We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy winter break with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tudor Farmhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cosy winter break with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly welcome received on a cold afternoon. After a brief walk around the village we really enjoyed sitting by the wood-burner in the lounge with home made warm scones, cream, jam and proper, high quality, loose leaf tea. Raining hard and dark outside the rest of the afternoon went reading and enjoying the setting. A later gin martini in front of the fire was a great start to a tasty, high quality meal served by happy and informative people. Unexpected 'amuse-bouche' added to the enjoyment of the meal as did the ability to see from the menu all the local farms and other suppliers of the ingredients. Room 14 in the cottage was lovely, spacious and very comfortable with well laid out bathroom. Nespresso machine and fair-trade teas and coffees in the room plus real milk in the fridge! Breakfast of smoked salmon and eggs scrambled to perfection on crumpets meant we did not bother with lunch on our way home. If you need a treat and a cosy retreat in this awful wet winter, this is a really great place to go.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear SHRCB
I'm glad to hear that you found the hotel to be a cosy bolt hole in this stormy winter and delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and we hope you will return to explore the local area a bit more during the long and glorious summer we are all looking forward to!
Very best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    71
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
197
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel was perfect for meeting up with some good friends as it was relatively central for us. We booked 3 rooms, one of which was the cottage suite and this gave us our own private retreat. As the weather wasn't brilliant this was a real bonus - not only for us but for the other guests I'm sure:)
We all enjoyed the afternoon tea, our respective dinners and breakfast the following morning - the hotel itself had lots of character and the staff were extremely attentive without being overbearing. This is definitely a hotel we would return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Lesley M
Thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review.
We're delighted your group enjoyed staying with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The room was lovely and so was the setting. The restaurant food and restaurant service let it down . I have chestnut, mushroom and rosemary soup and it was rosemary grey slush ! We commented to the waitress and she replied 'lovely' and cleared our plates. The table next to us were asked if they had finished they said 'no' and the same waitress replied 'lovely' and again cleared their plates , we weren't alone ?! The main was ok but we were made to believe the steak chips and greens but nothing was served with the steak and chips so boring and I really couldn't be bothered to ask the slightly un enthusiastic waitress for anything else !! Disappointed :( my husbands food was ok at best . The room was lovely though the bathroom needs re vamping wouldn't Stay again:( sorry really wanted to love it!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Prentice77
I'm really pleased you loved your room and location of the hotel.
It is vital we get our customer service and food offering right and we take any drops in service levels very seriously.
Having spoken to the waitress who served you on the night (who is usually very conscientious and customer focussed) I'm confident that there was a mis-understanding about your soup and I'm sure had she heard you correctly more consideration would have been forthcoming. On the rare occasions when a restaurant customer isn't 100% happy with their meal the waiting staff will always pass guest comments onto the kitchen team and restaurant manager so the issue can be addressed both internally and discussed with the guest before they leave. The fact that this wasn't done again leads me to this that your comment was mis-heard.
I hope this isolated incident wouldn't deter you from returning and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed for one night on a living social deal which was exceptional value. We had The Loft room which was absolutely gorgeous ! The room was spacious yet cosy,the bathroom was amazing and the views outside were a treat to wake up to. The meal at night was excellent as was the afternoon tea. The lounge area was cosy and relaxing after a hearty meal. Didn't get to see much of the village but there was a pub right next door which had a big log fire and served food. All in all a lovely stay just wish it had been longer,highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Oscardog040
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and would love you welcome you back perhaps for a longer stay sometime in the future.
Very best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We found this hotel via LivingSocial and the stay was everything we wanted and more. We had the Loft Room which was beautifully presented and exceptionally clean. Afternoon tea was lovely as was dinner and breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Gee W
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this recommendation.
We take great pride in getting all the details right so I'm delighted that you enjoyed the room as well as your afternoon, tea and dinner.
Hope you will return to explore the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley again (it particularly beautiful in spring when the bluebells are out!).
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I arrived as it just stopped raining and received a very warm welcome. We had booked the Loft Room a very spacious room with lovely double shower and comfy bed. We had booked for the 30th Dec to 1st Jan so had an excellent dinner that first evening and wine was very reasonably priced.
New Year's Eve Taster Dinner was again excellent full of surprises and nicely balanced it was also worth having the wine flight all of which complemented the food perfectly.
This was a very quiet way to spend New Year's Eve with good food and a glass of champagne at Midnight with the other guests.
Would return again if in the area but at a time of the year when you can enjoy the country side.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear bowler46s
Thanks for writing this review of your recent stay at the Tudor Farmhouse.
So pleased you enjoyed the food, wine and The Loft.
This area is great for exploring all year round so we hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Very best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

For the third year, a group of us have celebrated New Year at the Tudor Farmhouse Hotel. Once again, we had a superb time and were looked after as well as ever. The quality of the service provided by the staff cannot be faulted. They are cheerful, attentive and always keen to ensure that your stay is a success. Once again the food was excellent; the taster menu on New Year's Eve particularly tasty. Our room was one of those recently refurbished and was very comfortable. All in all, excellent value and I've no doubt that we shall return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin F, Owner at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear RogerMalvern
It was a pleasure to welcome you again this New Year. Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
I'm thrilled you had another great stay, and particularly pleased you enjoyed the tasting menu which was a new addition last year.
We'll be undertaking some more room refurbishments this year so hope you enjoy one of these in the future.
Kind regards
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the tranquil village of Clearwell the Tudor Farmhouse is a converted farm dating from the 13th Century. 20 well-appointed rooms, a five minute walk from Clearwell Castle with some of Britain's most picturesque and secluded countryside on the doorstep. The award winning restaurant offers fine dining with a menu based on the seasons and fantastic local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.