We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tudor Farmhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extra night free in July
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Clearwell
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was booked for a short stay with friends. I am always anxious about staying at a new place but I need not have been. We chose The Loft with its amazing bathroom and glorious views into the garden and the hill beyond complete with ponies. The room was superb with no cost spared in making it comfortable and like home from home. I cannot remember the last time I stayed somewhere in the UK with such helpful, friendly and attentive staff. The food was superb both breakfast and the amazing evening meal. We do not live far from The Forest of Dean and love to visit and walk. We will be revisiting The Tudor Farmhouse again very shortly. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Try The Loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    59
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
180
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Many thanks to all at Tudor Farmhouse Hotel for a perfect stay.
What a gem of a place!
The staff, including Stuart and Harry, were so friendly and helpful I wish we could have taken them home with us.
The hotel itself, and our room in paricular, was perfect in every detail. The settng of The Loft was idyllic - waking up to views of ponies on the hill through the skylight was a treat.
The food was sensational too, and what a lovely part of Britain.
Thanks for such warm service - and for finding those Dennis Potter details for us.
Kate & Terry Clarke.

Room Tip: Our room, The Loft, was set on the edge of the site, with open fields, ponies, some ducks and the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is our second visit, and as much as we didn't think it would be possible, it is even better second time around. We have been absolutely spoilt, from the sumptuous food to the impeccable service. They really do know how to make you feel at home. The location is perfect being a short walk away from Clearwell caves and also very close to Puzzlewood and Forest of Dean. I would highly recommend staying in room 23, as it has the best bathroom I have ever seen with a bath big enough for 2!

Room Tip: Room 23! Lovely bath, huge shower, underfloor heating, white company products and a great coffee mac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What can we say an absolutely delightful hotel, great food, very very helpful staff who made our stay so comfortable special thanks to Stuart, Meshell and Ruth who took the time to make our stay enjoyable we will definately be back in the not to distant future. Once again thank you to all of you
Robert & Sheila Stephenson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had booked the junior barn room for two nights and found out we were upgraded to The Loft after arriving. I'm convinced it was THE best room they had there! The bathroom was huge and beautifully done. There was lots of natural light that came in through the various windows. We made the trip to Clearwell to bike in the Forest of Dean, but found it hard to want to leave our room as it was so lovely! We also booked the restaurant for dinner for both evenings we were there, and were impressed with the meals and service. Overall this place was a great escape from our time in London & Paris and the staff couldn't have been more professional. VERY accommodating!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as convenient location as we had booked to go to Go Ape! To celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary as well as a well earned night off from the kids! Hotel was lovely, have stayed in spa hotels charging 4 times the price and received the same if not better standards here. Food was delicious. Real gem! Definitely coming back as soon as we can persuade the babysitters!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have recently returned from a weekend break at Tudor Farmhouse. We had a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay; the staff team including Ruth, Meshell and Stuart were extremely professional, friendly and we felt really looked after. We ate in the restaurant on three evenings; two of the evenings were included as part of our package however on the third evening we had intended on eating elsewhere however as the food was so good we decided to stay for more great food. The breakfast was equally as good and there was a good range of fresh produce which was great fuel for the day!

The location is excellent with easy access to Symond’s Yat/the Wye Valley. We will definitely return to Tudor Farmhouse if we are visiting that part of the world.

Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome and making our stay so enjoyable- the staff all wished my husband a happy birthday- I never did work out how they knew! It was a lovely personal touch and a great way to celebrate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tudor Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Farmhouse Hotel

Address: High Street, Clearwell GL16 8JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Clearwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Clearwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the tranquil village of Clearwell the Tudor Farmhouse is a converted farm dating from the 13th Century. 20 well-appointed rooms, a five minute walk from Clearwell Castle with some of Britain's most picturesque and secluded countryside on the doorstep. The award winning restaurant offers fine dining with a menu based on the seasons and fantastic local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Tudor Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Farmhouse Clearwell
Hotel Tudor Farmhouse
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel Clearwell, Gloucestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tudor Farmhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.