We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly nice lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Passage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arlingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Passage Inn
Save
You added Old Passage Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Passage Road | Arlingham, Arlingham GL2 7JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Arlingham B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“A perfectly nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stopped by the Old Passage Inn today for lunch on our way down to Bristol. We have visited similarly last year on spec.
First thing to make clear as others have is that this is not a pub and they don't do light bites or bar snacks so not for walkers. It is a resteraunt with rooms attached.
Saturday lunch time was busy and tables out side were occupied or reserved so it is worth booking..
Decore is light and airy and most pleasant (photos to follow). Welcome was fine and service perfectly acceptable. No long waits and not rushed.
We did not want a large meal so opted for a shared "pre-starter of salt cod croquettes with a curry mayonnaise which was lovely. Bread and butter was complimentary. We then opted for a couple of starters - mussels in a garlic sauce and scallops thermidore both with a small bowl of hand cut chips (which were truly excellent). There was no problem not having any mains.
Food was excellent and with two glasses of rose wine the bill was £45 which is not to bad. Although mains seemed to be on average about £20 + pounds each which seems a little steep for a country inn.
The view from the terrace is out over the Severn river so very picturesque.
All in all a nice light lunch
If you are in the vicinity give the place a try - just don't ask for a sandwich and a pint!
I will post some photos in due course.

Room Tip: We visited for lunch only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
56
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Apologise for the late review!

Me and my partner visited The Old Passage last year in September. It was a treat from him as he had just came back from four months away in Afghanistan. We booked a table for two, early evening, around 7:30ish. I was so excited about going as I am a massive seafood fan, he might argue, freak! Anyway, we were not disappointed!

We were met by a charming, chatty lady, who transpired to be the owner. Although we were the only diners in at that time, it didn't make a difference, we were not left to feel unwelcome or uncomfortable in any way. The service was efficient without being intrusive. Any questions we had about the menu were answered gracefully and knowledgeable.

I had had the shellfish tasting menu, which at £64 is alot of money, but in my opinion was money well spent. He had Seared scallops with belly of pork, spiced lentils, cauliflower puree,
Rum soaked raisins, lime syrup at £12.50 followed by the Tranche of halibut, hollandaise sauce, Cornish new potatoes and samphire at £25.50. We also had the soft shell crab as a pre appetiser.

Alot of other reviewers have commented on the price of this restaurant, but what you got to remember is that this is a 2 AA rosette restaurant so the prices will reflect that.

Overall, we had a most enjoyable evening, on this occasion, the service was slick, the food was divine and even though the restaurant was a quiet, the atmosphere was absolutely fine, although, could of done with a bit of background music!? I even got to meet the chef and have a look around the kitchen, fab!

If your looking for something a bit special and dont mind the one off bill, I would highly recommend The Old Passage!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Now this is what you call an amazing seafood restaurant. Fresh, loads much flavour and lots of it. 'WoW'.

Myself and my girlfriend had lunch and enjoyed it so much we ended up staying overnight in one of three (?) rooms and indulged in a unforgettable breakfast..... Needs must and we will so be back....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We wandered along the road through several pretty villages until we got to the end and could go no more. It was the previous location of a ferry crossing over the Severn to Newnham in Wales; long gone. There we found this absolutely charming restaurant; it had shutters and billowing white curtains at open patio doors onto the veranda and a gorgeous view; felt quite mediterranean on the first warm day this summer! Hostess was very helpful and the food was excellent - they excel on fish of all sorts, but happy to knock up a great steak.The tables have crisp white linen and good glassware. Yes, the price ain't cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Three of the four sides have terrific views of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I had Sunday lunch here with my husband. I had scallops thermidor for a starter, which was perfectly cooked and the cheese sauce was delicate enough not to over-power the scallops. My husband was also impressed with his seared scallops with black pudding starter. We both had roast cod for the main, which came with very nice accompaniments including samphire and girolle mushrooms. The highlight for us though was the chocolate delice we had for pudding, which was intensely chocolatey but nicely balanced with a salted caramel centre and cooling almond ice-cream.

Some reviewers have commented on the service being off-hand or rude but we had very friendly and attentive service throughout, so perhaps these issues have since been addressed. The restaurant setting is also worth mentioning as it is next to the Severn, which is very picturesque on a sunny day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went - again - for lunch on Sunday and had a really great meal. The fish is so fresh and flavoursome it's really hard to beat, and the wine list is expertly angled to the fish dishes on the menu. The menu stays broadly the same, but is focused on what the kitchen does best - accurate, well defined fish cookery combining great flavours without too many ingredients fighting each other on the plate. Puddings are much improved recently - more interesting and well presented. The setting, on the eastern bank of the River Severn, down a long track from Arlingham, makes a great place for a pre-prandial walk (if the weather is co-operative). Eating here is a real treat - long may it continue. And long may we be able to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Me & my husband had lunch at the Old Passage In from the Lunch River Menu which is a set menu which I believe changes every day or so. I looked for a quiet restaurant in a secluded place with views for some time now and we don't regret at all! We even had to come off our route and drove 1hr longer to our destination but it was worth it! From the start we were nicely surprised. As it wasn't quite 12 p.m. when they start serving lunch, we were sat in the separate sitting room and had coffee. Although it was raining, the lady oferred to lend us an umbrella and had a little walk by the river. The views are amazing there! Then we were sat at the main restaurant area and we ordered our food: for starters cauliflower soup and ham fritters and smoked haddock risotto and fish goujons. We ordered a mixed salad as a side which was for one person but the portion was huge for us two. The food was amazing, served with home made bread - two types and with two types of butter: volcanic rock salt and seaweed! It was delicious, we even wanted to buy the whole loaf. The food menu was totally different from the typical English pubs where you have burgers and fish and chips etc. We only paid 44 pounds for two course lunch and had pralines for free with our coffee after lunch! What a nice surprise. We would highly recommend it, especially if you have friends visiting to show them something different.

Room Tip: This In had three bedrooms all with views over the river Severn charging 110 pounds for a night for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Passage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Passage Inn

Address: Passage Road | Arlingham, Arlingham GL2 7JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Arlingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arlingham
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Passage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Old Passage Hotel Arlingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Passage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.