We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star experience - go there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens to your Saves list
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
3.0 of 5 Castle   |   Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“5 star experience - go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Absolutely fantastic Castle stay...

It all started with excellent customer service over the telephone when my other half requested 'castley bedroom' to ensure we got the whole experience. The receptionist was superb, calling him back and rejigging a booking in order for us to be given the Howard Bedchamber.

On arrival we were welcomed and shown to our bedroom. Photos do not do it justice - it oozed oppulence and the whole castle experience started off with a bang. The four poster bed looked so inviting, however the wing armchairs and small dining table gave us plenty of areas to relax. I think this can't be rated as a 5 star hotel as the electrics and wear in the furniture and carpets could be better - but we felt it added to the charm (well-loved as oppose to broken!)

Walking round the grounds we were enticed to look in every nook and cranny before heading to the lounge for a bite to eat. The atmosphere was wonderful with a quiet relaxed ambience. Tea was served, although our sandwiches were not so fresh, as if they had been sitting in the kitchen waiting to be brought through to us(we also thought the choices a bit bland, but the fillings were tasty).

Having the whole dining experience was important to us - and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience with fabulous food which was tasty and freshly made. The portion size of my fillet of beef was enormous (it seemed such a shame that it couldn't be smaller and a lesser additional cost imposed). Having to choose from the set menu can be a bit hit and miss - as a huge disliker of mushrooms and not being fond of fish I was put off by 'truffle sauce' which appeared in a couple of descriptions.

We enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep in the most wonderfully comfortable bed, followed by a fabulous breakfast - the eggs were perfect and the remainder of ingredients perfectly tasty.

Check out was simple, although we didn't have our initial invoice updated as the receptionist wasn't well (we hope Ann feels better).

Altogether we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - and would love to come back to enjoy the hospitality and castle experience once again - wonderful romantic destination - thank you!

Room Tip: We can't say about the others - the Howard Suite was way beyond our expectations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    141
    53
    22
    11
See reviews for
126
404
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having stayed at 2 other of the 'luxury family hotel group' [ Ickworth Manor and Woolley grange], i was hoping that Thornbury could offer me something of a different experience. I have to say that both our stays at Ickworth and Woolley were disappointing. Ickwoth in the fact that the kitchens greeted you on the way in with smells and food trodden into the floor and Wooley being a little cramped and very expensive. Taking a dog to a luxury hotel is a real treat for the children and Thornbury presented us with a fantastic room [ suite] on arrival with lovely stone walls and wooden panels . The mini suite also had a tiny kitchen [ very useful for the kit one needs with very small children], ours being 8/10 and 12yrs managed to drink their way through the delicious hot choccy on offer!! The bathroomwas nice with good products but again on the rustic side of quality!
Don't expect absolute luxury here. There is no spa or pool but there is plenty of space outside and we managed several games of rugby and football on the surrounding fields/gardens. Our spaniel had a fantastic time and was made a real fuss of. Breakfast was slow but delicious when it arrived. The afternoon tea served in one of the lovely lounges was excellent [ superb scones], although not the cheapest. The atmosphere was one of laid back relaxation. Service at times bordered on totally horizontal with forgotten orders [ my wife's cooked breakfast, extra scones etc...] but nothing that a few extra minutes wait couldn't solve.
Both nights we had the kids dine with us, now being of an age where they can dress smartley and hopefully behave. Their food [ kids menu was variable and pretty good] , was inexpensive and the adults food superb. We had 2 great evenings with our kids ending up with a game of Uno in the lounge to finish our wine!!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a relaxing break with beautiful rooms / great food and lovely staff. Everyone did their best to make sure we were happy and any faults were quickly rectified with humble apologies. Thornbury is no Lucknam Park or Stapleford Park ,but in many ways it offers so much more with its charm and value compared to the other larger spa hotels. A big thank you to all the staff...our children are asking already when we can go back.

Room Tip: having a suite was not that much more than a normal room and the lounge area felt like you were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Booked in for valentines night at a very special place... Delighted to find helpful & friendly staff, super comfortable rooms, and fabulous food! We stayed in the Buckingham suite which was very nice- with a warm fire crackling on arrival. Look forward to staying again at this super piece of Tudor history.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We will never stop in a more stunning hotel. OK, everything isn't perfect - the electrics are not 100% and there is wear in some of the carpets - but the castle is romance and character on a grand scale, and there are some great and quirky staff. Expensive, yes, but its a one off. Totally memorable, unlikely to be matched.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We love Thornbury Castle, so much so that we chose 'exclusive' use of the venue for our wedding guests - a day to remember for ever! It changed ownership between our booking and wedding day. We arrived (Saturday as arranged) the receptionist treated us an imposition 'she had another wedding taking place so there was no-one willing to help us with our bags, she wouldn't leave reception' to arrange this - even though we had also pre-booked the two most expensive rooms in the Hotel that evening and exclusive use for the next day. This also happened to several of our guests when they arrived on Sunday. My hairdresser and make-up artist were sent to find our suite - again no-one willing to show them at reception. Nothing is included in the 'package' - we had to hire our own chandeliers, etc for the tables. They promised that the shabby chairs would be replaced for our reception - they weren't! Our wedding breakfast was served over half an hour late, not all tables were served at the same time - despite this being a major factor that we had been assured would happen prior to the event - we were then rushed through our speeches so that the room could be cleared for our evening reception - coffee had to be served across the courtyard - we were charged for ALL our guests having coffee, many didn't have any. Breakfast was not replenished and guests were left waiting. Look at the price for exclusive use and then compare with other venues and what they offer - This was extremely POOR value for an exhorbitant price. However a more stunning venue you could not wish for! Thornbury Castle please take note the venue is second to none however the service does not warrant your fees!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own individual style. If you have slightly creaky joints and struggle wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye K, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your experience at Thornbury Castle. I am disappointed to read your comments and would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in person.

Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience to discuss.

Warm regards,

Faye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at Thornbury castle for the weekend this is a luxury quaint hotel with plenty of character,staff are very pleasant and helpful especially Anna on reception.
We had a meal within the hotel restaurant on the Sunday evening it has an excellent menu,and the food was truly gorgeous,we also had afternoon drinks in the library which was a relaxing way to spend your time at the weekend.
We would love to stay here again it was a real treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix,az
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a disappointment! This was our 30th wedding anniversary special night on New Year's January 1, so we paid top dollar to stay on a bank holiday. It will be a night to remember, but for all the wrong reasons. The shower did not work, towels were dingy, there were HOLES in the sheets, the carpet was dirty, they did not replenish the breakfast bar at all, so if you did not arrive at the beginning, you got the leftovers. There were no biscuits on the coffee/tea tray, no chocolate on your pillow with the turndown service. I travel extensively and every hotel that I have stayed at in England leaves sweet biscuits on the tray and chocolates for turndown. When I politely told the person at the front desk that we were disappointed and why, she just looked at me like I was nuts! Didn't even apologize. Don't waste your money on this overpriced, underserviced hotel.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on this overpriced, under serviced hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye K, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at Thornbury Castle for your anniversary. I am disappointed to read your comments and would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in person.

Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience to discuss.

Warm regards,

Faye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Address: Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Thornbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Thornbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens Hotel Thornbury
Castle Thornbury
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.