We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deanfield Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Deanfield Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Deanfield Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Folly Road, Parkend GL15 4JF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Parkend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I recently returned from Deanfield B&B in Parkend, where we had our Easter break. I have to report that this is a first class establishment, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the shower room excellent and everything you could want provided. There was a large choice of breakfast which was cooked perfectly, and very tasty. I have frequented many B&B's all over the uk and I must rate this one as one of the best. On the negative side (and nothing to do with the guesthouse itself) is that the two pubs in the village close at 2:30 pm and don't open till 6:30pm. not something want when returning after a long cycle ride or walk in the forest. There is a pub approx 1 mile outside the village that opens all day. I will definitely be returning with my bike as the location is ideal for cycling the Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanfieldbb, Owner at Deanfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely comments.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Chris & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
73
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thankyou Chris and Nigel for making our stay at your beautiful bed and breakfast a lovely experience. We would certainly recommend your b&b we thought everything was five star .We would definitely like to stay again sometime. Thankyou again John and Janet French.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanfieldbb, Owner at Deanfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you John and Janet for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely comments.
Hope to see you back at Deanfield again soon.
Chris & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I really mean perfect. From the genuine friendly and perfectly pitched hosts, to the lovely breakfasts (great choices perfectly cooked and the right size portions); from the well maintained and decorated rooms, to the thought and consideration that has gone into everything (such as the ready availability of fresh milk for our coffee and tea in our room - why do so many other B and Bs get that wrong...........does anyone really like those little cartons of milk???). Its in a perfect spot too to explore, and two good pubs very close by!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanfieldbb, Owner at Deanfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your excellent comments - we agree with the milk!
We would welcome you back to Deanfield at any time.
Chris & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

After a long journey from London, we were greeted by name at the front door and made to feel right at home. Lovely room overlooking the green across the road. Decorated well and the room and en-suit was spotless! There were plenty of leaflets and maps to help plan your visit around the local area. Breakfast was delicious and a fine china pot of tea each morning was a great was to start the day! Breakfast served in a lovely little dining room where we had plenty of choice and we met a couple who were regular visitors and recommended areas to visit. B&B within walking distance to the woods and the pubs. Sadly, we could only stay 2 nights! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanfieldbb, Owner at Deanfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write us a review and for your lovely words.
we would welcome you back to Deanfield at any time.
Chris & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a lovely 3 night stay, service was was warm and friendly and accommodation was really warm comfortable and nicely presented. We highly recommend it and will go back! Breakfasts were great.., a good selection of yummy food. Neil and Lorna

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanfieldbb, Owner at Deanfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you Neil and Lorna for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.
Hope to see you both again in the future.
Chris & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This has got to be one of the best b&bs that my husband and I have stayed in. The location is perfect for exploring the gorgeous countryside and you can walk straight up into the woods from the front door. The attention to detail at Deanfield is second to none. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean. The beds are extremely comfortable with Egyptian cotton bedding. The room we were in had a "wet room" en suite. Breakfast was more than enough to keep us going till late afternoon and beautifully cooked and presented in a lovely peaceful dining room. The owners Chris and Nigel were so friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. There is also a friendly pub, which serves delicious food 5min walk away. All on all pretty perfect, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanfieldbb, Owner at Deanfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for your lovely comments.
We would welcome you back to Deanfield at any time.
Chris & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I can't think of anything I would improve about Deanfield. It is situated in Parkend within easy walking distance of pubs and station. Ample car parking. A warm welcome was received from Chris the owner and she could not do enough to help us during our stay, even offering to dry our clothes when we got caught in a downpour. The breakfast was gorgeous and there was lots of choice. The room was spotlessly clean and very nice and comfortable. Would definitely go there again. Try Whitemead Forest Park for meals, it is a Center Parcs type of place but non-residents can use the restaurant and bar. Also the Speech House pub is a short drive away and did really good food in pleasant surroundings. You can get on the steam train from the station in Parkend. Puzzlewood was amazing, even if you don't have children it is worth a visit as it is such a magical place. If you visit Symonds Yat East park up at the viewpoint and walk down, it is easier than negotiating the single track road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanfieldbb, Owner at Deanfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for the lovely comments.
We would welcome you at Deanfield any time.
Chris & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deanfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deanfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: Folly Road, Parkend GL15 4JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Parkend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deanfield Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First class, Visit England 4 star graded, accommodation set in the heart of the Forest, looking out onto the village cricket green. All our rooms are furnished and decorated to the highest standard and all are ensuite and have tea/coffee making facilities. Double bedroom with ensuite wet room on Ground floor, suitable for the partial disabled.Free wireless access available for all our guests. Special dietary needs are catered for.Generous enclosed parking with large garden and gazebo seating area. Local pubs with restaurants within easy walking distance. Village has Post Office, Cycle Hire, Cafe's and Steam Trains. Walking & Cycle trail start right from the gate. Secure cycle storage available.7 Nights for the price of 6 all year round, minimum 2 night stay on most weekends - please contact us for details.Check in normally 4pm or by prior arrangement. Check out time is 10.30Am.All methods of payment accepted, please note we charge a 2% surcharge for credit card payments.Perfect for exploring the area or a relaxing break in the Forest of Dean.Add all this to the famous Deanfield breakfast and you have the perfect start to your leisure or business day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Deanfield Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deanfield Bed & Breakfast Parkend, Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deanfield Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.