We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great girly weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Captain Clarke Road | Hyde, Hyde SK14 4QG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Hyde)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great girly weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Me and the girls had a spa weekend away at Hyde - not the most conventional of hotel locations but the place was fab. Great spa, pool was fanstatic and the Luv train part night was so much fun. Bedrooms a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Staff really friendly and the food good. Highly reccommend and will be back later in the year

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    108
    79
    41
    29
See reviews for
44
107
9
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The De Vere Village Hotel was chosen for it`s location which was only a short drive to the venue I was to be at for business the next day . ( I did not consult Trip Advisor prior to booking , a big mistake ) . On entering the hotel reception which was crowded with what appeared to be very wet noisy locals , sports bags , children , and more , who only seemed to be able to converse by shouting . The smell of chlorine was eye stingingly strong . The reception was manned by only one very overstretched person , checking in took longer than it should have .
The room was reasonable , the bed clean and comfortable . In the bathroom there were a few black corners . The tv channels were mostly unavailable .
to eat in the bar is not recommended . It is more like a noisy local backstreet pub . I say no more . I will not teturn , travelling a little further to my appointment would have been the better option .
Lesson learned , always consult trip advisor .

Room Tip: Don`t , go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hyde hotels

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

On arrival (Monday) at 1200, we asked if it was possible to get rooms any earlier than 3. Over the last 2 years, every hotel has allowed this but this one NOT, so first feedback is dont arrive earlier than 3 if you want to relax. Room was fine (tv channels very disappointed, not freeview). The bar and food were fine, not every screen showed the football though. Breakfast was free and can understand why when you see and taste the quality. WIFI was brilliant and Free. Pool / Spa looked great but didnt try. Nothing within walking distant anywhere (very run down area). Also nice to see hotels reinvesting - redecor was occuring this week.

Room Tip: Dont get one next to where they are repainting, fumes will get to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liveaboards
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

First, I should say that every member of staff was very pleasant and courteous. However:-
Room was not properly cleaned (room 117)
TV did not work properly
Toilet struggled with solids -- clearly the flush quantity is too mean
Breakfast was cold. Cold plates and cold food. If you've ever tried cold egg, bacon and beans you'll know, if you haven't you will have the opportunity if you stay with DeVere!
Bed was uncomfortable -- surprising since it was a Sealy promotion thing I thought was an excellent idea but that particular Sealy mattress didn't suit us -- not the hotel's fault, to be fair.
The 'free WiFi' barely crawled so we used the 3G dongle instead
The hotel is in an industrial estate
I was told that parking with my trailer (we were collecting Ebay furniture) would be no problem. Well, there is little space at all, and there is a 6'6" bridge (no metric conversion given on the bridge) so we had to go out the no entry way. We managed more by luck than anything and I HAD phoned to check.

Two days after my stay I was reconciling my bank account and my bank told me that there was a payment in the pipeline for £40 for DeVere. Since I had pre-paid by Visa £69 I couldn't understand why especially since the bank said the debit was made at 10pm when we were dining with family elsewhere! Then I found that they had changed all their incoming phone lines to 084* premium rate calls and there is no email address. I eventually got connected by the other Manchester DeVere which still had a non-premium rate phone number. Incidentally you cannot phone those numbers from overseas anyway, so it doesn't meet standards by any stretch of the imagination. Eventually they said that it was their policy to take a payment as pre-authorisation WITHOUT telling the guest or asking their permission. Scandalous and totally unacceptable.
Dreadful place and I shall never again visit any De Vere hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good room find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I'm writing this as I'm still in the hotel. Hotel - fine and to be fair isn't the issue. However, the pool complex was not an enjoyable experience. It seems that the locals are very possessive about 'their' pool and see outsiders (paying guests as second class). The pool attendant wasn't interested in watching anyone swim and I ended up walking out because of an incident that could have been handled better by her if she was doing her job properly and paying attention to the people actually swimming - a point of safety which needs to be addressed. I was so angry with the experience - to be honest it's not one that I've had in any of the other Village Hotels but it has certainly taken the edge of this particular hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

If this hotel was a third of the price I could accept poor standards of furnishings, room facilities and room size however the room was not cheap so therefore I was extremely disappointed. The room was small, no bed linen was provided for the sofa bed in our room, there was no information regarding the hotel, the bathroom was shabby... The list goes on!
I would never stay here again there is far nicer, cheaper accomodation available. For a Village hotel it is very very poor. Not impressed at all, sorry.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

have just returned from a spa weekend/night that only cost £69 and for that i had a 3 course evening meal with a glass of wine, all you can eat breakfast, use of all the leisure facilities and one treatment in the spa - excellent value for money!!
the bar is very pricey but on a friday they have a rose special which costs a tener for a bottle which isnt bad for a hotel.
the swimming pool sauna, jaquzzi and steam room are a must, very clean and towels were provided.
the meals couldnt be faulted - gorgeous.
look out for all the special offers that devere/village are doing as there are some good bargain breaks going.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde

Address: Captain Clarke Road | Hyde, Hyde SK14 4QG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Hyde)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Hyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde is well positioned for both exploring and shopping and just 7 miles from Manchester City Centre. The picturesque Peak District is close by, as is the shopaholic's dream location. With Manchester United (25 minute drive) and Manchester City Centre (15 minute drive) Football Clubs not far away, why not combine a visit to one of these sporting giant or visit Europe's biggest indoor shopping mall at the Trafford Centre. Village Urban Resorts Manchester Hyde has 89 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Leisure East Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Manchester Hyde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.