We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Waltham Abbey

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Waltham Abbey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey
The Grange - Sewardstone Road, Waltham Abbey EN9 3QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Waltham Abbey
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cant fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

great hotel very friendly staff the girl on check in was so friendly sorry forget the name,
rooms are clean and tidy as usual i find premier inn you know what to expect shame that they all seem the same but i guess thats what makes them good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    75
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
88
90
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel due to a Party qwe were attending down the road. On arrival the receptionist was most helpful. The room could not have been cleaner and accomodated all our needs.

The pub which was joined to it was also very pleasant and had a great choice of food.

Would def stay there again....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Found the rooms to be very clean and very well maintained. Everything was replenished , towels, tea coffee etc without having to ask. Relaxing environment .. easy to find , great location , Waltham abbey town is lovely place too. Good for travelling to Epping and surrounding towns and commuting to London. Definitely would come back and stay at this premier inn in future and that will happen too!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked this hotel for new Year's party which was at the King's Oak in High Beech which is only about ten minutes away. You pay on arrival.
There is lots of well lit parking spaces near to the hotel.
On arrival I have a friendly receptionist and even though they looked busy he had full attention to help us order a taxi for that night and let us know about the breakfast.
The room for a budget hotel was really large with a massive bed (King size) that was really high up. I am 5 ft 11 and sitting on it my feet didn't touch the floor so if you are petite don't try and tie your shoelaces or jump up! But the bed is super comfy and really nice sheets.
There was a TV in the room which was lovely getting ready with it on in the background.
The bathroom was spotless and was glad to see a bath there.
Water was easy to control, nice and warm. There are towels avialable for your hair and body.
There is a large mirror in the bedroom with a plug beside it if you need to do your hair.
The only two negatives I can think off is the room is quite dimly lit so doing make-up was hard and no-where in the room does it have any info on what time check out is or how to ring reception.I tried every number on the phone nad just went down and asked my query in the end.
The breakfast was lovely no complaints there.
Check out was very easy-going and we were a bit later than the check out so the receptionist just rang us to remind us and was very laid back. I would happily stay here again for business or leisure as rooms are very quiet. We went for lunch across the road at the Bakers Arms which is linked to the hotel. We weren't that impressed with the place as it was like a mock country pub, I had steak and ale pie with mash and gravy and my fella had fish and chips. It was all a bit bland and looked like it had been pre-made but of course I cannot prove this. The service was a bit slap dash and I felt is was dark and dingy.
Tips for nearby go and see the famous Hangman's Hill up the road Type in google) which is a ghostly hill where you take your car off the handbrake and it magically floats up the hill supposedly pulled up by the hangman and then you see a field with a tree where he supposedly hung himself.
Then there is the stunning Epping Forest up the road which has the most amazing walks. The King's Oak pub at the top of the High beech Hill has superb Sunday lunches for £20 and you are very likely to see the cast of TOWIE in there! They have great service.
Perfect for a low priced, quality hotel in a beautiful area. Do note though that you are kind of in the middle of nowhere and need a car even for something about ten minutes away, always get a taxi if heading somewhere near if you are not driving as it gets pitch black near the woods.

Room Tip: 113 was perfect for us and had a good window for daylight and we could open it for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for our Christmas Party night out at a venue which was just a short cab ride away.

Exceptional value for money £29 we paid for a double room ,which was larger than the average hotel room & the batroom was spotless with good hot water.

Recommend this Premier Inn,we asked for a back room on the first floor which is away from the main road.

Attached is a restaurant & bar,all good with excellent of food & drinks

Room Tip: first floor back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My sister and I stayed for 2 nights as we were visiting Relatives in the area before trav elling on to Surrey. We found the Staff to be most helpful, they couldn't do enough for us.
The beds were very comfortable, it was a treat to get a good nights rest. On the first night we had Dinner in the Bakers Arms, and when we saw the size of the starters we were sorry we had ordered the 2 course meal, very generous portions. We had our breakfasts with our relatives and dinner the second night. We really enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A return visit for just one night, to attend a family function. We were greeted warmly, it was really like coming home. The receptionist willingly changed our room at our request from a ground floor to a first floor one (quieter). Good heating controls, immaculately clean room (as always), and plenty of hot water. All ata very good price - what more can one ask?

The location is excellent for anyone with a car, ideal for visiting north London (park in Loughton or Debden for the Central Line Tube) or south-west Essex. Waltham Abbey is quaint, and the abbey ruins and church are well worth a visit - not too far to walk.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Waltham Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Waltham Abbey

Address: The Grange - Sewardstone Road, Waltham Abbey EN9 3QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn Waltham Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel Waltham Abbey
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Waltham Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.