We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice,ok for 1 night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Westcliff-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Hotel
Save
You added Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
8 Royal Terrace, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
corby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice,ok for 1 night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

my wife and me decided we needed a break from our 3 kids, a kind relative, (auntie) looked after them. I chose this hotel as the price was ok £65 for a double 4 poster bed,and it was on the seafront with seaview balcony and full english breakfast in the morning. The 4 poster bed, resembled a double bunk bed without the bed on top, it wasn't a proper 4 posted bed i hope that made sense! the seaview is good, but you share the balcony with the guest in the next room. Breakfast was very nice as were the employees who worked here.
What you have to be aware of is that this bed and breakfast offers no parking, it can be a nightmare finding parking on the seafront in southend, after driving around for 45mins we had to park in the multi car park, this was only 5/10 mins walk away.
this hotel is decent, but we wouldnt stay here for more than 1 night

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
9
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have just returned from the Terrace guest house and did not have one single problem with this hotel. I have stayed in many hotels, some pretty gruesome, but this is lovely and clean. We were in room 10 on the top floor with a lovely view of the sea and the pier, the bed sheets looked brand new like they had just come out of the packet, bathroom was spotless, and we had a lovely cup of tea whilst watching the tele that had great reception unlike some hotels.

Breakfast is served between 8-9am but after a heavy night out we ran down at 9.10am and we were still served our cooked breakfast with no fuss. A sausage, 2 pieces of bacon, egg and beans and toast was just the right amount.

We went back to sleep after breakfast and woke at 11am although checkout is at 10.30, The man that was cleaning the rooms knocked twice, but he was very polite and did not rush us.

I don't know if the staff at the hotel have acted on previous reviews but they now have individual packets of jam/butter so no problem with refilling, although this is not really a problem anyway. No problem with the cleanliness at all, in fact after reading these reviews before I went I wasn't looking forward to it too much, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Don't listen to the other reviews, I think they are overly fussy.

Room Tip: Room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

This has to be the worst hotel i have ever spent good money on! What was meant to be a special weekend with my girlfriend was awful and truely spoilt by the dire accommodation provided. The hotel is nothing like the website shows, room was grubby,lights did'nt work, door did'nt shut, windows and paint work were filthy with mildew.....were not even given the room we had booked online, curtains were heavily stained,pole fell down when you tried to close them, the ledge below our window was full of fag butts and rubbish!.....breakfast was of poor quality,partly cold partly seemed like had hung around too long. Asked member of staff to relay complaints, he just brushed us off and laughed. when we returned home we emailed, no one has bothered to respond to us!!
The only good thing about this hotel is the location..
Will be reporting this to the RAC/AA regarding star rating, and sending them our pictures.Advise others not to book this hotel if they want a nice clean room.........

Room Tip: Horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westcliff-on-Sea hotels

london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I don't know what good this will do by writing this as it seems as if the owners don't seem to take on board any of the other comments that have been made on this site.Yes I agree that the location is good but surely thats not everything, our stay was truly unforgetable when we experienced the most awful commotion going on in the room opposite (this went on for at least 3 hours!).My daughter and I felt extremely vunerable with no idea on who to call for assistance (we also had a 7 month old baby with us). There was apparently someone in charge who slepted through the whole of the nightmare.
Please make sure that when you book in that you are told where the emergency button is ,as we were not.
The room was shabby and the single bed we could not use as it slanted to one side.
Yes i noticed the small jam pots that obviously were just topped up when needed
In short not the most enjoyable of stays and we left early for home due to being so tired.
If the people who own this place do not rethink about some of the aspects of their place I cannot see them surviving.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South coats
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Poor grubby interior but looks smart on the outside. The single room appeared not to be serviced daily and the bed not re made for the 4 night stay. Only single room but a very uncomfortable lumpy mattress, and threadbear carpet. Shower over shared bath is past its sell by date.

Breakfast good but only served till 09:00am not a minute later... So much for a relaxing break. The small pots of jam on the table appeared to be refilled daily, (seals broken)

Parking opposite was payable after 9:00am and was regulary patrolled by Ticket Wardens so try and park about 1/2mile away outside the controlled zone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraceGuesthouse, Guest Relations Manager at Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
We would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write their review. We read all reviews and take on board all of the comments made. We would like to respond by saying that the inside of our little guesthouse is thoroughly cleaned daily by our housekeeping staff and on inspection following this review was found to be very clean and smells fresh although we accept that the carpet in the single room this guest stayed in does need replacing and so it will be.

The mattress in this room is new and is quite firm, mattress firmness is a matter of taste and we generally go for firm but not hard mattresses, perhaps this guest is used to a softer mattress at home and we are sorry they did not sleep well.

We are pleased that this guest enjoyed their full English breakfast. This is served until 9am although we don’t stop exactly at 9 for those who may sleep in a little.

Parking around the Guesthouse is pay and display during the daytime but free from 6pm until 9 in the morning and as this guests says for longer term visitors free parking can be found further away from the seafront and high street our central location does mean we have no space for private car park but offer free over night parking.

We do provide jam, marmalade and honey in pretty little pots for the breakfast tables. These are cleaned daily and re-filled with fresh preserves daily. We feel this is far more environmentally friendly way to serve jams etc, than using the plastic jam pots with peel off lids that are then thrown away. We have checked the shower this guest will have used and whilst it is of an old design it is clean, it works and there is very good water pressure.
Overall we thank you for your review and take on board your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I made tw huge mistakes when booking this hotel. The first was not listening to the bad reviews on Tripadvisor and the second was booking ahead and paying upfront and in full.

The Hotel was very pretty on the outside but rather ugly on the inside (as the accompanying pictures will confirm). The whole of the interior looked in need of a good refurbishment. My bedroom had peeling paintwork, threadbare carpets and a coating of dust covering everything; including the hangers in the wardrobe which i had to clean before hanging my clothes.

I was there for four nights and my bed sheets were not changed once. There were no fresh towels left, I had to collar the staff and ask for clean towels on the third day. There was a full English breakfast provided; along with small pots of jam that looked like they had been used and refilled! I ate the cooked breakfast, trying desperately not to think about the state of the kitchen it had originated from.

I would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Sure the decor is somewhat dated, but the rooms are spacious and clean, and if you get a room facing the sea the views are amazing. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and also the full English breakfast that is included is delicous and excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Hotel

Address: 8 Royal Terrace, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 189
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Southend On Sea
Terrace Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.