We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Losing their heart” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lotus

Silver Lotus
Newland Street, Witham, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 64 Restaurants in Witham
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Silver Lotus, 130 Newland St, Witham , CM8 1BA Tel. 01376 517887 130 Newland St, Witham , CM8 1BA
Restaurant details
Description: Silver Lotus, 130 Newland St, Witham , CM8 1BA Tel. 01376 517887 130 Newland St, Witham , CM8 1BA
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Losing their heart”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This eating place used to be very good. The competion Lian's,Thai cottage and Ria's all within walking distance are starting to offer better service and quality. The first two are more expensive so fair i'd say. However, at the Lotus service is becomming poor and slow almost reluctant to offer good service because of the bargin price buffet which is becomming less value as time goes on. Drinks are expesive to offset the loss sometimes on the food which sometimes arrives cold. They need to up their game to keep their customer base like myself let alone new one.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWFUL SERVICE, AGGRESSIVE STAFF, COLD GOOD OVERALL THE WORST DINING EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having been to this restaurant several times before I have always had a high rating and really enjoyed the evening. However this Saturday was by far the worse service and the worst dining experience I have EVER received in any restaurant!
First of all the restaurant is all you can eat (however you order and the food is served) but the waiters were extremely unaccommodating, we asked to have the duck for starters and it was immediately a problem as they didn’t believe this was a ‘Starter’ Dish. They failed to take down our order several times serving up incorrect food and missing certain dishes. We asked for a jug of water and it took an hour for it to arrive! We were in the restaurant 3 hours waiting of which the majority was waiting for service or food. When our mains did finally arrive after complaining several times the dishes were completely cold yet the plates were hot!
The restaurant staff were rude laughed in our faces, spilt a whole bowl of rice on us and continued to laugh! Started clearing away when we were still eating and nearly knocked us out with the plates several times threw rushing to get everything away so quickly. The waiters leaned completely over us making the dining experience extremely uncomfortable!
When the bill arrived at the end we expressed our disappointment like we had throughout the entire meal. We had eaten barely half of the mains due to it all being cold and they had failed to bring drinks orders over. The restaurant in response said they didn’t care and that they had tried to help us which was completely untrue. When asking to speak to the manager he just screamed at us “PAY THE BILL” which both shocked us and the entire restaurant. When deciding that we would pay ¾ of the bill but not the whole thing the manager continued to argue with us. We then proceeded to get out of our seats and walk towards the door having had a terrible dining experience especially as this was for our friends birthday. He slammed the door shut in front of the whole restaurant shutting one of our friends out of the restaurant and shoving my wrist away from the door handle in a very aggressive and UNACCEPTABLE way he then continued to shout “PAY THE BILL PAY THE BILL”. To exit the restaurant we gave them the money which they grabbed from our hands and walked out.
I advise no one to dine here they are truly the most rude staff I have ever experience I was MOTIFIED by the service and the poor quality of the food especially seeing as it was mostly served up cold.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great resturant great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Lovely food really fresh and hot unlike some other all you can eat resturants. Food brillent quality and really tasty and staff really helpfull and freindly. Went here with my family and have to young children they love it and the manager always jokes with them. Would highly recommend

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Lovely food and great service. The maitre de was excellent. Well worth coming back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

great food great service unlike most eat as much as u can restaurants this 1 you order from a menu and it is served to you fresh and hot we have used this restaurant on several occasions and will continue to do so

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Lotus also viewed

 

Been to Silver Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.