We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome and lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
High Street, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9EX, England (Formerly The Crown Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Blockley B&B and Inns
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“warm welcome and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a lovely 2 days stay given us as an xmas present. So happy we came. Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff who did anything asked and nothing was too much trouble. Our room 22 was pleasantly decorated and spotless. The restaurant and bar served food which was excellent although a bit expensive. The hotel is set in a beautiful, quiet little village so obviously you will need to travel a little to get to bigger towns. It was a lovely time away from home and i will most definatly return. We will be recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    144
    87
    40
    30
See reviews for
30
285
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Took my girlfriend and the dog, here to the crown hotel to get away from the January blues, got a great deal for 2 nights! The main building of the hotel is lovely, we had dinner, which was amazing, can't praise the chef enough, his food is divine. All the staff are friendly and will always look after you. Our room, which was not attached to the main building was cosy, warm, nothing spectacular, could do with a little care, this would be the only downside to the trip! The town of Blockley is very sweet and this hotel is perfectly placed to venture to other parts of the stunning cotswold district.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I had a 2 night stay in the crown a few weeks ago. We booked using a last minute deal search site and had a very good price on a room only deal. First impressions were reasonable in that this is a lovely 16th century coaching Inn situated in a very pretty little cotswold village. Reception was smart and the residents lounge area and restaurant looked pleasant. Our room was spacious with a (rather DIY looking) 4 poster bed. It was comfy enough and the shower was very good.

We opted to pay an additional £10 per head per night for breakfast and this was a big mistake. I expect a decent breakfast for the money but the breakfast we had comprised of 2 tiny bacon rashers, 1 small sausage, a fried egg, some tinned mushrooms and a tomato. Very, very poor effort. We decided to have a bar meal on our first night (the restaurant menu was very expensive) and this was also an error. We both went for cod and chips at £11 a head and received a small piece of fish with about 10 chips. Not good enough!! Aside from food/prices my other main observation was that the bar utterly lacked character. Yes, there was an open fire but the rest was plain which really is a shame. In a wonderful old building like this I would have thought the owners would make a feature of the bar area, making it warm and inviting not just for residents but for the locals swell. The staff also seemed stretched and could have been a little more friendly and welcoming.

I see the Crown as fairly decent but with the potential to be fantastic. Will I return here again? Probably not as it stands as there are far better small ancient Inns/Hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi thank you for your review, I'm a little bit puzzled about your comments about the food, the breakfast is priced at £9.95 for that you get fresh juices, cereals, yogurts, tea & coffee, a full English consisting of your choice of egg, 2 large rashers of bacon, a old spot pork sausage, fresh mushrooms, fresh tomato, Heinz baked beans & as much toast as you like, you make it sound that all you get is a few items which is clearly not the case. The bar meal of Fish & chips is not as you described, we serve a whole fillet of cod, beer battered, with home soaked mushy peas, salad garnish, chips & tartare sauce it really is quite a plateful. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Firstly ignore the stupidly picky people on here, honestly this is a lovely hotel in a quite village. YES the hotel does need some work but overall it is fantastic value for money. The chef is excellent and the location is great if you are looking for a a quite break with lovely scenery.

Places to go and visit : broadway tower/ town (10 min drive) - great walks and go to the swan to eat (free parking and lovely food)
Bourton on the water - 20 min drive. Again a fab day out, really pretty and unique

Overall this was a great break and cost a small amount for the service and food we received. I will be going back to The Crown Inn, despite seeing other hotels and B&Bs on our journey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 'New Years Package'; it was our second visit to the Crown. My title is 'torn' because I love this little hotel and don't want to criticise but feel some things let it down.

As other reviewers have said, it is in need of some tlc; not major works but smartening up. We knew our mobile phones wouldn't work so I don't see that as being a major problem, just a trifle inconvenient. The staff were wonderful; very friendly and very helpful even though they did seem a little overstretched and appeared to need at least one more pair of hands! The food (all included in the package) was excellent and the chef certainly deserves praise for the quality of the food that he produced. But . . . we did have a gripe that may seem minor but really did affect our enjoyment of our stay. We both took a book with a view to sitting by the log fires (as we had last time) with a lovely pint of local ale and just letting the world go by. But none of the fires were actually lit and, as a consequence, the atmosphere seemed to have been sucked out of the place! It made it seem a little 'joyless' and, if the fires had been lit, I'm sure that it would have transformed the place. In fact, on New Year's Eve, they did light them and it was wonderful to just sit there and reflect on the year gone past with the crackling of the ologs and roaring of the flames. I just wish they had done it every day; a small thing but very important to us. Oh and my wife did comment on the fact that the pillows were extremely hard; I'm sure the staff would have found us some softer ones if we'd asked but the ones provided were far too firm.

All in all, it was lovely to return, we had a lovely New Year's Eve celebration aided and abetted by the wonderful staff but our memories will be tinged by the lack of atmosphere that the 'bare hearths' caused.

Room Tip: We had a room with a Four Poster, it was at the front and in a good position and, despite it being N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Just returned from a much needed 2 day break staying at the excellent Crown Inn located in a lovely cotswold stone village. Everything about the stay was superb. The room was great with the decor perfectly adequate for such an old establishment. Furthermore it was very warm and serviced very well. All in all the room facilities were marvellous. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the barman. Although the first night was quiet in the bar, the second night was much busier and we had some good interaction with local people. Both beer and food were excellent. It is a dog friendly place but not overly so. We took two of ours but they didn't share the room with us (there are limits!) We had a superb walk through the Northwick and Batsford estates taking in a wonderful view of Batsford manor and also skirting the Batsford Arboretum. The other pub in the village also served good beer whilst the vibrant Village shop/post office/cafe, served great coffee and home made cake. Thanks to all at the Crown - we will go again!

Room Tip: We were given rm 11 which fronted the high st - no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you have a dog you are given an annexed room where the door leads direct to the outside, this would be fine if the room size allowed you to "swing a cat" , the shower was a poor electric one, no volume no heat, and no hot water from the tap in a closet that was supposed to be the bathroom. The barman was nice.

Room Tip: Get one inside the hotel and a recommendation from the receptionist that he/she would stay in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blockley hotels

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: High Street, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9EX, England (Formerly The Crown Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Blockley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blockley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Blockley, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.