting my wife that I decided I had enough and told the desk reception I was going to leave. I then get someone from Head of Household instead of trying to resolve the situation and try and find raisers, telling me that he could not do anything. Why did Reception send him up. If I was a disabled person I would be very cautious in staying here, because they are sooooo unhelpful. I do blame Holiday Inn for this and I will not be staying with any of there establishments again. To cap it all they charge me the other night which I wanted to stay if they had in the first place tried and I mean tried and help.

Disgusted by there service.

Room Tip: Simple you won't get any where because the Staff won't help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
DavedThurrock,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback which I received regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. I am investigating the issues, which you have identified at the hotel, and I thank you for brining these to my attention.

Regarding the accessible bedroom that you and your wife stayed in, I can only advise you that this is the first time I have experienced details such as yours, I have however as a matter of concern contacted IHG to advise them of the accessible issues you experienced. The accessible bedroom within the Holiday Inn brand may not have the facilities you required from an accessible bedroom.

Should you wish to return to the hotel in the near future please do call me and I will gladly accommodate you.


With Kind Regards



Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here whilst attending a show at The Lowry with friends.
Very modern clean hotel. Room have floor to ceiling windows and overlook Media City for which this hotel is extremely well placed.
Nice friendly bar, but maybe that could do with opening a little later, as clearly there are not enough staff on duty on a Saturday evening to cope with room service, ( we waited for an hour and 10 minutes for sandwiches and drinks.)
Staff were all very friendly, and their are a good choice of restaurants and bars in the local area, although if you are looking for a late night, you will need to travel into central Manchester.
Would definitely recommend and would stay here again, but do be aware, this is Salford not Manchester

Room Tip: Higher Floors for great night time views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
43 Becko,

Many thanks for visiting the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK and we do hope you will return to us in the near future. Yes we are based in Salford, however a tram into the city takes seven minutes - not counting for any delays ont he tram - the tram is located on the piazza and is great to get out and about in.

See you soon. And don't forget to look at our website for the best available deals throughout the summer period.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Cited in the Studio Block of Media City UK, there's a constant flow of celebrities through the ground floor bar as they wait their turn in the running order! Watch out for the drink prices though - some are shocking, but the whole place is part of the Peel Holdings money making machine! There were deals on food in the bar which were good value. Upstairs restaurant was closed but the menu was available in the bar.

Rooms were excellent; as a Priority Club member I was delivered a dressing gown, bag of toiletries and a KitKat. The carpet could do with a vacuum as it was covered in long blond hair - otherwise clean. All rooms are on floor 8 and above so have a view out; in my case over towards the city centre.

There is a fitness room with some matts and weights plus 3 machines - treadmill out of order, good if only one or two in there.

Great location for working at Media City and easy access to Manchester centre as the tram terminus is a 2 minute walk.

Friendly staff. Some confusion over the packed breakfasts we had ordered - obviously they had forgotten to tell the night shift so they hastily rustled some up from whatever was in the cupboard. Better on the second morning.

Room Tip: The higher the better to enjoy the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
AlisterC,

Many thanks for your recent feeback from your stay with you last week. Thanks for the departmental feedback which all the Team can work towards moving forward.
Hope to see you back see on your next project to MediaCityUK.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Good experience here. This is a good modern hotel perfect for Media City. The rooms are probably the best designed I have ever come across. Electric sockets a plenty, even next to the bed so you can charge your phone within reach at night. Just usually doesnt happen! Every other detail was great too..wiring for the kettle in an alcove, excellent shower with removable head, great working desk. Lots of thought has gone into this room and it works, so well done holiday inn. Charges are also reasonable though you would not want to stay here unless you needed to be near media city. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
LukeLondon,

Many thanks for your feedback and I will pass your feedback onto the IHG team regarding the well constructed bedrooms that you mention, sockets are vital for everyone these days for all sorts of gadgets, which we have tried to ensure are in the right location for everyone's needs.

Thanks once again for your great feedback.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having stayed previously at the excellent Holiday Inn Express on Salford Quays for productions at the Lowry this was a business trip rather than treat myself to the more upmarket Inn proper. I was Inn for a disappointment. The location is bleak, my outlook of a flattened building didn't help. Staff not too helpful with regard to nearest disabled parking. Food festival lifted air of unremitting Media City gloom. Room fine but very functional, obviously intended for media types, so disproportionate space for desk and surprisingly little for storage. Also a strange modular design so that wardrobe door opens into bathroom door and so on. I thought it pokey and unprepossessing. Much preferred the Express over the water at Salford Quays proper. And at £6 plus for John West tuna mayo presumably tipped on a plate for room service small wonder the nearby Booths branch does so well.

Room Tip: Ask for view overlooking a completed building or one that hasn't been demolished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Janarchy,

Many thanks for your feedback.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed recently on business and as always the staff were fantastic and very helpful. My only disappointment with the hotel is they have removed the vegetarian options from the room service apart from the cheese and pickle sandwich. I appreciate this would not affect most people but its enough to make me start looking at another hotel group as I travel a lot to Manchester and work late so room service is important.

Room Tip: All rooms are good you will never have a good view in this part of Manchester
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Steve B,

Many thanks for your feedback. Please ask the Team for further vegetarian options when you stay as they are available on the menus we offer .

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salford
#2 Business Hotel in Salford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.