We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back into the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodchester Mansion

Woodchester Mansion
Woodchester Mansion, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3TS, England
01453 861541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Stonehouse
Type: Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Woodchester Mansion is a 19th Century Victorian Gothic masterpiece mysteriously abandoned mid-construction in 1873. Hidden in a secluded Cotswold Valley, it is untouched by time and the modern world. This unique Grade 1 Listed Building has been saved from dereliction but it will never be completed, enabling visitors to view the secret building techniques of medieval Gothic builders. Special events are held throughout the year, but do check our open days and times before visiting.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stepping back into the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A lovely walk down from the car park builds the suspense before arriving at this little-open mansion. You would be right to expect this 'frozen in time' gothic house to have bats. Would love to see it by night - it's even slightly eerie in the daylight...Spooky meets fairy tale I suppose. Fascinating to wander round...beautiful fireplaces and staircases...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    28
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Be transported in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Manor is a brisk walk from the parking lot, so wear comfy shoes. The history of the manor is so interesting, we we're completely enamored by the history and its beauty. Entry fee is minimal & it's particularly interesting if you enjoy architecture & history. Make sure to bring snacks and drinks as you can have a picnic there & they only have a tiny assortment of snacks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Building in progress, frozen in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

For budding structural engineers and architects this building would be an excellent learning aid about how large structures are built. The mansion itself has never been completed (nor will be) so the way it has been built can still be seen. We were shown around for about two hours by Pat, an enthusiastic and knowledgeable volunteer - and of corse there is a lot of interest for the general public too. The car park is about a mile from the a Mansion, a pleasant walk down a private drive or by minibus laid on by the volunteers. The. Trustees have an admirable association with trainee stonemasons at the local college.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting and beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My partner and I visited the mansion a couple of days ago as part of a trip to the Cotswolds having been recommended it by the owners of the B&B where we were staying.

We were unsure of what to expect but the website made the place look interesting, so we parked up and took the pleasant walk through Woodchester Park (which was gorgeous, and so quiet!).

Arriving at the mansion, we found that we were the only visitors on site at that time, and so we had all the time in the world to look around! The laminated guide with the recommended route was perfect and made things so much either.

The mansion itself is spectacular. Never been to a place like it and we fell in love with it! So much history in the place and it was so surreal to see. Also really liked the cellars - wasn't until we got home that we saw how many TV shows had been filmed there!

Fantastic place - wish we could go back again now. We will return next time we visit the Cotswolds (February) and this time will try to explore more of the wonderful countryside in which it is located. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fabulous walk with tremendous views and a variety of treks. Wonderful for all the family and the dogs!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodchester Mansion also viewed

Tetbury, Cotswolds
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 
Stroud, Cotswolds
Bibury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Woodchester Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodchester Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.