We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village Hotel Visit 1-2/01/2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Captain Clarke Road | Hyde, Hyde SK14 4QG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Hyde)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Cotswolds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Village Hotel Visit 1-2/01/2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good hotel. Though breakfast mediocre only warm needs more attention the breakfast as not changed since our previous visits needs to be hotter and fresher. Bit of a let down over breakfast. Also the cook had to down the veggie sausage.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily O, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your recent stay.
I can confirm that since this review we have a brand new breakfast chef which has improved our breakfast service and quality. We hope you do visit us again in the future so you can sample our improvements first hand.
Again thank you for your feedback - without customers like you we cant improve our services.

Kind Regards

Emily O'Hara
emily.ohara@village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    118
    96
    48
    32
See reviews for
50
120
11
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed over the Christmas period and have stayed here many times over the years as it's close to family, I really noticed how tired the place looked especially the bar area, it needs completely refurbishing. Aside from that the staff were friendly, check in was quick and easy, the room was very spacious and clean, we had a family room and it had a separate bedroom with a bed settee in the living area. Breakfast is included and is ok, again the standard of this has dropped over the years. The swimming pool is great, it's large and clean and has family changing rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed for one night as a treat for the kids before the end of the school holidays.
The hotel location is quite unusual in that its kind between a housing estate & an industrial park, its nice & quiet though.
Check in was quick & easy, we went upto our room & were pleased with our room. It was a corner room meaning that we had two windows. It was clean & tidy, although the bathroom wasn't "sparkling clean".
The kids went in the swimming pool & reported that this was one of the best hotel pools they've been in so it got a big thumbs up.
Had a good nights sleep, breakfast was nice in the morning.
Looking at some of the other reviews regarding a refurbishment been required, I can see their point abit. Most of the village hotels are very model, glass fronted buildings. This one is alot older & the interior more dated.
To be honest, it didn't bother us & if anything, added to the experience rather than feeling that you are in a very sterile enviorment.
Enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We had room 119, it was a corner room with two windows & plenty of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed there with my partner in December as we wanted to do Christmas shopping in Manchester. We were really pleased to have found a room for only £54 (£108 for Fri and Sat). We paid £20 for a taxi to get to the city centre however in total it was less than paying for pricey hotels in Manchester.
Our room 105 had everything we needed (we were out most of the time) however it was pretty small. Bathroom with a bath was good as well. All clean and tidy.
I was pleased to be able to use their swimming pool - they offer great facilities.
Breakfast was included in the price of our stay and it was pretty good as well (carvery style breakfast, fruits, muesli, juices etc).

We had a meal in their bar and I need to admit we didn't expect it to be so good! VIVA super food salad was very tasty and we even make a similar one at home :)

They had an organised party on both nights and the music was pretty loud. We struggled to fall asleep as our room was pretty much above their restaurant. If I need to stay again in De Vere Village Hotel, I would make sure I ask for a room in a different part of the hotel so noise doesn't disturb me.

Big thank you to a lovely receptionist who checked us in and he was very helpful whenever we needed any help.

Room Tip: Rooms situated on higher floor should have less noise (they had quite a few parties in December)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here in between Xmas and NY to see family in the area. I used to use the Village gym years ago, so knew that there was a good gym and swimming pool. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom, however, wasn't so good! There was black mould around the shower, and lots of it! The hand wash dispenser was empty and there was no soap available, apart from the shower gel, to wash your hands.

The breakfast was nice, with plenty of choice, and the staff were friendly and attentive.

One downside was the bar food. We had met friends for a couple of drinks and decided to have a light bite. This was a big mistake as the food was of a poor quality and looked like it had been warmed through in a microwave. We didn't eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the quality of the food there.

Overall, for the price, this is an ok place to stay. My recommendation to the hotel would be to give the place a lick of paint, upgrade their TV system (very bad picture) and re-tile the bathrooms!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily O, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us at the Village Hotel Hyde. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

I am sorry you felt your visit to us wasn’t up to 100% satisfaction I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments and they are being followed up by each department manager.

The De Vere Group is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organisation, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Since your review we have now started our bedroom improvements and are introducing our 6 upperdeck bedrooms, we feel this will improve our bedrooms quaility and we are working as hard as we can do do this as a fast pace.

If I can be of any further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact me on the details below.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Come on De Vere. This hotel is a poor relation to the Ashton under Lyne hotel just a couple of miles away. It's just not up to scratch. Dim and dingy decor, no atmosphere. The bar was like a back street pub full of blokes watching the football drinking pints. The room was tired, grubby even. No toiletries provided and even the soap dispenser in the bathroom was empty, and the last residents talc all over the door. Dirty tile grout and cruddy shower fittings. No wardrobe just a chrome rail that looked like King Kong had swung from it. As for having the Starbucks in the reception area, it just looks cheap, tacky and lazy on behalf of the hotel in that they can't have a nice comfortable area to have a relaxing coffee that's Village branded. Also what's the point of wifi if the signal is so poor you can't use it? Surely Devere must be looking to sell this place on by now? Ok if all you need us a bed for the night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily O, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Dinoloia,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us at the Village Hotel Hyde. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

I am sorry you felt your visit to us wasn’t up to 100% satisfaction I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments and they are being followed up by each department manager.

The De Vere Group is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organisation, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.



If you would like to discuss further please contact me on the details below

Kind Regards

Emily O'Hara
emily.ohara@village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hyde hotels

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here with family and we had two double rooms with breakfast included. Arrived late afternoon and was greeted by friendly reception staff. I asked if we could have rooms in a quieter part of the hotel and they accommodated this without any fuss. The rooms were nice and big and clean. Breakfast was self service buffet which was lovely and again really friendly team in restaurant. The only poor thing was that the hotel advertises WiFi in all the rooms but it was so incredibly slow, it wasn't worth using it. Other than that a great hotel with friendly staff and plenty of parking. Would go back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde

Address: Captain Clarke Road | Hyde, Hyde SK14 4QG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Hyde)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Hyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde is well positioned for both exploring and shopping and just 7 miles from Manchester City Centre. The picturesque Peak District is close by, as is the shopaholic's dream location. With Manchester United (25 minute drive) and Manchester City Centre (15 minute drive) Football Clubs not far away, why not combine a visit to one of these sporting giant or visit Europe's biggest indoor shopping mall at the Trafford Centre. Village Urban Resorts Manchester Hyde has 89 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Leisure East Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.