We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean accommodation, reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Westcliff-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Hotel
Save
You added Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
8 Royal Terrace, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good clean accommodation, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed here 1 night, very good location , reasonably priced, staff friendly breakfast good, no complaints. The hotel does need updating, but nevertheless was clean and had no problems. Very quiet also.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
9
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex,
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

i stayed at the Terrace Guest house with my 11 year old grandson for a few days holiday it was most enjoyable. We were completely satisfied. Nice clean room, friendly staff, excellent english breakfast,well cooked. Great value for money. It was nice and quiet even though it is located over looking the sea front. The sea view from the room was very nice. I am intending to get another break there before the end of the year. I would reccommend the Terrace to anyone. Well done Terrace staff for an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Starting with the positive, the position is perfect. It is in such a pretty street (close to both sea front and shopping ccentre) but still quiet. Indeed the exterior is very appealing - apart from the obviously naff fake flowers positioned in one of the front windows!

However...
We had a bad start when the double room we had booked (with an ensuite) was "not available" and we were sent down to the basement and our only option was to use a shared loo and bathroom. The room was very basic and had a very small window.. Incidentally there was no apology proffered for this - only a "this is all we can offer you" approach.

Downstairs, the paint work was a vile 'Germaline" pink and the whole decor and finish screamed 'make-do and was off-puttingly penny pinching".

If this hotel had some love and a bit of cash spent on it (in keeping with it's royal history) it could be a real gem. However, the sevice is also perfunctory and the 10.30 checkout and 8-9am slot for breakfast seems to mirror the eneral attitude of the management.

The breakfast (though adequate) smacked of having been cooked in advance and kept warm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

my wife and me decided we needed a break from our 3 kids, a kind relative, (auntie) looked after them. I chose this hotel as the price was ok £65 for a double 4 poster bed,and it was on the seafront with seaview balcony and full english breakfast in the morning. The 4 poster bed, resembled a double bunk bed without the bed on top, it wasn't a proper 4 posted bed i hope that made sense! the seaview is good, but you share the balcony with the guest in the next room. Breakfast was very nice as were the employees who worked here.
What you have to be aware of is that this bed and breakfast offers no parking, it can be a nightmare finding parking on the seafront in southend, after driving around for 45mins we had to park in the multi car park, this was only 5/10 mins walk away.
this hotel is decent, but we wouldnt stay here for more than 1 night

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have just returned from the Terrace guest house and did not have one single problem with this hotel. I have stayed in many hotels, some pretty gruesome, but this is lovely and clean. We were in room 10 on the top floor with a lovely view of the sea and the pier, the bed sheets looked brand new like they had just come out of the packet, bathroom was spotless, and we had a lovely cup of tea whilst watching the tele that had great reception unlike some hotels.

Breakfast is served between 8-9am but after a heavy night out we ran down at 9.10am and we were still served our cooked breakfast with no fuss. A sausage, 2 pieces of bacon, egg and beans and toast was just the right amount.

We went back to sleep after breakfast and woke at 11am although checkout is at 10.30, The man that was cleaning the rooms knocked twice, but he was very polite and did not rush us.

I don't know if the staff at the hotel have acted on previous reviews but they now have individual packets of jam/butter so no problem with refilling, although this is not really a problem anyway. No problem with the cleanliness at all, in fact after reading these reviews before I went I wasn't looking forward to it too much, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Don't listen to the other reviews, I think they are overly fussy.

Room Tip: Room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

This has to be the worst hotel i have ever spent good money on! What was meant to be a special weekend with my girlfriend was awful and truely spoilt by the dire accommodation provided. The hotel is nothing like the website shows, room was grubby,lights did'nt work, door did'nt shut, windows and paint work were filthy with mildew.....were not even given the room we had booked online, curtains were heavily stained,pole fell down when you tried to close them, the ledge below our window was full of fag butts and rubbish!.....breakfast was of poor quality,partly cold partly seemed like had hung around too long. Asked member of staff to relay complaints, he just brushed us off and laughed. when we returned home we emailed, no one has bothered to respond to us!!
The only good thing about this hotel is the location..
Will be reporting this to the RAC/AA regarding star rating, and sending them our pictures.Advise others not to book this hotel if they want a nice clean room.........

Room Tip: Horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westcliff-on-Sea hotels

london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I don't know what good this will do by writing this as it seems as if the owners don't seem to take on board any of the other comments that have been made on this site.Yes I agree that the location is good but surely thats not everything, our stay was truly unforgetable when we experienced the most awful commotion going on in the room opposite (this went on for at least 3 hours!).My daughter and I felt extremely vunerable with no idea on who to call for assistance (we also had a 7 month old baby with us). There was apparently someone in charge who slepted through the whole of the nightmare.
Please make sure that when you book in that you are told where the emergency button is ,as we were not.
The room was shabby and the single bed we could not use as it slanted to one side.
Yes i noticed the small jam pots that obviously were just topped up when needed
In short not the most enjoyable of stays and we left early for home due to being so tired.
If the people who own this place do not rethink about some of the aspects of their place I cannot see them surviving.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Hotel

Address: 8 Royal Terrace, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 189
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Southend On Sea
Terrace Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.