We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Save Saved
You added Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
3.0 of 5 Castle   |   Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bradford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here on a 2night bed and breakfast and one evening meal with Secret Escapes. We asked if our room had a four posted bed and ii didn't, so we asked if we could see one as well as our room. We went up a spiral wooden staircase and saw the first room which was very good. Then we were shown the other room with the 4 posted bed which had a sitting room and then through the archway was the bed ! We asked what the price difference was and were told that if we wanted the room it was ours. We were delighted and celebrated with a glass of sherry which was complimentary.Everything about this Hotel is special the rooms , the meals and the gardens. After spending a day in Bath we returned to have a drink sitting in the Tudor Garden and were pleasantly surprised by our bill for these drinks at the end of the holiday. Treat your self you will not regret it I'm just waiting for the next Secret Escape deal !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    120
    42
    20
    11
See reviews for
109
337
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

In what was a highlight of our recent trip Thornbury Castle came up trumps . Upon arriving we were shown to our rooms up a winding stone staircase to a huge room with a magnificent 4 poster bed and a very modern bathroom with every amenity . A wander around the gardens and the old church before pre dinner drinks in the lounge before being taken into the dining room for an exquisite dinner . You can feel the history of this castle through the whole place and it was well worth the visit. All the staff were very attentive but also unobtrusive and a credit to the management of this wonderful castle . Would relish a return visit in the future

Room Tip: Make sure you leave enough time to explore the property during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had booked this trip for my husband's birthday and uncannily like davethenomad above, I chose it because he loves Tudor history. We were not disappointed. You almost expect Henry and Ann to appear! Apparently, there are ghosts - but I never saw any! But it wouldn't surprise me to see one or two. I was particularly impressed with the staff: helpful but not intrusive, obliging without crowding. The car was parked for us and the bags were taken upstairs to a delightful room (The Brecknock) with the best bed I have slept in for years, with pillows to die for! The view is also breathtaking. The bathroom is very well appointed and very clean with very nice toiletries, thick towels and a great robe which (for once) fitted very well (I'm a bit on the large side). The towelling slippers are a nice touch too. Refreshments? Tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate: It's all there as well as mineral water and.... a decanter full of Sherry! We ate in the restaurant on the Friday: Excellent dishes, cooked to perfection and if you don't try each variety of home made bread, you're missing out (I particularly recommend the focaccia). Cooked breakfast was perfect: not greasy, the bacon is excellent and there's a good variety of (home made) granola, croissant, fresh fruit and juice. And they turn your bed down at night: Bliss!

Now this is the other side of the Thornbury coin: I won't do a character assassination but... it needs to pull its socks up: The Friday evening meal took over 2 hours for 3 courses and when each dish eventually arrived it was luke warm. It did however give me the opportunity to try all their different home made breads!(see above). I also recommend the selection of exquisite deserts. First morning breakfast: mine came but they had forgotten my husband's! Second morning breakfast took 35 minutes to arrive and when it did was dry and overcooked. I had poached haddock and poached eggs which were perfect however! All the croissants had gone and not replenished and several tables were left uncleared even though the staff was wondering in and out of the room.

The room needs to be hoovered a bit more thoroughly than it had been. Our bed hadn't been made properly, ie bottom sheet was as we had left it that morning, and the duvet had just been pulled back. I also found my jacket screwed up on the sofa under the cushions which had been on the bed. There are also lots of cobwebs on the cornices. It's an old building with high ceiling and beautiful mullions, but a long handed broom will reach!

So overall good, but for £300 a night, they need to improve on speed of dinner, and tweak the cleanliness. But don't let that put you off: it's a fabulous place!

Room Tip: Don't leave breakfast too late, or all the croissants will go! You might want a torch to read i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After a great deal of emailing with Jenni and Anna who were great, we chose our room for a special occasion, the Howard. It had recently had a full bathroom re-do and in all the room was fantastic, a real castle experience. Agree with all the positive comments from others. Staff great, informative and in all, couldn't have asked for better. Pricey? Yes, but for that special occasion splurge...go for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was booked as a surprise special birthday treat for me because my family knew I was fascinated by anything Tudor. So this hotel was always going to be a winner with its many faceted windows, its towers, its wood panelled library and its spiral staircases. We were shown into a lovely room with a four poster bed and an amazing view through the mullioned windows overlooking the garden and towards the church beyond. Amazingly the ensuite bathroom was as ultra modern as could be but the bedroom with its twenty foot ceiling definitely made me feel as if I had just stepped back five hundred years. Our party had drinks in the lovely secluded garden before enjoying a first class meal in the dining room. Okay I could be picky and say some minor things could be improved but to us they just made our experience all the more enjoyable. Altogether an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: We had the Audley but the LeClerc was just as lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a fabulous "basic" room that seemed like a "real" castle room -- huge leaded windows, poster bed, incredibly comfortable bed. The room was very large and well appointed. We stayed for dinner which was delicious; drinks in the lounge before dinner are included in the dinner price. Breakfast was very good and food arrived promptly. it was a marvelous experience, one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked the dinner, bed & breakfast deal at this hotel for our wedding anniversary and it was an excellent experience. We had a tower room which was like something from Game of Thrones, really was great with the spiral staircase, stone walls, fireplace and drapped 4 poster bed. We could not fault anything from the accomodation, to the service and food. A bottle of Prosecco and a card was also left in our room which was a lovely touch. Very peaceful hotel and grounds, lots of rooms and areas to explore. You could also walk the few minutes to some local pubs on the main street. I would definately recommend for a special occasion and the experience of staying in a castle was quite unique.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Address: Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Thornbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Thornbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens Hotel Thornbury
Castle Thornbury
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.