We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for walkers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edale House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Edale House to your Saves list
Edale House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Folly Road | Royal Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Parkend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent for walkers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Three walkers stayed for two days and we rated it as one of the best we have stayed in. Food was excellent, rooms well equipped and warm, very good beds, TV etc. Terry was very helpful with local knowledge and we enjoyed his company. All round an excellent venue for the Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Three of us meet together to walk different parts of the country. we are now doing the Gloucester way. Edale House was perfect. Very welcoming in a relaxed and helpful way. The rooms were good and the bed very comfy. The lounge was just right and the welcome afternoon tea was spot on, as was breakfast and the plentiful packed lunches. It has a specific drying room which was great after our day in the rain! All this at a very affordable price. I would definitely recommend and the Pub next door is a true local with excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mussidan, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just returned from a stay at Edale House where we took my 91 year old mother for a trip down memory lane. The fact that our old family doctor, Dr Tandy, used to own the house was an added bonus for her. We were greeted with a wonderful warm welcome and Terry and Jane couldn't have been more helpful. Carrying bags to the room and making sure we had everything we needed. Tea and home made cakes (yummy) were served when we arrived. Terry apologised for the fact that the residents lounge was out of action as the renovation works were slightly delayed (not a problem for us as the rooms were of a good size and comfortable seating provided). The beds were very comfy and the room wonderfully warm. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided and we were even given fresh milk.

Breakfast was great with a good choice of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt etc and the cooked breakfast very good (can recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon). All in all a great experience and we would definitely return. A very peaceful and picturesque setting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We've just returned from a few very relaxing days at Edale House where we were welcomed with a pot of tea and homemade cake - just what we needed after a tiring and tiresome journey with lots of hold-ups. Terry and Jane were just so helpful and friendly, with good knowledge of the area despite only being there for two years; Terry gave us good suggestions each morning dependant on the weather. The cooked breakfast was lovely, with good choice, plus yogourt, different fruit each morning, cereals, and nuts and seeds, plus a bowl of whole fruit - apples etc. The coffee was out of this world - it's a shame I totally forgot to ask which brand they used!
Everything was absolutely spotless. We were in room 6, which was the largest of their rooms, at the back, with a bath with electric shower over. It also had a 'telephone' shower on the taps, but that was impossible to adjust the water temperature, so we didn't use that as the electric shower was perfectly fine and hot, and there was lashings of hot water for the bath. The room was spacious and restfully decorated with TV, tea and coffee, bisquits and sweets and the bed was incredibly comfy - neither too firm nor too soft and it was large, as it was two singles zip-linked. All in all a lovely place to stay and well recommended if you're staying in the Forest of Dean area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

It is a very comfortable and well-run B&B with great hosts. The breakfast, well, read the other reviews but I'll add that the veggie version won't leave you hungry either. We had 'standard' rooms and perhaps these are smaller than others but one is not left wanting for anything other than a bit more space. The beds were very comfortable and the hospitality tray met my wife's requirements especially as fresh milk is readily available from the fridge in the honesty bar. Despite being quite near a road the glazing effectively stopped any noise nuisance.

Though August we did find it coolish, especially in our bathroom and the electric shower was not sufficiently powerful to warm one up well enough. The drying room was also unheated and so didn't do much drying when drying was needed.

There is no mobile phone signal in Parkend, hardly the fault of Edale House of course, and they do their utmost to compensate with free wi-fi and almost-free landlines. We did get the occasional whiff of Vodafone up on the paths behind the house.

The Woodman next door does serve good food but best to go early, we waited 45 mins one night and then 2 (!!) hours the next even after having booked. Not long after eating that then until the next Edale breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a fantastic little gem Edale House is, nestled on the edge of the Forest of Dean; this well run, comfortable and very welcoming B&B is the perfect base for exploring the treats of the forest.
Spotlessly clean and comfortable, the rooms - whilst not “overlarge”, boast many of the features that a five star hotel would be proud of, down to the little bowl of ‘sweeties’ to boost sugar levels after a long cycle! – Terry and Jane are perfect hosts – nothing is too much trouble and the breakfast would win awards if such things existed – an enticing bowl of wonderfully fresh fruits, with thick yoghurt, followed by a cooked breakfast of local, thickly sliced bacon, tasty artisan sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, black pudding, hash browns and a choice of eggs from the garden hens - all cooked freshly to order. With Jane’s home-made jams and preserves on hot toast to finish if you still have room!
There is a choice of two local pubs serving good ales to eat at in the evening, both within easy walking distance.
I would certainly recommend Edale and hope that I will get to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I picked Edale House almost at random from the http://www.visitforestofdean.co.uk/ website (from which I went to Edale House's own website). My wife and I had made a last-minute decision to visit the Forest of Dean for the weekend and were happy to be able to book a room for two nights.

Well, the random choice couldn't have been better. Jane and Terry are most welcoming, the house is beautifully kept and our room (Room 6), which was at the back of the house, was quiet and provided with all the comforts. The bed was vast and comfortable. Some guesthouses provide soft mattresses which start bouncing as soon as one or other of the occupants of the bed turn over. But not here. The mattress was firm and gave the right support for my taste.

The room also included a sofa, and a desk.

The ensuite bathroom was large and well laid out. We had good quality towels of a decent size - too many guesthouses skimp on the quality of the towels - and there were any number of thoughtful touches in the bathroom and the bedroom that made staying here a real pleasure.

I am one of those characters who takes a laptop on holiday. It was great to find that there's free wifi - a compensation, perhaps, for the complete lack of mobile phone signal. Actually, each bedroom has a direct dial phone and one can give anyone who needs to call one the number of the guesthouse. The phone, like the guest's bar, operates on an honesty basis. I had to make a couple of short phone calls; when I checked out I told Terry and he suggested I put some money in the charity box.

We made use of the supply of walking guides that can be borrowed from the lounge and Terry offered useful advice about things to do during the day. On the day we checked out he was kind enough to let us leave the car in the parking area in front of the house while we went for a 6-mile walk.

I loved the breakfasts (except, perhaps, to say that the teapots were a tad on the small size for two people - however, they are refilled on request; I noticed that the coffee drinkers received generous portions). Fresh fruit was available, as well as cereals, and the cooked breakfasts were perfectly presented. And all served with warm smiles by Terry.

This is a top quality guesthouse and I would certainly stay there again on another visit to the Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edale House

Address: Folly Road | Royal Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Parkend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edale House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edale House is a comfortable and relaxing Georgian guest house located in the centre of the village of Parkend and in the heart of the Forest of Dean. We have 6 twin or double bedrooms (5 ensuite and 1 with private shower room) resident's lounge and bar, dining room, forecourt car park, pleasant accessible garden, central heating and free Wifi. All rooms have flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and extensive toileteries. Complimentary tea/coffee and homemade cakes on arrival. A breakfast of fresh fruit, cereals and a wide range of cooked food, to include our exclusive hand sliced bacon and eggs from our own chickens, together with local farm sausages and homemade whiskey marmalade will set you up for a full day in the Forest. Numerous local attractions are within easy reach including Nags Head Nature Reserve, Dean Steam Railway, Clearwell Caves, Puzzlewood, Go Ape, Cannop Ponds and the Dean Heritage Centre.Parkend is well situated for Forest walks and cycling, cycle hire available, and has 2 excellent food orientated pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edale House Parkend, Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.