We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Michaelwood M5

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Michaelwood M5 to your Saves list
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Michaelwood Service Area | M5 Northbound, Dursley, Lower Wick GL139JS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Wick
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good value stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we booked for 2 nights at Michaelwood as it was a good price on Laterooms and having checked other reviews here we can confirm that it is absolutely fine for a budget stay. Our room was clean and quiet and the reception staff were helpful and pleasant. There is a Waitrose at the services next door which was useful for purchasing a quick dinner on the second night. This was my first stay at a Days Inn but I would definitely book again if looking for budget hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet if you don't open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    15
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
30
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel room was basic but comfortable and quiet, BUT it is situated on the M5 services which are undergoing building works, and have reduced facilities such as portaloos. The hotel relies on these services for the provision of breakfast and other meals, and it is very busy and like a building site.
Early checkin/out fees of £10 seem unreasonable to me.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet whereas the motorway and services are at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for Bath dog show and the service was lovely the ladies on the reception couldn't have been more helpful there were 3 of us and 4 dogs and they only charged us £5 for all the dogs. There was a lovely walk outside the hotel and we have booked again for Paignton and national gundog show in August.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Being actually ON the motorway ( well, about 500 yds back) expected this to be impersonal and rather 'grubby', but staff very helpful and pleasant, the room was clean (and cleaned every day), and was very quiet. 4 of us stayed in one room, and was spacious enough. At only £30 per night I could not have asked more. See tip below....

Room Tip: If you come out of hotel and go through 'no entry' sign you drive away from motorway area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford, west yorkshire, uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Yet again we stayed here and our room was great, clean and spacious with everything we could need. My husband, 2 boys and myself shared a room and there was plenty of room. The staff on the reception desk were very helpful and polite. The only problem we had was trying to book on the helpline and in the end I rang the hotel direct and booked in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Took two dogs en route to the Bath Championship show and found this a very relaxing stop. Just wish we had known about the fish and chips available "over the bridge" enjoyed by our fellow guests and they made our sandwiches seem a little dull in comparison. Special thanks to the lady on Reception who told us of a shortcut cback to the M5 South, saved quite a bit of time in the morning

Room Tip: Ground floor room was granted on request, much easier with the dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Booked online and requested early check in for about 11am. We got there at 1:40pm in the end. As we walked in the woman said "You're not checking in are you? You're too early." I said I'd requested early check in. She said that if we waited 20 minutes we won't have to pay the £10 fee and that she couldn't change the computer. However we were running late for a wedding so had to pay the £10 for 20 minutes use of the room (a room which was empty and ready and waiting for us) Literally a case of 'computer says no'!

I also asked if she could call us a taxi (to the town of Berkeley 5 minutes away where the wedding was) and there was a long pause and she looked like she'd never been asked to do such a task before in her life, so I followed up my request with "or just a number will be fine" and she gave us a bit of paper with some local firms.

Hotel room was basic but clean and acceptable/what I expected but the woman on reception who checked us was quite unfriendly and that's all I remember about my stay really. Management need to look into customer service and attitude of staff. I know it's only a cheap service station hotel but sometimes a smile and can make all the difference.

Also something very strange about the hotel is that when we arrived at Michael Wood we drove to the petrol station to use the cashpoint and then found that we couldn't get back to the hotel, it's a one way road into the hotel from the motorway. Once you drive past the hotel entrance into the service station you can't get back to the hotel, and you have wait until no cars are coming in from the motorway and drive the wrong way along it quickly so you can nip into the hotel car park. Ridiculous!

Room Tip: You can smoke in some ground floor rooms so it smells a bit but upstairs is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Michaelwood M5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Michaelwood M5

Address: Michaelwood Service Area | M5 Northbound, Dursley, Lower Wick GL139JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Lower Wick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Michaelwood M5 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the M5 just north of Bristol, Days Inn Michaelwood offers free Wi-Fi, free parking, 24-hour reception and has easy access to the Gloucestershire countryside.The spacious rooms are en suite, with tea /coffee making facilities, Freeview TV with over 60 channels, ironing facilities are available. Free daily newspaper.The Days Inn Michaelwood offers a continental breakfast delivered to your room or a hot breakfast voucher to take to the nearby service area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Michaelwood M5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Wick Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Michaelwood M5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.