We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the Crown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens to your Saves list
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
3.0 of 5 Castle   |   Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Potomac, MD
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Jewel in the Crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

What a wonderful place! The castle is breathtaking along with the gardens outside. We were in the Mary I room--they treated us like royalty. The room was beautiful with a lovely curved glass window and a stained glass window in the bathroom. The staff was oustanding and willing to do whatever we asked. It is a memorable and lovely place. I could not recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    141
    53
    22
    11
See reviews for
126
405
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

A majestic Tudor Castle with beautiful accomodation, scrumptious food and wine and exemplary service. Have nothing but praise for this hotel and would reccomend to anyone looking for a special night away in a quiet, quaint and quintessential setting.

  • Liked — It's a Tudor castle!
  • Disliked — Faultless
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

I have debated writing this review for a number of reasons. The hotel itself is beautiful. The grounds, the rooms, the castle itself, very nice. What we found extremely disappointing, no appalling, was the welcome.
Upon our entry into the lobby we were asked quite blatantly, "Are you making a delivery?" Both my husband and I were casually dressed as we were touring around the countryside. I was completely disgusted.
When my husband said "No, we're checking in." There was no apology or remark from whom I am sure was the manager. This seemed to set the mood for the evening. We quickly changed and went else where for dinner. When we returned I asked if a tray of tea and coffee could be sent up to our room. We waited almost an hour. When I called down I was told the kitchen just closed. In a place like this I was shocked that the kitchen closes. Again, no apology for their rudeness. The next morning we went down for breakfast. It was edible but not appetizing.

So, if you are the type of person that expects to get what you pay for and expects to be treated with courtesy, I would not stay at this place even if the rooms were free.

  • Liked — The gardens, but you can see similar at any English park.
  • Disliked — The staff's ignorance.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Wanted to give my Japanese inlaws a proper English castle experience - and Thornbury more than delivered. Replete with battlements, secret doors and romantic ruins, Thornbuy is everyone's fantasy of how a castle should look. It also turns out to be a very decent hotel.
The rooms were spacious, clean and very atmospheric. Most have four-poster beds and all feature antique furniture. Most have some unique features - in our case a bathroom hidden behind a secret door.
Dinner and breakfast added to the experience. Both are served in a baronial dining room, with the evening meal featuring a dress code (no jeans, trainers, shorts etc) and predinner drinks in the library.
Service was generally friendly and efficient (not snooty, as I had feared), and Thornbury was perfect for giving people with little time to spare a real English experience.
Negatives? The dinner, though good, was also very expensive. The beds were far too soft for my taste. And the area around Thornbury isn't hugely exciting - not sure if you would want to spend a week here, but it makes a great weekend or overnight stop as the castle is a destination in its own right. That said, the Cotswolds and Wales are within easy reach.

  • Liked — The atmosphere, the dinner experience, the castle and its grounds
  • Disliked — The excessively soft beds
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We have stayed at Thornbury 3 times now. In the Woodstock room, Plantagenet room and the Howard room. Each are deluxe rooms and are very expensive, so we could only afford one night.

However the price is irrelevent if you are going for a romantic getaway, the staff are very friendly, the gardens are beautiful (depending on time of year and what is in bloom), the rooms apsolutely amazing and the breakfast outstanding.

The restaurant food was lovely - but i guess it was a little extravagant for us really.

The second time we stayed we went into thornbury village and went to a lovely restaurant called Ronnies - still a little bit pricey but cheaper than the castle and much more 'everyday' meats and dishes - very friendly and wicked food.

Unfortunately Thornbury castle seems to be getting more expensive each year so I doubt if we will go again in the near future unless it is a 'very' special occasion. But I definalely recommend it, its an amazing and beautiful place to stay. Lookout for the amazing ceilings!

  • Liked — The amazing rooms
  • Disliked — The price - but for a special occasion who cares how much it costs?!?!?!?
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

On our way from London to Wales, we wanted to find a castle for our 14 year old son to spend at least one night. Well, we found just the right place. He called it his favorite place we stayed on the entire trip. The rooms were enchanting, the food was just outstanding, and the staff were first rate. We highly recommend this castle for anyone in the area, and wish we could have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Stayed here at the beginning of June as a wedding anniversary treat - the whole experience was faultless apart from the inevitable wallet spasm when checking out.. We stayed for one night in the Henry 8th "room" which my wife declared was one of the best rooms she had ever stayed in, wandered round the lovely grounds before dinner which was excellent, topped of with a great selection of "stickies" in the lounge afterwards. Yes it is expensive but worth it

  • Liked — Superb room
  • Disliked — the bill!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Address: Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Thornbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Thornbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens Hotel Thornbury
Castle Thornbury
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.