We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westcliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westcliff Hotel to your Saves list
Westcliff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 20 Westciff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short break holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed recently for a four night break with my husband in a four poster sea view room.
Positives - The room was very clean, newly decorated with lovely views over the Thames. Staff throughout were very attentive and helpful. Jacuzzi bath and shower were also very good.
Not so positive - We were slightly disappointed with the room, in that for the price we paid it was quite small. We were also put off by the cleaning staff washing our mugs in the bathroom sink in the mornings, can only assume that they dried them with a used towel, Breakfast was plentiful but food could be standing under a heat lamp for some time, my bacon was crunchy rather than crispy. Parking although free, was also a nightmare. I had to park my car two streets away on arrival before securing a sought after space outside the hotel.
Overall I would recommend, perhaps out of season when the parking is less sought after and the room prices reduce.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    110
    69
    31
    10
See reviews for
36
106
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Went with my boyfriend for our anniversary and we ate at Piccolo's nearby. Service was excellent , room was very modern, clean and bed was very comfy. Breakfast was lovely and felt very relaxed there. Had a wonderful sea view- only minus point was there was no shower gel just tiny soaps and neither if is brought any!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Cathy,

Let us thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate your comments very much. We hope to welcome you again whenever you are back to Southend!

Kind regards,
Samanta Liugiene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with the girlfriend. Service was very good and friendly. Room large with a great sea view. Huge bathroom. Room was spotless. Great nights sleep on a lovely bed. Lovely Victorian building. Only a three star place but much better than a lot of four stars I have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mr John Cooze,

We would like to thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again whenever you are back to Southend-on-Sea.

Best wishes from Westcliff Hotel staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Have had a one night stay here for my uncles wedding and it has been the most special event. We have been looked after extremely well by very polite and friendly staff. We were allowed into our room early to get ready for the wedding which we are extremely grateful for. The food was fantastic and the swift service made for a smooth running day. Really couldn't be happier with the whole experience and I want to thank them for making my uncles special day so perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Hannah,

Thank you very very much for such a lovely review. We will pass you comments to our staff and management.

Best wishes from the Westcliff Hotel staff !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just got back from our 2 day stay, really enjoyed it. Friendly staff, excellent food.

Only complaint and why I have only given 4 stars was the mattress we stayed in room 306 I think it needs replacing. My boyfriend woke up with a bad back both mornings and I felt a bit stiff. The second night we asked for extra pillows they were there with in minutes but still did not help the back situation.

Views from the hotel was amazing watching the lightning storms over Kent before they hit South End on Sea.

Hotel very clean and tidy staff professional and friendly would return

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave the comments on TripAdvisor. We glad you thought you had an enjoyable stay, we were sorry to hear your boyfriend woke up with a bad back. We passed your comments to our maintenance manager so they could change the mattress in the room.

Thank you once again for your review and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Kind regards,
Samanta Liugiene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Returned again to this lovely hotel for a bowls competition nearby,I have stayed there on two occasions previously and found that all staff were pleasant and efficient.The hotel is clean and comfortable,and is well located with views out to sea,and good parking.I only had bed and breakfast,the meal was buffet style and good.There were a number of other bowlers staying there and I did not hear any complaints.

Room Tip: My room was 202, it was facing out to sea,it was very spacious and comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mr Anthony H,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are all happy to hear that you and your collegues enjoyed your stay at The Westcliff Hotel.

Hopefully we could welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Samanta Liugiene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

i was at the westcliff hotel for a wedding in the savory room i was well in prested how nice the hotel was very clean and decore ex much beter than i expected for a southend on sea hotel in fact i though it was fab and would def stay here again the staff were very friendley but due to its age bilt in 1891 no car parking and the savory room is no good for a wedding it has no opening windows and it had just 2 small table fans going and a very small dance floor that only 2 family tables took up so no one could dance and being a hot night everyone stood in the bar area that is down a few small steps but like being in a different room leaving the poor dj to play to himself although the dj had every type of music it was just to hot and no wear to dance to enjoy it unlike the other wedding in the larger hall that was cool and had plenty of room an though would proberly cost a lot more its the best offer as the savory room is only good for a bizness meeting and not family partys or events the plus side is if a nice night you can just cross over the road to cool off and look out over the sea and the peir or walk down to the cliffs pavilion if you are from outside the southend area so a must to see and spend 45 mins of time

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Mr Kevin T,

Thank you very much for your comments. We glad you thought the hotel was clean and well decorated. I will pass your comments about the Savoy room to our management.

Thank you once again and hopefully we could welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards
Samanta Liugiene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Hotel

Address: 18 - 20 Westciff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westcliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.